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CHAPTER 1 

COURT RULES ADMINISTRATION 
 
RULE 1.00 ADOPTION AND AMENDMENT OF RULES 
 These rules are adopted pursuant to Government Code § 68070 and Code of Civil Procedure §§128 and 187, subject to 
amendment at any time by a majority of the judges of the court, and shall be effective only to the extent that they do not conflict 
with California statutes or with the California Rules of Court. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 1.01 PUBLICATION AND PRINTING OF RULES 
 Upon adoption by the court, court rules and amendments thereof shall be filed with the California Judicial Council and the 
Executive Officer and Clerk as provided by the California Rules of Court.   The court shall publish such rules for distribution to 
parties or counsel by posting the court rules to the court’s Internet site:  http:///www.ventura.courts.ca.gov.  Parties and counsel 
may also purchase loose-leaf copies of these rules for $25.00 by cash or check made payable to the Ventura Superior Court and 
mailed to Court Administration, Room 206, 800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura, CA 93009. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2015)        
 
RULE 1.02 EFFECTIVE DATE OF RULES 
 These rules take effect on January 1, 2016, and shall supersede all rules heretofore adopted by the court. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2016) 
 

CHAPTER 2 

COURT ORGANIZATION, ADMINISTRATION AND PERSONNEL 
 
RULE 2.00 MEETINGS OF JUDGES 
 A. ANNUAL AND SPECIAL MEETINGS. An annual meeting of the judges shall be held each year at a time and place 
to be designated by the Presiding Judge. Special meetings of the judges shall be held at such times and places as may be 
designated by the Presiding Judge, or a majority of the judges. 
 B. NOTICE OF MEETINGS: QUORUM. Written notice shall be given by the Executive Officer and Clerk to each 
judge not less than four (4) days before an annual meeting. Written or oral notice shall be given at least 24 hours before a special 
meeting. A majority of the judges shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of court business at a meeting. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2002) 
 
RULE 2.01 PRESIDING JUDGE AND ASSISTANT PRESIDING JUDGE ELECTION, TENURE AND REMOVAL 
 A. The membership of the nominating committee consists of the Presiding Judge, Assistant Presiding Judge, and 
Supervising Judges of the Criminal, Civil, Family Law and Juvenile Departments. Nominations for either office may be made 
from the floor at the annual meeting. 
 B. At the annual meeting a majority of the judges shall elect by secret ballot a sole Presiding Judge and Assistant Presiding 
Judge to serve a term of two (2) years. 
 C. The Assistant Presiding Judge shall exercise such duties as may be assigned from time to time by the Presiding Judge, 
and in the absence of the Presiding Judge, shall exercise the powers of the Presiding Judge. 
 D. The business of the court shall be supervised by the Presiding Judge. The Presiding Judge shall also prepare and 
publish, with the concurrence of a majority of the judges, such routine rules, orders or regulations, to be known as 
“Administrative Orders”, as may be required to expedite and facilitate the business of the court. 
 E. The Presiding Judge or Assistant Presiding Judge may be removed from office by a majority of the judges voting by 
secret ballot at a special meeting. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2002) 
 
RULE 2.02 LOCATION OF COURT SESSIONS 
 There shall be three (3) Divisions of the court as follows: 
 A. The Ventura Division, with its principal office located at the Hall of Justice, 800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura, 
California 93009. 
 B. The East County (Simi) Division, with its principal office located at 3855-F Alamo Street, Simi Valley, California 
93063. 
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 C. The Juvenile Division, with its principal office located at the Juvenile Justice Complex, 4353 Vineyard Avenue, 
Oxnard, California 93036. 
 There shall be one or more courtrooms of the court at each of the above divisions, as determined by the Presiding Judge of the 
court. 
 The designation and location of courtrooms may be changed from time to time by the Presiding Judge, and need not 
necessarily be within the confines of the courthouse. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2004.) 
 
RULE 2.02.1 FILING NOTICE OF APPEAL AND APPELLATE DOCUMENTS 
 A. APPEALS TO THE COURT OF APPEAL, 2

ND
 APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION 6. Notice of Appeal and all 

documents relating to completion of the appellate record must be filed with the Appeals Clerk located in the Ventura 
Courthouse. This rule applies to Civil unlimited, Family Law, Mental Health, Probate and felony Criminal appeals. 
 Notice of Appeal and all documents filed relating to the appeal in a Juvenile Dependency or Juvenile Delinquency case must 
be filed at the Juvenile Courthouse located in Oxnard. 
 B. APPEALS TO THE APPELLATE DIVISION OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF 
VENTURA SUPERIOR COURT. Notice of Appeal and all documents relating to the appeal must be filed with the Appeals 
Clerk located in the Ventura Courthouse. These rules apply to Civil limited, Criminal misdemeanor and infraction appeals 
including Juvenile infractions. 
 C. SMALL CLAIMS APPEALS. Small Claims Appeals may be filed with the Appeals Clerk the Small Claims Clerk at the 
Ventura Courthouse. 
(Effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 2.03 VENUE OF EACH DIVISION 
 The venue of each division of the court shall embrace the geographical area of the County of Ventura, except as follows: 
 A. All small claims hearings and trials shall be heard in the division of the court nearest defendant’s residence at the time of 
the commencement of the action; or, if based on a contract, also in the division nearest the place where the contract was entered 
into. 
 B. The East County Division will be based upon the following Zip Code designations: 
 
 91301 
 91302 
 91304 
 91307 
 91360 
 91361 
 91362 
 91377 
 93020 
 93021 
 93062 
 93063 
 93064 
 93065 
(Revised effective July 1, 2014) 
 
RULE 2.04 COURT EMPLOYMENT CONFLICT OF INTEREST CODE 
 A. ADOPTION OF CODE. 
 This rule shall constitute the court’s Conflict of Interest Code as required by Government Code §87300, and hereby 
incorporates by reference California Code of Regulations, Title 2, §18730 (“Standard Code”) and any amendments to it. 
 B. PLACE OF FILING STATEMENTS OF ECONOMIC INTEREST. Pursuant to Section 4(c) of the Standard Code, 
designated employees shall file a statement of economic interest with the Executive Officer and Clerk of the Superior Court of 
California, County of Ventura. 
 C. APPENDICES TO THE STANDARD CODE. The Superior Court of California, County of Ventura adopts the 
following appendices to the Standard Code: 
(Revised effective July 1, 2008) 
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APPENDIX I: 
DESIGNATED EMPLOYEE, CONTRACTOR OR 

CONSULTANT CLASSIFICATIONS 
 
 Position Disclosure 
 Category 
 
 Executive Officer and Clerk 1,2 
 Assistant Executive Officer 1,2 
 Deputy Executive Officer 1,2 
 Applications Services Manager 1,2 
 Court Technology Officer 1,2 
 Director, Facilities Management 1,2 
 Director, Finance & Planning 1,2 
 Director, Fiscal Services 1,2 
 Director, Human Resources 1,2 
 Infrastructure Services Manager 1,2 
 Manager, Staff Development 1,2 
 Managing Attorney 1,2 
 Principal Budget Analyst 1,2 
 Procurement Specialist 1,2 
 Program Manager – Court Reporters 1,2 
 Program Manager – Family Mediation 1,2 
 Senior Accountant 1,2 
 Senior Analysts 1,2 
 Senior Program Manager 1,2 
 Senior Program Manager – Collections 1,2 
 Court Attorneys 3 
 Probate Examiner 3 
 Consultant

1
 1,2 

 
(Revised effective July 1, 2008) 
 

APPENDIX II: 
DISCLOSURE CATEGORIES 

 
Category 1. Employees, contractors or consultants in designated classifications assigned to this disclosure category shall report 
their, their spouses, registered domestic partners or dependent children’s interests in real property located within Ventura County 
or within two miles of Ventura County. Employees are not required to report a residence, such as a home or vacation cabin, used 
exclusively as a personal residence, unless you claim a business deduction for the residence. 
 
Category 2. Employees, contractors or consultants in designated classifications assigned to this disclosure category shall report 
their, their spouses, registered domestic partners or dependent children’s investments in and income from business entities 
engaged in the manufacture, sale, lease, or provision of supplies, materials, equipment, real property and services of the type 
used by this court within the past two (2) years, totaling $2,000 or more at any time during the reporting period. 
 
Category 3. Employees, contractors or consultants in designated classifications assigned to this disclosure category shall report 
all investments, sources of income, interests in real property, and positions

2
 in business entitled as follows: 

 
If during a reporting period a designated employee in this category did not participate in, or was not required to disqualify 
himself or herself from participating in, a case or other assignment in which he or she had a financial interest as defined by 
§87103 of the Government Code, the employee shall sign a statement to that effect under penalty of perjury. This statement shall 

                                                           
1
 The court may determine in writing that a consultant is hired to perform a limited range of duties and that the consultant is not required to 

comply with broad disclosure requirements. The determination shall include a description of the consultant’s duties and the extent of disclosure 
required. The court shall file the statement with the clerk. The consultant shall comply with all other provisions of this code. 
2
 Positions include employee, partner, officer, director, trustee, and any other management position. 
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be filed as the statement of economic interests required by section 4(c) of the Standard Code. An employee who disqualified 
himself or herself from participating in a case or assignment in which he or she had a financial interest shall disclose the case or 
assignment and the disqualifying interest and file the statement with the Clerk. 
 
