General Information about Juvenile Court
The juvenile court has exclusive original jurisdiction over:
- All delinquent minors (under 18 years old) wherein the minor is alleged to have committed an act which act would be criminal if he/she were an adult (section 602 at seq. of the Welfare and Institutions Code);
- All minors who are alleged to have been neglected or abused by their parent or guardian, by either commission or omission (section 300 et seq. Welfare and Institutions Code),
- All incorrigible minors, e.g., beyond the control of parents, chronic truants, runaways, disobedient to lawful parent rules, etc. (section 601 Welfare and Institutions code).
As a matter of law and judicial philosophy, our job in Juvenile Court is to "protect" - protect the minor from him/herself and from others (both 300’s and 602’s) and protect the community from minors who pose a threat to the persons or property of others. Rehabilitation of the minor is also a major thrust of our job. Only in the last five or six years have we legally been able to even use the word "punishment" in our disposition orders. Rehabilitation is still the big aim, even when we give the minor some "therapeutic" detention.
Juvenile matters are confidential and many proceedings are not open to the public. Juvenile records are confidential and can only be released to officers of the court, specific agencies or by order of the Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Court. Due to the confidentiality of juvenile records, information cannot be given out over the telephone.
The fee for sealing a juvenile record is $120.00, if you are over 26 years of age, payable to the Superior Court upon filing of the Request to Seal Juvenile Records (Form JV-595). The request for sealing may be obtained on this website under State Forms on the Forms page.
For more information on sealing a juvenile record, please visit our FAQs page.
Juvenile Dependency cases are heard in Courtroom J1 at the Juvenile Courthouse. Detentions are set Monday through Friday at 8:30 a.m. Other matters are set Monday through Thursday at 9:00 a.m.
Juvenile Delinquency cases are heard in Courtrooms J3 and J4 at the Juvenile Courthouse. Detentions are heard at 8:15 a.m. and other matters are set at 8:30 a.m. If you are unable to make your delinquency court appearance, you must call the Public Defender's Office at 981-5990.
The Juvenile Courthouse is located at 4353 Vineyard Avenue, Oxnard, California, 93036. Please visit our Locations page for directions.
As required by Rule 5.610(f)(2) of the CA Rules of Court, the following information is provided for staff of the California courts regarding Transfer-In Hearings on cases transferred from another county. Hearings are held at the Juvenile Courthouse, 4353 E. Vineyard Avenue, Oxnard 93036 as follows:
Youth with last name starting with letter A-L:
* Monday - Friday at 8:30 a.m., Courtroom J3
Youth with last name starting with letter M-Z:
* Monday - Friday at 8:30 a.m., Courtroom J4
* Monday - Thursday at 8:30 a.m., Courtroom J1
Court Clerk contact information: (805) 289-8820
For frequently asked questions about Juvenile Court, please visit our FAQs page.