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i COUNCIL OF CALIFONIA

i

On April 6, 2020, the Judicial Council of California adopted emergency California Rules
of Court in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Amongst the rules is a Statewide

Emergency Bail Schedule adopted as California Rules of Court, Emergency rule 4,

(“Emergency rule 4.”)

This Court HEREBY ADOPTS THE STATEWIDE EMERGENCY BAIL SCHEDULE

AND ORDERS AS FOLLOWS:

“Emergency rule 4. Emergency Bail Schedule

(a) Purpose

Notwithstanding any other law, this rule establishes a statewide Emergency Bail
Schedule, which is intended to promulgate uniformity in the handling of certain

offenses during the state of emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

(b) Mandatory application

No later than 5 p.m. on April 13, 2020, each superior court must apply the statewide

Emergency Bail schedule:

(1) To every accused person arrested and in pretrial custody.
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(2) To every accused person held in pretrial custody.

{c) Setting of bail and exceptions

Under the statewide Emergency Bail Schedule, bail for all misdemeanor and felony
offenses must be set at $0, with the exception of only the offenses listed below:
(1) A serious felony, as defined in Penal Code section 1192.7(c), or a violent
felony, as defined in Penal Code section 667.5(c);
(2) A felony violation of Penal Code section 69;
(3) A violation of Penal code section 166(c)(1);
(4) A violation of Penal Code section 136.1 when punishment is imposed under
section 136.1(c);
(5) A violation of Penal Code section 262;
(6) A violation of Penal Code sections 243(e)(1) or 273.5;
(7) A violation of Penal Code section 273.6 if the detained person made threats
tfo kill or harm, has engaged in viclence against, or has gone to the residence or
workplace of, the protected party;
(8) A violation of Penal Code section 422 where the offense is punished as a
felony;
(9) A violation of Penal Code section 646.9;
(10) A violation of an offense listed in Penal Code section 290(c);
(11) A violation of Vehicle Code sections 23152 or 23153;
(12) A felony violation of Penal Code section 463; and
(13) A violation of Penal Code section 29800.
(d) Ability to deny bail:

Nothing in the Emergency Bail Schedule restricts the ability of the court to deny bail as

authorized by article |, section 12, or 28(f)(3) of the California Constitution.
(e} Application of countywide bail schedule

(1) The current countywide bail schedule of each superior court must remain in

effect for all offenses listed in exceptions (1) through (13) of the Emergency Bail
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Schedule, includiﬁg any count-specific conduct enhancements and any status
enhancements.

(2) Each superior court retains the authority to reduce the amount of bait listed in
the court’s current countywide bail schedule for offenses in exceptions (1) through
(13), or for any offenses not in conflict with the Emergency Bail Schedule.

{f} Bail for violations of post-conviction supervision

(1) Under the statewide Emergency Bail Schedule, bail for all violations of
misdemeanor probation, whether the arrest is with or without a bench warrant,
must be set at $0.

(2) Bail for violations of felony probation, parole, post-release community
supervision, or mandatory supervision, must be set in accord with the statewide
Emergency Bail Schedule, or the bail amount in the court’s countywide schedule
of bail for charges of conviction listed in exceptions (1) through (13) including any
enhancements.

(a) Sunset of rule

This order will remain in effect until 90 days after the Governor declares that the state of
emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic is lifted, or until amended or repealed by the
Judicial Council.”

This order is not intended to preclude law enforcement from requiring a defendant to
promise to appear, as a condition of release.

THIS ORDER MAY BE AMENDED OR REVOKED, AS CIRCUMSTANCES REQUIRE.
IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: April 13, 2020
Nk rt - LB 5T

Kent M. Kellegrew
Presiding Judge
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