RULE 2.05 STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 
 All attorneys should be familiar with the Standards of Professional Conduct published as Appendix I to these rules. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 2.06 JUDICIAL VACATION AND PERSONAL LEAVE DAYS 
 A. VACATION. Judicial vacation days and use are authorized consistent with California Rules of Court, rule 
10.603(c)(2). A judge’s vacation day is defined as follows: 
 A day of vacation for a judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Ventura, is an approved absence from the court 
for one full business day. Absence from the court listed in California Rules of Court, rule 10.603(c)(2)(H) are excluded from this 
definition. 
 B. PERSONAL LEAVE. Judicial personal leave days and use are authorized consistent with California Rules of Court, 
rule 10.603(c)(2)(D), in that a judge may take two personal leave days a year at anytime that is approved by the presiding judge. 
(Effective July 1, 2007) 

CHAPTER 3 

COURT CALENDARS, CASE MANAGEMENT, AND DELAY REDUCTION 
 

RULE 3.00 CIVIL CASE DELAY REDUCTION 
 It is the policy of the Ventura County Superior Court to manage all civil cases from the time of filing of the first document 
invoking court jurisdiction through final disposition. The court shall be governed by the civil case disposition standards 
contained in Standards 2.1 and 2.2 of the Standards of Judicial Administration. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
 
RULE 3.01 CASES EXEMPT FROM CIVIL CASE MANAGEMENT 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2003) 
 
RULE 3.02 DIFFERENTIATED CASE MANAGEMENT 
 All cases filed which are subject to these rules shall be assigned to one of the following case management tracks: (1) unlawful 
detainer, (2) economic, (3) standard, (4) complex, (5) uninsured motorist. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2000) 
 

RULE 3.03 TRACKING CASES 
 All pending cases shall be calendared for a future event. No pending case shall go off calendar without a future event being 
set. 
(Revised effective July 1, 1999) 
 

RULE 3.03.1 NOTICE OF CASE ASSIGNMENT AND MANDATORY APPERANCE-STANDARD TRACK CASES 
 A. At the time of filing of the initial Complaint, a “Notice of Case Assignment and Mandatory Appearance” will be provided 
by the Clerk which identifies the courtroom and Judicial Officer to whom the case is assigned, and contains the date, time, and 
courtroom for a combined initial Case Management Conference (CMC) and Order to Show Cause re Sanctions/Dismissal re 
Failure to File Proof of Service/Default (OSC). The combined CMC/OSC will be scheduled approximately five (5) months after 
the initial filing date for the purpose of: (1) confirming compliance with and/or addressing issues (and possible sanctions) related 
to timeframes established by statute and California Rules of Court for service of the Complaint and entry of Default; (2) 
scheduling of Alternative Dispute Resolution proceedings and/or a Trial Date; and, (3) any other issues pursuant to California 
Rules of Court, rule 3.722. 
 B. A copy of the Notice of Case Assignment and Mandatory Appearance shall be served by the filing party on all named 
Defendants/Respondents with the Complaint or Petition, and with any Cross- Complaint or Complaint in Intervention that names 
a new party to the underlying action. Appearance at the CMC by Attorneys and self-represented Parties, in person or by 
telephone (see Local Rule 7.00 et seq.), is mandatory. 
(Effective January 1, 2013) 
 
 
RULE 3.04 UNLAWFUL DETAINER 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
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RULE 3.05 EXPEDITED CASES 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2000) 
 
RULE 3.06 ECONOMIC LlTlGATlON TRACK FOR LIMITED CIVIL CASES (CCP 90 et seq.) 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2004) 
 
RULE 3.07 SUPERIOR COURT STANDARD CASES 
 MEDIATION OR ARBITRATION: 
 Cases in which arbitration is requested by plaintiff, stipulated to by all parties, or ordered by the court shall be sent to 
arbitration generally about 180 days after the complaint is filed. Cases arbitrated may also be ordered to mediation or mandatory 
early settlement conference. Cases not suitable for arbitration shall be set for trial. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 3.08 COMPLEX CASES 
 A.  GENERAL RULE. In general, a complex case is a case that is entirely managed by the assigned judge. The goal of the 
court is to complete the complex case within one year, unless the assigned judge determines otherwise. 
 All complex cases shall be set for a case management conference within 60 days of filing. The court shall calendar all events, 
such as service on unserved parties, discovery completion dates, settlement conference dates, and trial dates. The parties are 
required to file a joint complex status report, in pleading format, in advance of the first case management conference. See 
Standards of Judicial Administration standard 3.10. 
 B. CROSS-COMPLAINTS FOR EQUITABLE INDEMNITY (CONSTRUCTION DEFECT CASES). In complex 
construction defect cases, the court strongly encourages counsel to stipulate in the initial Case Management Order to the 
following: 
  1. All parties who want to pursue equitable indemnity/contribution/declaratory relief causes of action against any 
party(ies) shall, within 60 days of appearing, file and serve a formal cross-complaint. Proofs of service of the Cross-Complaints 
are to be filed within 30 days. After 60 days, leave of court must be obtained. A cross-complaint seeking equitable indemnity / 
contribution only shall not exceed three (3) pages. Counsel are encouraged, but not required, to use Judicial Council Form 
982.1(14). 
  2. No formal answers are to be filed. The answer, with all mutually agreed upon applicable affirmative defenses, shall 
be deemed filed. Any party desiring to plead other than the agreed upon applicable defenses will have to file an affirmative 
pleading within 30 days of the service of the cross-complaint. 
 C. NAMING NEW PARTIES (CONSTRUCTION DEFECT CASES). Counsel are to designate a date at the time of 
the first Case Management Conference, for inclusion in the Case Management Order, by which all new parties are to be named. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
 
RULE 3. 09 UNINSURED MOTORIST CASES 
 OSC re DISMISSAL: In any case designated as an Uninsured Motorist case, if the plaintiff and insurance carrier have not 
settled or arbitrated within 5 months, nor filed a dismissal, the court will hold an OSC re Dismissal for Failure to File Petition for 
Order Compelling Arbitration at 6 months. 
(Effective July 1, 2005) 
 
RULE 3.10 CIVIL CASE INFORMATION SHEET 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2008) 
 
RULE 3.11 CASE MANAGEMENT CONFERENCES 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2003) 
 
RULE 3.12 TRIAL SETTING CONFERENCES 
(Repealed, Effective July 1, 1994)  
 
RULE 3.13 MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCES 
 A. All mandatory settlement conferences are subject to California Rules of Court, rule 3.1380 and are conducted in 
unlimited civil cases only. All mandatory settlement conferences are held at the Ventura Division of the Ventura Superior Court, 
including those cases assigned to the East County Division, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 
 B. In addition to the mandatory settlement conference statement provided in California Rules of Court, rule 3.1380, a party 
may elect to lodge an additional confidential settlement conference statement with the court, no later than five (5) court days 
before the date set for the settlement conference. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
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RULE 3.14 IDENTIFICATION OF PARTY BEING SERVED ON PROOF OF SERVICE 
 In all cases where proof of service is made on any party by mailing a copy of the summons and complaint, cross complaint or 
other pleading to the party's attorney, the proof of service shall identify the party whom counsel represents in the form set below: 
 
John Jones, Esq. Attorney for Defendant, 
123 Main Street Mary Smith 
Ventura, CA 93003 
 
(Revised effective July 1, 2003)   
 
RULE 3.15 FILING AND SERVICE OF COMPLAINTS-IN-INTERVENTION 
 A. Complaints-in-intervention shall be filed by leave of court only as set forth in CCP §387(a). An original complaint-in-
intervention shall be submitted along with, but not attached to, the application for leave of court so that, upon granting of the 
order re leave to file, the complaint-in-intervention can be filed forthwith. 
 The complaint-in-intervention shall be served in accord with CCP §387 (a), and proof of service shall be returned to the court 
no later than thirty (30) days after filing of the complaint-in-intervention. 
 B. A complaint-in-intervention that is filed exclusively, and in both its caption and substance involves only the provisions 
of Labor Code §3852 shall be treated as both a complaint-in-intervention and as an application to file same. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2000) 
 
RULE 3.16 DUTY TO NOTIFY COURT OF SETTLEMENT 
 The Notice of Settlement filed shall state whether the settlement is an Unconditional Settlement (CRC 3.1385(b) or a 
Conditional Settlement (CRC 3.1385(c)). The Notice of Settlement shall specify as to which complaint or cross-complaint is 
settling and whether it is a partial settlement or as to the entire case.  If any settlement agreement attached to the Notice of 
Settlement is requested to be confidential, upon order of the court, it shall be sealed by the clerk. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
 
RULE 3.17 SANCTIONS FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH LOCAL RULES 
 Except for good cause shown, sanctions, including but not limited to, payment of sanctions to the court, payment of the 
opposing party's reasonable expenses and attorneys' fees, dismissal of the action or striking an answer and entering a default may 
be imposed on any person who: 
 A. Fails to comply with any local rule or order of the court, other than a prior order to pay sanctions; or 
 B. Fails to submit any form or report required by the court; or 
 C. Fails to appear at any case management conference or any other scheduled event; or 
 D. Fails to participate in good faith in any conference. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2008)  
 

RULE 3.18 WAIVER OF RULES 
 A. No procedure or deadline established by these rules may be waived or extended by stipulation or agreement of the 
parties, except as permitted by Government Code §68616, unless approved by the court, upon written application and submission 
of proposed order and a showing of good cause. 
 B. Any party may seek relief from any deadline or time line imposed by the Fast Track Rules of the Ventura County 
Superior Court, including trial date or any other event, by the filing of a formal noticed motion seeking such relief with proposed 
order. 
 Such motion shall be accompanied by appropriate declarations of counsel or others, setting forth the basis for the motion. 
 The granting of such motion by the court will be predicated upon a showing of good cause for same and that injustice to a 
party will result if the relief is not granted. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 3.19 LAW AND MOTION 

A.  Unless otherwise ordered, all noticed or ex-parte motions and any pleadings in support or opposition thereto shall be 
presented for filing in the clerk’s office located at the courthouse where the matter is to be heard. 

B.  Proposed Order(s):  parties are to comply with California Rules of Court, rules 3.1201 and/or 3.1312 regarding 
submissions of proposed orders.  If a party lodges an original proposed order(s) before the hearing is conducted, any copies of 
the proposed order(s) to be conformed are to be brought on the day of the hearing and not lodged prior to the hearing.  
(Revised effective July 1, 2014) 
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RULE 3.20 EX PARTE MOTIONS 
 (Reference Local Rules - Chapter 15) 
 Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 3.21 GENERAL ASSIGNMENT SCHEDULE; COURT CALENDARS 
 A. Civil cases of either limited or unlimited jurisdiction are assigned to a judge and vertical civil department for all 
purposes upon the filing of the first document invoking the court's jurisdiction. 
 B. Designated Vertical Case Management departments shall individually and directly calendar all trials and hearings 
scheduled in all cases assigned under that system, consistent with procedures adopted by the court and the individual judges 
presiding, under the general coordination of the Presiding Judge of the court. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2003) 
 
RULE 3.22 DUTY TO NOTIFY PARTIES OF CASE REASSIGNMENT 
 It shall be the duty of any party successfully exercising a judicial challenge under Code of Civil Procedure §§170.1 and/or 
170.6 to provide formal notice to all subsequently appearing parties of the identity of the courtroom and the judge to which the 
case is then "vertically assigned for all purposes." 
(Effective July 1, 2003) 
 
RULE 3.23 BINDING ARBITRATION 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2005) 
 
