
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
Superior Courts of California 

 

NOTICE OF FEE CHANGES 

Effective July 23, 2012  

 
As a result of the enactment of SB 1021, various civil filing fees have been established or 
increased as of June 27, 2012.  The additional revenue from these fee changes will be used to 
offset reductions to trial court funding. 
 
The Ventura Superior Court will begin collecting the new and increased fees effective July 23, 
2012. 
 
New Fees 
 $50 fee for delivering a will to the clerk of the superior court under Probate Code section 

8200. 
 $30 fee for court reporting services in civil proceedings lasting under one hour (this 

includes Family Law and Probate proceedings). 
 
 Increased Fees 
 $40 increase to first paper filing fees for unlimited civil cases where the amount in 

controversy is more than $25,000. 
 $40 increase to various family law fees (first paper in a family law matter and first paper 

filed in response in a family law matter)    
 $20 increase to various motion fees (this includes Family Law Request for Order) 
 $450 increase to the complex case fee. 

 
Changed Fee 
 The advance jury fee is fixed at $150, is no longer refundable, and must be deposited 

earlier than previously required.  The fee is due on or before the date scheduled for the 
initial case management conference in the action; if no case management conference is 
scheduled, no later than 365 calendar days after the filing of the initial complaint; if the 
party has not appeared before the initial case management conference or has appeared 
more than 365 calendar days after the filing of the initial complaint, at least 25 calendar 
days before the date initially set for trial; or if the action is for unlawful detainer action, at 
least five days before the date set for trial. 
 

A revised statewide civil fee schedule will be posted to the California Courts Web site at 
http://www.courts.ca.gov/7646.htm and will also be available at the clerk’s office.   