RULE 3.24 MANDATORY MEDIATION AND EARLY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCES 
 A. The court shall, where appropriate, order the parties to participate in mandatory mediation with a mediator appointed by 
the court, and/or a mandatory early settlement conference before a settlement officer. Once ordered to mandatory mediation or 
mandatory early settlement conference, the court requires: 
  1. All parties, 
  2. Their attorneys, 
  3. Claim representatives, and 
  4. All persons with full authority to resolve all disputed issues to appear on the date and at the time and place ordered by 
the court. 
Exception: For good cause shown, the parties may seek a court order prior to the date set for mediation or mandatory early 
settlement conference to exclude their or their claim representative’s appearance at the court ordered mediation or mandatory 
early settlement conference. An order may be sought by ex parte application. Absent such an order, the failure of a party or claim 
representative to appear at a mandatory mediation or mandatory settlement conference will result in sanctions being imposed on 
the party, counsel or both. 
 B. The mediation or mandatory early settlement conference may be continued by agreement without court order for no 
more than 30 days from the original mediation or conference date as follows: 
  1. All parties and the mediator or settlement officer must agree on a new date. 
  2. No later than the date originally scheduled for the mediation or conference, the party requesting the continuance shall 
serve and file a declaration under penalty of perjury stating (a) all parties and the mediator or settlement officer have agreed to 
the continuance, (b) the reasons for the continuance which constitute good cause as set forth in rule 3.1332 of the California 
Rules of Court, and (c) the agreed date. 
  3. For mediation only, the matter may be continued by a telephone call or written letter from the mediator indicating the 
new mediation date. 
 C. There can be no continuance for more than 30 days from the original date except upon order of the court for good 
cause. The desire to conduct further discovery will not be considered good cause. 
 D. No later than 5 days before the mandatory early settlement conference, each party shall serve on all other parties a brief 
statement setting forth and discussing the facts and law pertinent to the issues of liability, damages and defenses and an 
itemization of economic and non-economic damages, and comply with any additional requirement imposed by local rule. 
 No later than 5 days before the date set for mediation, each party shall serve on the mediator and opposing counsel, a one-
page mediation statement which shall set forth the causes of action and nature of the case, the issues to be resolved and the 
party's contentions. 
 E. FACILITIES: The availability of court facilities being limited and necessary for formal court proceedings, mediators 
and settlement officers are strongly encouraged to schedule mediation and settlement hearings for the mediator's or settlement 
officer's office or other appropriate location agreed upon between parties to the proceedings. All hearings shall be held within the 
County of Ventura unless all parties and the mediator or settlement officer stipulate to a different location. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
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RULE 3.24.1 MEDIATOR COMPLAINT PROCEDURE 
Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.865 et seq., the Ventura Superior Court maintains the following 

Mediator Complaint Procedure: 
 A. All grievances, complaints or issues concerning the conduct of a mediator on the Ventura Superior Court’s Civil 
Mediation Panel must be referred initially to the Court Program Manager for Civil/Appeals/Small Claims, who has been 
designated by the Presiding Judge, as the Complaint Coordinator. All complaints must be in writing, addressed to: 
  Civil Mediation, 
  Complaint Coordinator, 
  800 South Victoria, Room 210 
  Ventura, CA 93009 
or by e-mail at http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/email and checking “Court Mediation Program". 
 B. After sending the complainant a written acknowledgment that the court has received the complaint, the Complaint 
Coordinator will conduct a preliminary review of the complaint to determine whether or not the complaint can be resolved 
informally and closed. If the complaint is resolved informally or closed after preliminary review, the Complaint Coordinator will 
send the complainant written notification of the resolution. 
 C. If it is determined that further investigation is warranted, the Complaint Coordinator will send the mediator written 
notice of the complaint, that the complaint has been referred to the Chair(s) of the Bench ADR committee and the mediator will 
have twenty (20) days from the mailing of said notice to provide the court with a written response. The Chair(s) of the ADR 
Committee will designate an individual who has experience as a mediator and who is familiar with the rules of conduct for 
mediators set forth in California Rules of Court, rule 3.850 et seq., or will establish a complaint committee that has at least one 
such individual as a member, to conduct the investigation and prepare a written recommendation concerning court action on the 
complaint. The Chair(s) of the ADR Committee and/or their designee may determine that the mediator will be removed from the 
active/eligible list pending the final decision on the complaint. 
 D. The final decision on the complaint will be made by the Presiding Judge or his or her designee, who did not conduct the 
investigation, and the final decision will be communicated to both the complainant and the mediator in writing. The final 
decision-maker may take one or more of the following action(s): direct that no action be taken on the complaint; counsel, 
admonish, or reprimand the mediator; impose additional training requirements as a condition of the mediator remaining on the 
court’s panel; temporarily suspend the mediator from the court’s panel or otherwise temporarily prohibit the mediator from 
receiving future mediation referrals from the court; and/or permanently remove the mediator from the court’s panel or otherwise 
permanently prohibit the mediator from receiving future mediation referrals from the court. 
 E. The final decision is in the sole discretion of the final decision-maker and is not subject to any subsequent review or 
appeal. Ultimately, mediators on the court’s Civil Mediation Panel may be temporarily or permanently removed from the panel 
at any time at the sole discretion of the court without cause. 
 F. All court communications and/or proceedings relative to complaints against mediators on the court’s Civil Mediation 
Panel will occur in private and be kept confidential except as required by law and except for authorized disclosures as follows: 
after the decision on a complaint against a mediator has been made, the Presiding Judge or his or her designee may authorize the 
disclosure of information or records concerning the complaint proceeding that do not reveal any mediation communications. The 
disclosures that may authorize include the name of the mediator against whom action is being taken, the action taken and the 
general basis on which the action was taken. 
 G. A person who has participated in a complaint proceeding or otherwise received information that is publicly disclosed 
will not subsequently hear or determine any contested issue of law, fact, or procedure concerning the dispute that was the subject 
of the underlying mediation or any other dispute that arises from the mediation as a judge, arbitrator, referee, or juror, or any 
other adjudicative capacity, in any court action or proceeding. 
(Effective January 1, 2011) 
 
RULE 3.25 MANDATORY MEET AND CONFER 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1996)  
 
RULE 3.26 BRINGING IN NEW PARTIES SUBSEQUENT TO ORIGINAL FILING 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2003) 
 
 
RULE 3.27 CASE REMOVED TO FEDERAL COURT 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2004) 
 
RULE 3.28 FILINGS FOR CASE MANAGEMENT CONFERENCES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2004) 
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RULE 3.29 DEFAULT HEARING FORMS IN LIMITED CIVIL CASES 
 Automobile deficiency judgments will not be granted nor submitted to a judge for approval unless a “Declaration in Support 
of Deficiency Judgment” has been completed and filed under Code of Civil Procedure § 585(d). 
 All local court forms are available through the court’s web site. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 3.30 ERRONEOUSLY SUED DEFENDANTS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2001) 
 

CHAPTER 4 

COURT PLEADINGS, FORMS AND DOCUMENT FORMAT 
 
RULE 4.00 ORGANIZATION 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 4.01 CONFORMED COPIES 
 When counsel requests copies of documents filed to be conformed and returned by mail, such request shall be accompanied 
by a self-addressed envelope, large enough for all conformed copies and with sufficient prepaid postage for the weight of the 
conformed copies to be returned. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2011) 
 
RULE 4.02 PLEADINGS AND RECORDS IN AN EMINENT DOMAIN ACTION INVOLVING MORE THAN ONE 
PARCEL OF PROPERTY 
 A. PLEADINGS. In an eminent domain action involving more than one parcel of property, the plaintiff's complaint shall 
set forth, in addition to the matters required by §1250.310 of the Code of Civil Procedure, numbers or symbols to identify each 
of the parcels of property. A defendant's answer, demurrer, or written appearance shall set forth in the space below the number of 
the case and in parentheses, the parcel numbers or symbols that identify the property claimed by him. 
 B. COPY OF PLEADINGS. Within ten days after service of each defendant's pleading the plaintiff shall file a duplicate 
copy of his complaint, summons, lis pendens, and other pertinent documents. A defendant who claims more than one parcel of 
property shall file a copy of his pleading for each parcel claimed by him. A copy of such pleading shall be filed by the Executive 
Officer and Clerk in the appropriate parcel files. 
 C. REGISTER. The Executive Officer and Clerk shall include in the register, opposite the name of each defendant, the 
numbers or symbols that identify the property in which he is alleged to have an interest. 
 D. PARCEL FILES. The Executive Officer and Clerk shall file the pleading of each of the defendants in separate file 
folders following the file folder that contains the original complaint. All the file folders shall have the same tab position and bear 
the number of the action. Following the number of the action, the file folder of each defendant shall set forth the parcel numbers 
or symbols identifying the property claimed by him. Thereafter, all papers pertaining to that property shall be filed in that file 
folder. 
 E. WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS. The court may, for good cause shown, order any paper to be filed without a parcel 
number or symbol. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 F. ASSIGNMENT OF CASES CONCERNING A SINGLE PROJECT. Multiple eminent domain cases filed 
simultaneously on behalf of public agencies for a single project are exempt from the procedure to assign individual cases on a 
random basis. The caption of each eminent domain complaint concerning a single project shall indicate that the case is one of 
several to acquire the property for a designated public project. Each of the multiple cases so designated will be assigned to one 
judge. The existing random assignment procedures will be overridden to accommodate such assignment. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2002) 
RULE 4.03 PRESCRIBED FORMS IN DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASES 
 In domestic relations cases, mandatory and optional Judicial Council forms shall be used. The original thereof shall be filed 
together with proof of service prior to the date and time set for hearing. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 4.04 FACSIMILE FILING 

 A. The Superior Court of Ventura County hereby adopts Title 2, Division 3, Chapter 3, Rule 2.300 et seq., of the California 

Rules of Court, allowing for the facsimile filing of civil documents. 
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 B. The court elects to allow the filing of documents by facsimile transmission directly with the courts through an automated 
facsimile filing system. 
 C. The court’s facsimile machine shall be available 24 hours a day, although filings received after 5 p.m. or on court 
holidays shall be deemed filed on the next court day. 
 D. Automated Fax Filing service must be activated by calling the telephone number listed on the court’s website. Filing 
attorney’s credit card number, expiration date and fax number of sending fax will be required. Confidentiality of the credit card 
number will be maintained. 
 E. The automated facsimile filing telephone is available on the court’s website. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013, subdivision C repealed effective September 6, 2016.) 
 
RULE 4.05 ELECTRONIC FILING 
 This rule applies to civil, small claims, family law and probate. Notwithstanding any other provision of law or these rules, no 
will, codicil, testamentary trust, bond or undertaking shall be electronically filed. 
 A. Electronic filings are permitted and shall conform to the provisions of CCP 1010.6 and CRC 2.250. 
 B. The court elects to allow filing of documents electronically through a third party's web-based e-filing site approved by the 
court. 
 C. Any approved sites are listed on the court’s website. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013) 
 

RULE 4.06 ELECTRONIC MAIL ADDRESSES ON PLEADINGS 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2009) 

 
CHAPTER 5 

COURT FILES AND EXHIBITS 
 
RULE 5.00 EXHIBITS 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 5.01 ENTRY OF COURT ORDER IN MINUTES 
 The Executive Officer and Clerk shall keep minutes of court orders and shall place a copy of each minute order in the court's 
file of actions in chronological order in lieu of a minute book, as provided in Government Code §69844.7 for as long as the law 
requires. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2005) 
 
RULE 5.02 COURT RECORDS 
 A. REMOVAL OF PAPERS. No papers shall be removed from the files or replaced therein except by authorized court 
personnel. 
 B. RETURN OF EXHIBITS. No exhibits shall be released from the possession of the Executive Officer and Clerk except 
on order of the court and the giving of a receipt therefor. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 5.03 HOLES FOR FILING 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 5.04 REMOVAL OF EXHIBITS 
 By order of a judge or commissioner, juvenile court referee or juvenile court traffic hearing officer of the court, any exhibit 
may be returned by the clerk to the witness or party by whom it was produced after the substitution of a photostatic copy 
therefore; provided, however, that such order may dispense with such substitution in the case of an original record, paper or 
object taken from the custody of a public officer which is being returned to such officer, or in the case of an exhibit used only in 
making proof against a party whose default has been entered, or when a photostatic copy is impracticable, in which case a receipt 
shall be given, or when a written stipulation of all the parties consenting thereto is filed. 
(Effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE.5.05 REASONABLY NECESSARY PHOTOCOPYING 
 California Rules of Court, rule 3.55(2) provides that the clerk’s fees for reasonably necessary photocopying must be waived 
upon granting an application for an initial fee waiver.  This court defines the number of photocopies that are reasonably 
necessary as one (1) copy of those papers in the court’s file for the action or proceeding in which the fee waiver was granted.  If 
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a party seeks additional copies, the self-represented party or attorney of record must request a court order by submitting a 
declaration and proposed order stating good cause for additional copies.  
(Effective January 1, 2014) 
 

CHAPTER 6 

TRIAL CONTROL CALENDAR PROCEDURES 
 
RULE 6.00 DUTY OF COUNSEL AS TO TRIAL DATE ASSIGNED 
 After trial date has been assigned it shall be the duty of counsel to inform the assigned judge of any fact tending to indicate 
that the case may not proceed to trial on the date to which it has been assigned. In the event of settlement, counsel or parties 
appearing in person shall immediately notify the court thereof. Failure to do so may be deemed as unlawful interference with the 
proceedings of the court. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 6.01 SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE STATEMENTS (See CRC 222(d)) 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2000) 
 
RULE 6.02 CALENDARS 
 Matters may be set on calendar only by the clerk or order of a judge. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 6.03 JUDICIAL ARBITRATION 
 A. ADOPTION. Effective on July 1, 1979, the Ventura Superior Court adopts and elects to come within the provisions of 
sections 1141.11 et seq. of the California Code of Civil Procedure and California Rules of Court, rule 3.810, et seq., relating to 
mandatory judicial arbitration. 
 B. ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE. The committee for administration of the Judicial Arbitration program shall 
consist of the Presiding Judge of the court; the Arbitration Administrator; two representatives each of the plaintiff and defense 
bar. Arbitration Committee members shall serve until removed or replaced by order of the court. 
 C. ARBITRATION ADMINISTRATOR. The Executive Officer and Clerk of the court is designated as Arbitration 
Administrator. 
 D. ARBITRATION PANEL.  A single arbitration panel shall be utilized in this program, with panelist representative of 
appropriately varying legal specialties to the extent practicable, and approved by the administrative committee. Arbitration Panel 
members are to keep the Superior Court informed of their current address and phone numbers.  Panel members shall serve until 
removed or replaced by the administrative committee. 
 E. ARBITRATION CALENDARING. The Executive Officer and Clerk shall calendar all arbitration hearings as 
provided by statute, California Rules of Court, and rules of this court. All trial setting conferences, pretrial conferences, 
settlement conferences, and trial dates shall be considered a conference during which the court may determine the 
appropriateness of the case for the Judicial Arbitration program, and the amount in controversy as provided by rule 3.811 
California Rules of Court. Counsel are to be prepared to fully discuss such matters at such times. 
 F. FACILITIES. The availability of court facilities being limited and necessary for formal court proceedings, arbitrators 
are strongly encouraged to schedule arbitration hearings for the arbitrator's office or other appropriate location agreed upon 
between parties to the arbitration. All arbitration hearings shall be held within the County of Ventura unless all parties and the 
arbitrator stipulate to a different location. Arbitrators shall keep the Case Management unit advised of the dates and locations of 
all arbitration hearings and continuances thereof. 
 G. ARBITRATOR AWARDS; FEES. All arbitrator's awards with the proof of service on each party to the arbitration 
shall be filed with the court under California Rules of Court, rule 3.825(b) within ten (10) days after conclusion of the arbitration 
hearing, and no fee shall be paid to any arbitrator until such award has been filed. Repeated failure to comply with this rule shall 
be grounds for removal of the arbitrator from the arbitration panel. 
 H. NUMBER OF ARBITRATORS ON A PANEL. As permitted by Rule 3.815(c), California Rules of Court, the 
arbitration administrator shall select at random a number of prospective arbitrators equal to the number of sides plus two. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2014) 
 
RULE 6.04 ARBITRATION DELAY 
 An appointed arbitrator shall set the arbitration hearing so as to be completed no later than 60 days from the appointment and 
shall not continue the hearing date unless good cause exists. In the event that the hearing date is continued, the hearing must be 
held within 90 days of the appointment of the arbitrator. This rule may not be waived by any party or by the arbitrator. All cases 
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continued shall be reported to the arbitration administrator. No continuance of judicial arbitration to a hearing date more than 90 
days after the appointment shall be made unless ordered by the court after the parties have: 
 A. Stipulated to the continuance in writing accompanied by a declaration establishing good cause as set out in rule 3.1332 
of the California Rules of Court; 
 B. Arranged for a new date with the arbitrator and include that date in the stipulation and order; 
 C. Prepared an order to be signed by the court; 
 D. Filed all of the above three (3) court days prior to the current arbitration date. 
 A hearing is "completed" upon filing of the arbitrator's award with the clerk. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
 
RULE 6.05 TELEPHONIC APPEARANCES-TRIAL CONTROL CALENDARS 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 6.06 MANDATORY ARBITRATION STATEMENT 
 Counsel shall prepare and serve on all other parties and the arbitrator, no later than ten (10) days prior to the arbitration 
hearing, a statement setting forth and discussing in detail the facts and law pertinent to the issues of liability, damages or both 
involved in the case as to the party or parties represented by that counsel. The statements, where relevant, shall contain an 
itemization of special damages claimed with dates therefor. The nature, extent and prognosis of any claimed physical injury shall 
be described fully and copies of medical reports shall be attached to the statement. The statement shall not contain or disclose 
any offers of settlement. The statement shall contain a declaration that all parties have discussed the case and have attempted in 
good faith to settle the case. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2002) 
 
RULE 6.07 CASES EXCLUDED FROM ARBITRATION 
 All cases in which the time estimate for trial is less than one day are excluded from mandatory arbitration on the grounds that 
arbitration of such cases generally will not reduce the probable time and expense to resolve the litigation. However, any such 
case may be arbitrated upon stipulation, upon request of any party, or upon order of the court. Cases specifically excluded by 
statute shall not be the subject of mandatory arbitration. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 

RULE 6.08 SERVICE MEMBERS CIVIL RELIEF ACT 
 A. When it is determined a defendant or respondent is in the military service so as to be entitled to the benefits of the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (50 U.S.C. Appen. §§ 501-591), counsel for the plaintiff shall, prior to the initial case 
management conference, determine the defendant’s/respondent’s ability to appear and defend the action. No later than the time 
of the initial conference, the plaintiff shall advise the court of the defendant’s/respondent’s ability to proceed, and, if necessary, 
shall apply for one of the orders under subdivision C of this rule. 
 B. When a defendant, respondent or a cross-defendant other than the plaintiff communicates to the court in writing that he 
or she is in the military service and claims the benefits of the Servicemembers-Civil Relief Act, the court shall order the matter 
set on the case management conference calendar no sooner than sixty (60) days after the defendant’s/respondent’s/cross-
defendant’s notification to the court. The court shall notify the plaintiff of the defendant’s/respondent’s communication by 
serving a copy upon plaintiff. Plaintiff shall then serve upon defendant/respondent notice of the case management conference 
(subdivision D of this rule). At the case management conference, the court shall make the findings required under subdivision E 
of this rule based upon the evidence presented at the conference. 
 C. At the case management conference, the court may make one or more of the following orders: 
  1. If, by the initial case management conference, the plaintiff is unable to advise the court of the 
defendant’s/respondent’s ability to proceed, the action shall be stayed for a reasonable time not to exceed sixty (60) days, so that 
a hearing may be held to determine the defendant’s/respondent’s ability to appear and defend, and whether the 
defendant/respondent will be prejudiced if the action proceeds in his or her absence. The plaintiff shall serve upon 
defendant/respondent notice of stay and of the hearing to determine prejudice (subdivision D of this rule). If the notice of stay 
and of the hearing cannot be timely served upon the defendant/respondent, and plaintiff submits evidence to the court that it is 
either not feasible or unduly expensive to effect service upon the defendant/respondent at that time, the court shall so find, and 
shall dismiss the action without prejudice, reserving jurisdiction to reopen the case if the plaintiff notifies the court that service 
can be effected upon the defendant/respondent. If plaintiff submits evidence that convinces the court that the 
defendant/respondent has, in fact, received notice of the hearing but has chosen to ignore it, the court shall so find and the action 
shall proceed in due course; 
  2. That counsel be appointed to represent the defendant/respondent; 
  3. Any order necessary to further the delay reduction policies set forth in standards 2.1 and 2.2 of the Standards of 
Judicial Administration of the California Rules of Court. 
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 D. Any notice given pursuant to subdivision B or C.1 of this rule shall be served on the defendant/respondent by the 
plaintiff in any manner provided in the Code of Civil Procedure for service of summons. Such notice shall include a statement 
that if the defendant/respondent is unable to appear personally and is requesting a stay of the action because he or she is unable 
to appear and defend the action at that time, or would otherwise be prejudiced if the action went forward, and that the 
defendant/respondent must serve upon the plaintiff and the court prior to the case management conference an affidavit or 
declaration under penalty of perjury describing specific facts showing why the defendant/respondent cannot appear and defend, 
or why the defendant would be prejudiced if the action were to go forward in his or her absence. The defendant/respondent shall 
also state when he or she will be able to appear and defend. The notice to the defendant shall clearly state that the defendant’s 
failure to provide an affidavit or declaration under penalty of perjury stating facts showing why the action should not go forward, 
or why the defendant/respondent would be prejudiced if the action were to go forward, will be construed by the court as an 
admission that the defendant/respondent will not be prejudiced if the action went forward in the defendant’s absence. 
 E. If an order is made under subdivision C.1 of this rule and notice of stay and of the hearing is served on the defendant 
pursuant to subdivision D of this rule, the court shall set a hearing and shall make specific findings on the record as to the 
following issues: 
  1. The defendant/respondent is in the military and is entitled to the benefits of the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act; 
  2. The defendant’s/respondent’s present ability to appear and defend the action; and 
  3. The prejudice to the defendant/respondent if the action proceeds in the defendant’s absence. 
 F. If the court makes a finding that the defendant/respondent is able to appear and defend, the court shall order the action 
to proceed in due course. If a stay is requested by the defendant/respondent, and the evidence shows that defendant is not 
currently able to appear and defend or would otherwise suffer prejudice if the action proceeded in his or her absence, and a stay 
is necessary to permit the defendant/respondent to make arrangements to appear and defend, the court shall stay the action for a 
reasonable time, generally not to exceed sixty (60) days. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 

CHAPTER 7 

TELEPHONIC APPEARANCES 
 
RULE 7.00 TELEPHONE APPEARANCE 
 Counsel shall have the option of appearing by telephone at appropriate conferences, hearings and proceedings in civil 
unlawful detainer and probate cases as provided for in California Rules of Court, rule 3.670 and the following provisions with 
respect to private vendor teleconference services. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 7.01 PRIVATE VENDOR 
 A. As permitted by California Rules of Court, rule 3.670(i) teleconferencing for court appearances is provided by a private 
vendor who may charge counsel appearing by telephone a reasonable fee. The court has entered into a contract with CourtCall. 
LLC. As the designated provider of teleconferencing services for court appearances. 
 B. SCHEDULING CONFERENCE CALLS. A party that intends to appear telephonically for a hearing listed in 
California Rule of Court, rule 3.670 must provide notice as specified in California Rule of Court, rule 3.670(h) at least two (2) 
court days before the appearance. The party is responsible for contacting CourtCall, arranging the telephonic appearance and 
providing CourtCall with all required information and payment of fees. Counsel wishing to appear by telephone shall be 
available at the telephone number listed by that individual in the title page of the moving or opposing papers or the Notice to 
Appear by Telephone from the commencement of the appropriate calendar, until the completion of the hearing. Failure to remain 
available as required by this paragraph shall be deemed a non-appearance at the hearing and shall be subject to sanctions. 
 C. If counsel subsequently chooses to appear in person, in addition to notice as provided in California Rule of Court 
3.670(g)(3), counsel shall, at least two (2) court days before the hearing, notify the teleconference provider by telephone. 
 D. If the court requires the personal appearance of counsel, in addition to notice as provided in California Rules of Court, 
rule 3.670(h), the court shall notify the teleconference provider by telephone. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2016) 
 
RULE 7.02 FILING AND SERVICE OF FORMS 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 7.03 SCHEDULED AVAILABILITY 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 7.04 CONTINUANCE 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1999) 
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RULE 7.05 COMPLIANCE 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1999)  
 

CHAPTER 8 

CIVIL LAW AND MOTION HEARINGS 

CALENDAR PROCEDURES 

(Not applicable to Family Law matters) 
 
RULE 8.00 TENTATIVE RULINGS 
 The Ventura Superior Court adopts the following as the Tentative Ruling Procedure in the civil departments of the court. 
 A. Tentative rulings will be available by 4:00 p.m. on the court day preceding the scheduled date of the hearing. Tentative 
rulings may be obtained on the court's Website at www.ventura.courts.ca.gov. Parties are encouraged to use the court’s website 
to obtain tentative rulings. Parties without internet access may call the judicial secretary for the courtroom of the hearing. 
 B. No “Notice of Intent to Appear” is required under this rule. 
 C. Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.1308(e) this local rule does not require any judge to issue tentative rulings. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 8.01 NOTICE OF HEARING 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 8.02 MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND AUTHORITIES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 8.03 INCOMPLETE MOTIONS 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 8.04 CONTINUANCES AND OFF CALENDAR REQUESTS 
 A. The Legal Research section receives all of the law and motion files for calendared matters approximately ten (10) days 
preceding the hearing date. The Legal Research attorneys must be notified by telephone (805) 289-8760 as soon as possible 
when a matter is to be continued or taken off calendar in order to avoid unnecessary review. 
 B. All requests or notices to take a matter off calendar shall be in writing and filed with the court in the courthouse where 
the matter is to be heard. 
 C. All continuances of Law and Motion matters shall be for not less than two (2) weeks and shall be by ex-parte 
application or stipulation and order. 
 D. To request a continuance of a Small Claims Trial De Novo trial, the requesting party must complete Judicial Council 
forms “Request to Postpone Trial” (SC-150) and “Order on Request to Postpone Trial” (SC-152) at least ten (10) days before the 
trial date and pay the appropriate filing fee (see current fee schedule). If the request is submitted less than ten (10) days before 
the trial, the requesting party must give the court good cause why the request is being filed later. The requesting party shall mail 
or personally deliver a copy to all parties in the action. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2015) 
 
RULE 8.05 RESTORATION TO CALENDAR 
 A law and motion matter that has gone off calendar may be restored thereto only upon noticed motion except in an 
extraordinary situation to be determined by the court in its discretion. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
 
RULE 8.06 ARGUMENT 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2005) 
 

RULE 8.07 DISCOVERY 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 8.08 CONSOLIDATION 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
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RULE 8.09 MOTION TO BE RELIEVED AS COUNSEL 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 8.10 RESERVED 
(Reserved effective July 1, 2000) 
 
RULE 8.11 MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND SUMMARY ADJUDICATION 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 8.12 PROCEDURAL RULES FOR CIVIL TRIALS 
 A. LENGTH OF TRIAL. A realistic and practical period for trial and argument will be determined after consultation with 
counsel, based upon the circumstances of each case. 
 B. TRIAL BRIEFS. Trial briefs shall not exceed ten (10) pages. Opposing counsel who have not already done so shall 
exchange trial briefs at or immediately after announcing ready at the trial call. Unless otherwise ordered by the judge at trial call, 
briefs are to be filed with judicial assistant in the assigned trial department on the first day of trial. 
 C. BREVITY. 
  1. Voir dire and examination of witnesses can and will be limited by the court. Such limitation can be agreed upon by 
counsel and/or court before the trial commences. 
  2. Objections. State the legal basis only; do not argue objections unless invited by the court. 
 D. ANTICIPATE PROBLEMS. 
  1. Witness availability problems. Counsel must always have back-up witnesses to eliminate delay. There is no exception to 
this rule. Each counsel shall notify opposing counsel 24 hours in advance of all witnesses counsel intends to call the following 
day. Failure to follow this rule may result in exclusion of any witness not so disclosed. 
  2. Potential evidentiary problems should be anticipated and disclosed to the court, with citations, before the trial 
commences. 
  3. Scheduling problems. Prompt notice is mandatory. 
 E. PRE-MARKING OF EXHIBITS. All exhibits shall be submitted to the courtroom clerk on the first day of trial for 
pre-marking. Prior to arriving in the trial department, counsel shall exchange all exhibits with opposing counsel and shall agree 
and stipulate to foundation and admissibility where possible. Any exhibits as to which admissibility cannot be stipulated should 
be brought to the attention of the court on the first day of trial. Any exhibits not so pre-marked may be excluded from evidence. 
The only exceptions are exhibits to be used for impeachment. If counsel wish to have the exhibits pre-marked prior to the first 
day of trial, they should notify the courtroom clerk for an appointment for this purpose. This practice is encouraged. 

 F. STIPULATE TO AS MANY FACTS AS POSSIBLE. 
 G. STATEMENT OF CASE. A statement of the case must be stipulated to by all counsel and jointly prepared, consisting 
of a brief, concise factual statement of the case. It will be read to the jury panel as an introduction to the case. It is not to exceed 
one page, and is to be filed with the clerk of the trial department on the first day of trial. 
 H. COOPERATION BETWEEN COUNSEL. Cooperation is the key to expeditious trials; it is essential, expected and 
professional. 
 I. WITNESS LISTS. Counsel for all sides shall agree on a single combined list of witnesses who may be called in the 
trial. The list shall be prepared by counsel for plaintiff. This witness list shall be filed with the clerk in the trial department on the 
first day of trial, and will be read to prospective jurors. 
 J. EXAMINATION OF WITNESSES. Prior to calling a witness, counsel shall determine what exhibits will be used 
during the examination and have those exhibits on the witness stand for easy reference by the witness. The only exception is for 
exhibits to be used for impeachment. 
 K. COURT-APPOINTED EXPERT. The court will appoint its own expert under appropriate circumstances, with costs 

borne by the parties equally. 

 L. JURY INSTRUCTIONS AND VERDICTS. Instructions and verdict forms are to be agreed to outside of trial time. 
  1. (Deleted eff. 7/1/1996) 
  2. Counsel's particular attention is drawn to the Burden of Proof Instruction such as CACI 2.60. Counsel shall agree on the 
wording of said instruction and submit same to the court before plaintiff rests. 
  3. Jury instructions prepared by counsel will be accepted only in the format of Exhibit A hereto. 
  4. Jury verdict forms will be prepared by plaintiff's counsel, but will be agreed upon by all counsel and lodged with the 
clerk of the trial department before the plaintiff rests. 
 M. HYPOTHETICAL QUESTIONS. 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1995). 
 N.    IN LIMINE MOTIONS. In Limine Motions shall be limited to those reasonably necessary to resolve material 
evidentiary issues and shall conform to the principles announced in Kelly v. New West Federal Savings (1996) 49 Cal.App.4

th
 

659. Motions and oppositions, if any, shall be in writing not to exceed three (3) pages each, including points and authorities. 
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Each motion shall be accompanied by a proposed order. If more than one motion is being filed, each motion and corresponding 
opposition shall be identified by number in the caption (e.g., motion in Limine No. “1”).  Opposing counsel who have not 
already done so shall exchange motions at or immediately after announcing ready at the trial call. Unless otherwise ordered by 
the judge at trial call, motions and oppositions are to be filed with the clerk in the assigned trial department on the first day of 
trial. Immediately after being notified by the court of the time and place for the start of trial in a trailing case, counsel who have 
not already done so shall meet and confer telephonically as to which In Limine motions are contested and shall promptly 
exchange any written oppositions to another party’s motions. 

 O. CHECKLIST FOR WORKING WITH THE COURTROOM CLERK. 

 1. Check in with the courtroom clerk. If you are an attorney representing a client, provide three (3) business cards and 

name of your client. 

 2. File trial briefs and motions in limine. 

 3. File witness list and statement of the case. 

 4. Arrange for payment of any jury fees and reporter fees. 

 5. Pre-mark and exchange exhibits. 

 6. File request for jury instructions before the plaintiff rests. 

 7. Lodge all original depositions with the courtroom clerk on the first day of trial. 

 8. Sign jury stipulation. 

 9. All depositions, documents, exhibits and other items lodged with the court must be removed from the courtroom by 

counsel lodging same upon conclusion of proceedings. 

 10. With regard to messages for counsel during trial, calls to the courtroom should be limited only to urgent messages. 

Counsel should arrange to check in with their offices during breaks. 
 P. PROCEDURES REGARDING COURT REPORTERS. 
  1. Side bench conferences with the reporter are not favored. Such conferences consume undue amounts of time and 
interrupt the continuity of the trial. The record is available for proceedings outside the presence of the jury during recess. 
  2. "On and off" the record -- the reporter will respond only to instructions of the court relative to going "on and off" the 
record. 
  3. Maintain a record of the question and answer that ends each session or inquire of the reporter before the succeeding 
session.. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2014) 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

CITATIONS OF AUTHORITY 
 

JONES v. SMITH 
((1991) 100 Ca.3d O.) 

 

 
Request by Plaintiff 
 

  
Requested by Defendant 

  
Requested by 

 

 
Given as Requested 
 

  
Given as Modified 

  
Given Court's Motion 

 

 
Refused 
 

  

 
Withdrawn 

  
Judge 
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CHAPTER 9 

FAMILY LAW RULES/GENERAL RULES 
 

RULE 9.00 APPLICATION 
 To assist counsel in family law cases by providing uniform local rules governing these cases, the Superior Court of Ventura 
County hereby adopts these family law local rules for Ventura County. These rules are and shall be considered as orders of the 
court to all parties and counsel appearing in Ventura County Superior Court family law matters. 
 In addition to these local rules, it is expected that counsel will be familiar with the Family Law Code (effective January 1, 
1994) the Family Law Rules (California Rules of Court, rule 5.1 et seq.) and such other provisions of law as may be applicable 
to a particular case. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 9.01 MATTERS ASSIGNED TO THE FAMILY LAW DEPARTMENT 
 All proceedings filed in the following matters are assigned to the Family Law Department, to be governed by these family 
law rules: 
 A. Proceedings related to the dissolution, nullity or legal separation of partners of a domestic partnership. 
 B. Matters arising from the Family Law Act, including cases where the District Attorney appears on behalf of Ventura 
County or any other party; 
 C. Matters arising from the Uniform Divorce Recognition Act; 
 D. Matters arising from the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act; 
 E. Matters arising from the Uniform Parentage Act; 
 F. Matters arising from Family Codes §§4900 through 4978 (UIFSA); 
 G. Matters arising from Family Code §3900 (support of adult children or parents); 
 H. Post-dissolution judgment actions involving omitted or reserved property issues; and 
 I. Non-marital property right actions consolidated with Family Law Act or Uniform Parentage Act proceedings. 
 J. Matters arising from the Domestic Violence Prevention Act, Family Code §6200 et seq. 
 K. Requests for Order Prohibiting Civil Harassment. 
 L. Matters arising from Domestic Partnership Act. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2006) 
 
RULE 9.02 COMPLIANCE WITH RULES - SANCTIONS 
 The rules set forth in the following general rules governing the operation of this court apply unless there is a specific family 
law rule covering the same matter, in which case the family law rule applies. Strict compliance with these family law rules is 
necessary to the expeditious resolution of family law matters and is therefore mandated for all participants. A failure by counsel 
or a party to comply with these rules may be cause for imposition of sanctions payable to the court, the aggrieved party, or 
counsel, reasonable expenses, including reasonable attorney fees and costs, payable to the aggrieved party, or counsel and/or 
ordering a matter off calendar and/or dismissal of the action or proceeding or any part thereof. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 9.03 FAMILY LAW VERTICAL CASE MANAGEMENT 
 A. In case of multiple files involving the same, or essentially the same litigants, the lowest number file shall control for 
purposes of assigning the matters to a department, except that when there is a domestic violence action and a dissolution action 
or a non-governmental paternity file, in which case the assignment shall be controlled by the dissolution case number. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2012) 
 

RULE 9.03.1 FAMILY LAW CASE RESOLUTION 
 A. All dissolution, legal separation, nullity and parentage cases shall be set for a status conference no later than 180 days 
from the date of filing of the Petition. Additional status conferences will be set every 180 days or less, as determined by the 
court, until the case reaches final disposition. If, after 18 months, both parties have failed to participate in the case resolution 
process as determined by the court, no further hearings will be set except at the discretion of the court until such time as the case 
qualifies for dismissal pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §583.210 or §583.310. 
 B. The goal of the Family Centered Case Resolution process is to finalize dispositions as set forth in California Rules of 
Court, rule 5.83. 
 C. Cases involving self-represented litigants shall be referred to the Family Law Facilitator to assist in complying with the 
case resolution process. Written material as required by California Rules of Court, rule 5.83(g) shall be provided by the Clerk 
upon filing of first papers in dissolution, legal separation, nullity, or parentage actions. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2016) 
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RULE 9.03.2 SERVICE OF PROCESS 
 In all cases wherein personal service is required, service may be accomplished in any manner provided for service of process 
in civil actions, generally, CCP §415.10 et seq. In addition, where the respondent’s whereabouts are unknown, and the petitioner 
has used reasonable diligence to attempt to locate respondent, service may be accomplished by posting, pursuant to CCP  
§413.30, if the petitioner is indigent and therefore has no ability to serve by publication. Proof of indigence will be found by 
having a valid fee waiver order on file. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013.) 
 

FAMILY LAW RULES- 

LAW AND MOTION 
 
RULE 9.04 FAMILY LAW EX PARTE MATTERS 
 EX PARTE APPLICATIONS DISFAVORED 
 Ex parte applications are strongly disfavored. Whenever possible, in lieu of an ex parte order, the court will issue orders 
shortening time and set the matter for full hearing at the regular family law and motion calendar. However, orders shortening 
time are also disfavored, and must be supported by a substantial showing of need. 
 (Revised effective July 1, 2016) 
 
RULE 9.05 DATES AND TIMES FOR HEARINGS 
 An ex parte hearing is required for all ex parte applications unless excused under rule 9.06B. Specific dates and times for ex 
parte hearings may be obtained by telephonic request to the Judicial Secretary of the appropriate courtroom. Ex Parte matters 
may also be handled as a “walk-through” without a set time arranged in advance, with appropriate notice as set forth in Rule 
9.06.A. However, in domestic violence cases, the court, upon a showing of good cause, may grant leave for an earlier hearing. 
For all matters on which a hearing is not required, the application shall be submitted to the Judicial Assistant/Courtroom Clerk. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 9.06 NOTICE 
 A. NOTICE REQUIREMENT. 
 Except as provided in Family Code §6300 and Code of Civil Procedure §527.6, a party seeking an ex parte order shall give 
notice to all parties pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 5.167 and serve papers pursuant to rule 5.167(a) absent a 
declaration showing exceptional circumstances why notice should not be given. The notice shall include, with specificity, the 
relief requested, and the date, time and courtroom where the Ex Parte request will be presented. 
 B. EXCEPTIONS TO NOTICE REQUIREMENT. 
  1. The notice required by CRC Rule 5.167 may be excused upon establishing to the satisfaction of the court the following 
facts by declaration: (1) the giving of such notice would frustrate the very purpose of the order sought and lead the applicant to 
suffer immediate and irreparable injury; or (2) the giving of such notice is not possible, following a good faith attempt. 
  2. A hearing is not required and notice need not be given for applications seeking: (1) to have an order or judgment signed, 
where the responding party has approved the same; (2) to have an order or judgment signed where a default proceeding was the 
basis upon which the order or judgment was made; (3) issuance of an Order to Show Cause ("OSC") which does not request 
relief pending the hearing; (4) re-issuance of an OSC; (5) a wage assignment after issuance of a support order; (6) approval of an 
in forma pauperis fee waiver application; or (7) restoration of a former name after entry of judgment. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 9.07 SERVICE AND FILING OF PLEADINGS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2001) 
 
RULE 9.08 REQUIRED PLEADINGS 
 A. EX PARTE APPLICATION/ 
DECLARATION. 
  1. Declaration re Notice. All ex parte applications shall be accompanied by a Declaration Re Ex-Parte Notice (VN028) or 
by other declaration which states with specificity the name of the party noticed, the manner in which notice was given, the relief 
being sought and the date, time and location of the hearing or a declaration as to the exceptional circumstances why notice was 
not given. 
  2. Evidentiary Requirements. Declarations must contain facts to support requests for ex parte orders. Conclusions, 
feelings, wishes or fears will not adequately support an ex parte order. All declarations shall contain sufficient factual 
information within the personal knowledge of the declarant to adequately support the relief requested. The court will consider 
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only those issues factually supported by declarations. If there is an insufficient factual showing to justify a particular order, the 
order will not be granted. Evidentiary deficiencies cannot be corrected by verbal statements to the court. 
  3. Nature of Request. The declarations shall contain facts that demonstrate why the matter is appropriately handled as an 
ex parte matter, as opposed to being heard on the court's law and motion calendar (with or without an order shortening time). 
Seeking ex parte relief in the absence of good cause may result in sanctions being imposed. The filing of an application for ex 
parte relief shall be deemed a waiver of any right to further notice prior to the imposition of sanctions. 
  4. Disclosure of Status Quo. There is an absolute duty to disclose the fact that a requested ex parte order will result in a 
change of the status quo. Absent such disclosure, attorneys' fees and costs incurred to reinstate the status quo may be awarded. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2006) 
 
RULE 9.09 SPECIFIC EX PARTE ORDERS 
 A. TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDERS ("TRO’S") – DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 
 When seeking TRO’S, the current forms adopted by the Judicial Council shall be used. These forms are the specialized 
Domestic Violence Forms including DV-100, DV-110 and other applicable Domestic Violence forms. 
 B. EX PARTE RESIDENCE EXCLUSION ORDERS – DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 
 Ex Parte Residence Exclusion Orders will not be issued unless there is a clear showing of assault against or threats to assault 
the party seeking protection, a person under the control of the party seeking protection, or of a minor child of the parties or party, 
and that physical or emotional harm would otherwise result. This showing shall include a full description, in detail, of the most 
recent instance(s) of actual assault or threats to assault, disposition toward violence, intoxication or use of drugs or other such 
facts, and shall specify the date of each occurrence. The parties are referred to Family Code §6321 for other requirements. 
 C. STAY AWAY ORDERS – DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 
 Requests for orders requiring a party to stay away from the other party’s residence, place of business, or child’s school, shall 
indicate whether the party to be restrained is residing in the residence or has moved and the date he or she moved, and whether 
the order requested would be problematic due to the fact that both parties work at the same place or have good cause to go to the 
child’s school. 
 D. CUSTODY/VISITATION ORDERS 
 A party requesting an order establishing or modifying custody or visitation shall, by declarations, establish the following: (1) 
the provisions of any existing order; (2) the actual current custody arrangement; (3) the requested relief; (4) the immediate harm 
or irreparable injury; and (5) the status of any referral to Child Protective Services or law enforcement. 
 E. CIVIL HARASSMENT RESTRAINING ORDERS 
 When seeking civil harassment TRO's, the current forms adopted by the Judicial Council shall be used. These forms include 
CH-100, Request for Orders to Stop Harassment (Civil Harassment) and CH-120, Notice of Hearing and Temporary Restraining 
Order (CLETS) (Civil Harassment). A declaration in support of the TRO shall be included setting forth with specificity, the 
harassing conduct including dates, specific acts and words and any injuries suffered by the plaintiff. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013) 

 
FAMILY LAW MOTIONS AND ORDERS 

TO SHOW CAUSE 
 
RULE 9.10 CALENDARING 
 A. CALENDARING. Subject to the time requirements imposed by statute and these rules, dates for hearings on OSC’s 
and motions may be selected without "reserving" the date with the clerk. Available days for the family courts are Monday, 
Tuesday and Wednesday. Counsel is advised that the family courtstend to set on Tuesdays the majority of matters in which 
litigants are representing themselves. Counsel is further advised that the clerk’s office may set a maximum number of cases to be 
heard on any given day. If the maximum number has been reached, the next available date will be assigned. 
 B. REQUEST FOR PRIOR REVIEW OF PLEADINGS. 
 (Deleted effective January 1, 2008) 
 C. SPECIAL CALENDARING REQUIREMENTS. 
  1. When TRO’S are granted pending a hearing, the hearing shall be set within twenty-five (25) days of the date of issuance 
of the TRO’S. 
  2. If no TRO’S have been granted and mediation is required prior to the hearing pursuant to Rule 9.31, the hearing on 
custody/visitation issues shall be set after the mediation appointment. However, the hearing on financial issues may be set within 
the normal time limits. 
  3. If TRO’S have been granted and mediation is required prior to the hearing pursuant to rule 9.31, the hearing shall be set 
within twenty-five (25) days of the date of issuance of the TRO’S. At the time of the hearing on the restraining orders, any 
custody/visitation issues shall be continued until after the mediation appointment. 
 D. INTERPRETERS.   The court provides Spanish language interpreters for short matters heard on the Tuesday morning 
calendar and for Family Court Services’ mediations.   For any language other than Spanish or for a Spanish language interpreter 
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on any other day than Tuesday, a completed form VN250 “Request for Interpreter Services” should be submitted ten (10) days in 
advance of the hearing or mediation; or, if the matter is set less than ten (10) days prior to the hearing or mediation, at the time of 
setting.  All requests are evaluated in accordance with the priorities as set forth in Evidence Code §756.  If the court cannot 
accommodate a party’s request, the Interpreter’s Office will contact the party based upon the contact information listed on 
VN250.  It is the party’s responsibility to provide accurate contact information.  The party may be responsible for bringing 
his/her own interpreter if the court is unable to provide an interpreter based upon the criteria set forth in Evidence Code §756.  
All interpreters must be competent under Ventura County Superior Court Rules 20.01.   For any questions, the party should 
contact the Ventura Superior Court’s Interpreter Office at (805) 289-8799 or VCSCInterpreting@ventura.courts.ca.gov.  
(Revised effective January 1, 2016) 

 

RULE 9.10.1 REQUEST FOR ORDERS  

 All rules which apply to Orders to Show Cause(“OSC”) and Notice of Motions (“NOM”) shall also apply to Request for 

Orders (“RFO”). 

(Effective January 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 9.11 FILING AND SERVICE OF PLEADINGS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2000) 

 

RULE 9.12 HEARINGS 
 A. DAILY CALENDAR. Check-In. Courtrooms shall open their doors prior to scheduled calendar call for “check-in” 
with the court clerk. At that time, counsel shall inform the clerk if a conference with the court is desirable or if priority is 
requested. 
 B. MANDATORY SETTLEMENT ATTEMPT. Prior to the scheduled hearing, counsel shall make good faith efforts to 
resolve the issues pending before the court, to exchange all information required by these rules, and to delineate those issues 
remaining to be presented to the court at the time of the hearing. 
 C. TIME LIMITATIONS. The law and motion calendar is designed for hearings estimated to take no longer than 30 
minutes. If it is anticipated that a longer hearing will be required, participants shall so advise the court at the law and motion 
hearing. 
 D. PRESENTATION OF EVIDENCE. 
  1. Limitations on Oral Testimony. In granting or denying applications for orders, it is the court's policy whenever 
possible to determine contested issues based solely on the pleadings, admissible evidence contained in declarations timely filed 
with the court, and arguments based thereon. All declarations shall be received in evidence at the hearing, subject to legal 
objections and cross examination. 
  2. The court shall follow Family Code§ 217 and California Rules of Court, rule 5.113 when deciding to receive or refuse 
live testimony at hearings on any order to show cause, notice of motion or request for orders.  
  
 E. STIPULATED CONTINUANCES OF HEARINGS. 
  1. If the parties stipulate to a continuance of a hearing, the parties shall immediately advise the secretary of the assigned 
family law judge by submitting a Request for Continuance (local form VN230), signed by both attorneys/pro per litigants, via 
facsimile transmission or walk-through. The Request for Continuance must be submitted to the court at least two (2) court days 
before the hearing. The judicial assistant’s minute order memorializing the continuance will serve as the written record of said 
continuance. The fee required under Government Code§70677(c) shall be paid within ten (10) days of submission of the Request 
for Continuance. If the court date is being continued for less than ten (10) days, the fee must be paid prior to the new court date. 
  2. After one (1) continuance, as set forth in Local Rule 9.12.E.1 above, any further continuance of the hearing will require 
a showing of good cause by declaration for the continuance, and an order of the court. 
 F. STIPULATED CONTINUANCES OF SPECIALLY SET EVIDENTIARY HEARINGS 
  1. Motion or application for continuance of specially set evidentiary hearing. 
   a. Specially set evidentiary hearing dates are firm. To ensure the prompt disposition of family law cases, the dates 
assigned for specially set evidentiary hearing are firm. All parties and their counsel must regard the date set for a specially set 
evidentiary hearing as certain. 
   b. Motion or Application. A party seeking a continuance of the date set for a specially set evidentiary hearing, 
whether contested or uncontested or stipulated to by the parties, must make the request for a continuance by a noticed motion or 
an ex parte application with supporting declarations. No appearances are required for an ex parte application supported by a 
stipulation and supporting declarations, unless otherwise ordered by the court. The party must make the motion or application as 
soon as practical once the necessity for the continuance is discovered. Parties may use local form VN227, Application and Order 
for Continuance to request the continuance. 
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   c. Grounds for Continuance. 
    (1) A request for continuance made at least thirty (30) days before the specially set evidentiary hearing date may 
be granted only on an affirmative showing of good cause requiring the continuance. 
    (2) A request for a continuance made less than thirty (30) days before the specially set evidentiary hearing will not 
be granted except under extraordinary circumstances where there is no alternative means of preventing a substantial injustice to 
the parties. 
   d. Change of Specially Set Evidentiary Hearing Date on Court’s Motion. The court on its own motion may, if 
necessary, change the date of a specially set evidentiary hearing. 
 G. CONTESTED REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCES. Requests for continuances made at the time of the hearing are 
strongly disfavored. If a stipulated continuance cannot be obtained, a motion for continuance shall be made at the earliest 
possible time prior to the hearing. 
 H. PRESENCE OF COUNSEL. Unrepresented parties and counsel shall be present in court when the matter is called for 
hearing, unless they are engaged in another department and have so advised opposing counsel and the clerk of the assigned 
family law judge. 
 I. NON-APPEARANCE OF MOVING PARTY. If the moving party or counsel is not present at the time a matter is 
called, the relief requested ordinarily will be denied and any affirmative relief requested by the responding party ordinarily will 
be heard as an uncontested matter. 
 J. NON-APPEARANCE OF RESPONDING PARTY. If the responding party or counsel fails to appear at the time a 
matter is called, and valid proof of timely service is presented, the court will hear the OSC or motion as an uncontested matter. If 
valid proof of timely service is not presented, the court may continue the hearing to allow the moving party to submit such proof 
or may take the matter off calendar. 
 K. MATTERS TAKEN OFF CALENDAR. After service of the moving papers, no matter shall be taken off calendar 
without immediate telephonic notice both to the clerk of the assigned family law judge and to the responding party. Once 
responding papers requesting affirmative relief have been filed, no matter shall be taken off calendar without the written consent 
of the responding party. Parties may also take matters off calendar by submitting a Request for Continuance/Off Calendar (local 
form VN230), via facsimile transmission or walk-through. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2015) 
 
RULE 9.13 PREPARATION OF ORDERS AFTER HEARING 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2000) 
 
RULE 9.14 FORM OF ORDERS 
 A. All Findings and Orders After Hearing, Stipulation and Orders and all Judgments shall be submitted to the court in a 
legible form, either hand printed or typewritten. The court reserves the right to reject any documents that the court determines to 
be illegible. 
 B. Any document exceeding one page in length which requires the signature of the court, must contain, on the signature 
page, verbiage from the body of the document or the case name, the case number and the title of the document. 
(Revised effective July 1, 1997) 
 

FAMILY LAW - 

RULES APPLICABLE TO OSC'S ANDMOTIONS REGARDING CHILD, 

SPOUSAL OR PARTNER SUPPORT OR ATTORNEYS' FEES AND COSTS 
 
RULE 9.15 POLICIES AFFECTING SUPPORT COMPUTATIONS 
 A. INCOME-BASED COMPUTATIONS. Awards of child support and temporary spousal or partner support allocate 
the income of the parties in an effort to meet the needs of all parties, recognizing that, in most cases, there is not sufficient 
income to sustain either party at the same standard of living that existed prior to separation. Neither the current statute governing 
child support nor the Santa Clara Support Schedule for temporary spousal or partner support address living expenses. 
 B. COMPUTATION OF CHILD SUPPORT. Computation of child support will be strictly in accordance with state law. 
All orders for child support shall specify the amount of support for each minor child in accordance with Family Code 
§4055(b)(7). 
 C. COMPUTATION OF TEMPORARY SPOUSAL SUPPORT. Ventura County has adopted the Santa Clara Support 
Schedule for the purposes of determining the amount of temporary spousal or partner support. The amount of temporary spousal 
or partner support determined under the Santa Clara Support Schedule is rebuttably presumed to be correct. In calculating the 
parties' incomes and various offsets for the purpose of applying the Santa Clara Support Schedule, the court will apply the 
principles set forth in the state child support law. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2005) 
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RULE 9.16 REQUIRED SERVICE AND FILING OF INCOME AND EXPENSE DECLARATION 
 An Income and Expense Declaration must be filed by each party with either the moving or responsive papers when support or 
attorneys' fees are at issue. If a previously filed Income and Expense Declaration is alleged to be current and is to be relied upon, 
a copy must be attached to the moving or opposing papers. All blanks on the form must be completed. Notation such as “unk” 
for “unknown,” “est” for “estimate,” “N/A” for “not applicable” and “none” should be used to avoid leaving any item blank. If 
attorneys’ fees and/or costs are requested by either party, the paragraph pertaining to attorney’s fees must be completed. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2015) 
 
RULE 9.17 REQUIRED SERVICE AND FILING OF PAY STUBS. 
 Each party shall affix to his or her Income and Expense Declaration copies of his or her last two months’ pay stubs, or the 
most current paycheck stub if it includes the year to date gross earnings. If a Social Security number appears on the stub, the 
party may black out or otherwise redact the number from the stub. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2006) 
 
RULE 9.18 REQUIRED PRODUCTION OF ADDITIONAL FINANCIAL DOCUMENTS AT TIME OF HEARING 
 A. OBLIGATION OF EACH PARTY. At the time of hearing on any matter seeking child, spousal or partner support, or 
attorney fees and costs, each party shall have available the following documents to the extent that they are in the possession or 
control of that party. These documents shall not be filed with the court and shall not in any way limit discovery. 
  1. If the party is a wage earner or unemployed 
   (a) Copies of the last year’s individual federal income tax return, including all schedules; 
   (b) Copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms reflecting income received during the last 12 months if not attached to individual 
tax returns. 
  2. If the party is self-employed or holds a 30% or more interest in any business entity 
   (a) Copies of the last year’s individual federal income tax returns, partnership, corporate, or any other business entity 
returns including all schedules; 
   (b) Copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms reflecting income received by the moving party or the business entity during the 
last 12 months but not attached to individual tax returns; 
   (c) Copies of all periodic profit and loss statements and balance sheets prepared in the ordinary course of business 
either for the individual or for the business entity for the last twelve months. 
 B. SANCTIONS. Failure to produce documents in accordance with this rule may result in the imposition of sanctions or 
orders to pay reasonable attorneys' fees occasioned by the failure to comply. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2005) 
 
RULE 9.19 FAMILY LAW TRIALS 
 A. MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCES. 
  1. A Mandatory Settlement Conference (MSC) will be calendared by the court for all contested cases. The MSC shall also 
serve as a trial setting conference. A party may file a “Request for Mandatory Settlement Conference/Trial Setting” (VN086) to 
request an earlier date for the MSC. A counter request may be filed within ten (10) days after service. The MSC will then be set 
no earlier than the later date requested on either the Request or Counter Request. 
  2. All parties must complete and file the following five (5) court days before the Mandatory Settlement Conference: 
   a. Declaration re Final Declaration of Disclosure (FL-141) (Dissolution or Legal Separation only) 
   b. Current Income and Expense documents (FL-150) or Financial Statement Simplified (FL- 155), if support, fees, or 
costs are requested. 
   c. Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Statement (VN219) with: 
    1. Property Attachments: A Property Declaration (FL-160), a Propertizer™ or other equivalent spreadsheet must 
be attached to the Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Statement. If the parties are unable to agree on the contents of the 
attachments, each party may complete and attach the required document. 
    2. Disputed Issues: each party must attach a concise statement of legal and factual positions on all disputed issues. 
    3. Proposed Witnesses: The parties must exchange and file a brief statement identifying all witnesses to be called 
in their case in chief, what each witness will testify to and a time estimate of the direct examination of each witness. This 
statement is separate from any witness list required for trial. 
   d. The parties must file the Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Statement jointly unless there is a protective order 
in place. If the parties file the Statement separately, each party must attach a declaration explaining why the Statement is not filed 
jointly, or indicate that a protective order is in place. The Petitioner is responsible for coordinating timely completion and filing 
of the form. If petitioner fails to act in a timely manner, 
Respondent may do so 
  3. Parties shall immediately notify the court of settlement prior to the scheduled conference. 
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  4. If the parties stipulate to a continuance of a Mandatory Settlement Conference, the parties shall immediately advise the 
secretary of the assigned family law judge by submitting a Request for Continuance (local form VN230), signed by both 
attorneys/pro per litigants, via facsimile transmission or walk-through. The Request for Continuance must be submitted to the 
court at least two (2) court days before the hearing. The judicial assistant’s minute order memorializing the continuance will 
serve as the written record of said continuance. The fee required under Government Code §70617(c)(1) shall be paid within ten 
(10) days of submission of the Request for Continuance. 
  5. After one (1) continuance, as set forth in Local Rule 9.19.B.6 above, any further continuance of the Mandatory 
Settlement Conference will require a showing of good cause by declaration for the continuance, and an order of the court. 
  6. If the Mandatory Settlement Conference does not resolve all issues, the court will only set the matter for trial upon a 
showing that the case is ready for trial. 
 B. UNCONTESTED OR DEFAULT TRIALS. 
  1. Setting for Default prove-up hearing. Default matters may be set for prove-up hearing by submitting a Request to 
Enter Default (FL-165) to the clerk at the Family Law filing window and requesting a Default Hearing. 
  2. Documents required for Default Hearings: The following documents must be filed before or concurrently with the 
Request to Enter Default (FL-165). 
   a. If child support, spousal support, partner support, costs or attorney fees are requested, a fully completed Income 
and Expense Declaration (FL- 150) or Financial Statement, Simplified (FL-155) is required. If an order for division of property 
of debts is requested, a Property Declaration (FL-160) is required. 
   b. Proof of service of Summons. 
   c. Declaration re: Service of Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure (FL-141) (not applicable to Uniform Parentage 
Actions). 
   d. Declaration re: Service of Final Declaration of Disclosure (FL-141) or waiver of this requirement as provided in 
subdivision (d) of §2105 or in § 2100 of the Family Code (not applicable in Uniform Parentage Actions). Local form VN131 
may be used to satisfy the waiver requirement. 
  3. Proposed Judgment. On reporting to the courtroom to which a default matter has been assigned, counsel or parties 
representing themselves shall provide the original of the proposed judgment, including any marital settlement agreement, to the 
judicial assistant in the courtroom. The judgment shall be completed in full, with the exception of any child, spousal or partner 
support, or attorney fees, which may be addressed by the court at the hearing. 
  4. Uncontested or Default matters without hearing may be processed through the clerk at the Family Law filing window. 
  5. The following documents are required for default matters without hearing: 
   a. All of the documents listed in B-1 above. 
   b. A Declaration for Default or Uncontested Dissolution/Legal Separation (FL-170) or Declaration for Default or 
Uncontested Judgment (FL-230) for Uniform Parentage Actions. 
   c. Judgment (FL-180) or (FL-250 Uniform Parentage Action) with either a Settlement Agreement signed by both 
parties with the Respondent’s signature notarized or the appropriate Judicial Council forms attached. 
   d. Notice of Entry of Judgment (FL-190) with stamped envelopes addressed to the parties or their attorney of record. 
  6. The following documents are required for uncontested matters: 
   a. Declaration re: Service of Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure (FL-141) filed by each party (not applicable to 
Uniform Parentage Actions). 
   b. Declaration re: Service of Final Declaration of Disclosure (FL-141) from each party or waiver of this requirement 
executed by both parties as provided in subdivision (d) of §2105 of the Family Code (not applicable to Uniform Parentage 
Actions). 
   c. A separate written declaration executed by both parties that the matter may be treated on an uncontested basis or an 
Appearance, Stipulations & Waivers (FL-130). 
   d. A Declaration for Default or Uncontested Dissolution/Legal Separation (FL-170) or Declaration for Default or 
Uncontested Judgment (FL-230) for Uniform Parentage Actions. 
   e. Judgment (FL-180) with a Marital Settlement Agreement or Stipulated Judgment signed by both parties attached or 
Judgment (FL- 250) with Agreement or Stipulations attached for Uniform Parentage Actions. 
   f. Notice of Entry of Judgment (FL-190) with stamped envelopes addressed to the parties or their attorney of record. 
  7. If any party is receiving public assistance, that information shall be disclosed on the Declaration for Default or 
Uncontested Dissolution/Legal Separation (FL-170) or Declaration for Default or Uncontested Judgment (FL-230) and the local 
child support agency shall sign the proposed Judgment. 
 C. CONTESTED TRIALS 
  1. Purpose of Rules; Duties of Counsel. The purpose of these rules is to insure that contested domestic relations matters 
are thoroughly prepared and expeditiously tried, and to avoid using the trial itself as a vehicle for what should be pretrial 
deposition, discovery and settlement procedures. Counsel shall resolve as many issues by stipulation as possible. 
  2. Relief from Rules. Relief from the operation of these rules relating to contested trials may be had in appropriate cases, 
but only on motion and for good cause shown. 

http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn230.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl165.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl165.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl150.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl155.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl160.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl144.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl144.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn131.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn131.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl170.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl230.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl180.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl250.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl190.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl141.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl141.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl130.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl170.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl230.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl180.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl230.pdf
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  3. Trial Briefs. Trial briefs may be submitted to the court and opposing counsel as set out in California Rules of Court, 
rule 5.394. 
  4. Income and Expense Declaration. The updated Income and Expense Declaration for trial purposes shall have 
attached documents showing both the balance of each obligation at the date of separation and the date closest available to trial. 
Such documents shall have been filed and served at least seven (7) days prior to trial. Service by mail under this rule does not 
require the addition of five days for mailing. 
  5. Final Declaration of Disclosure Pursuant to Family Code §2105. Final Declarations of Disclosure shall be served 
no later than forty-five (45) days before the first assigned trial date unless mutually waived by the parties. Declarations 
Regarding Service of the Final Declaration of Disclosure shall be filed no less than seven (7) days before the assigned trial date. 
  6. Completion of Discovery. Unless otherwise ordered by the court for good cause, all discovery must be completed, as 
set out by Code of Civil Procedure § 2024.010 et seq. Discovery requests must be served early enough that responses will be due 
and depositions will have been taken by the cutoff date. Discovery requests that do not comply with these rules will not be 
enforced. 
  7. Motion or application for continuance of trial. 
   a. Trial dates are firm. To ensure the prompt disposition of family law cases, the dates assigned for trial are firm. All 
parties and their counsel must regard the date set for trial as certain. 
   b. Motion or Application. A party seeking a continuance of the date set for trial, whether contested or uncontested or 
stipulated to by the parties, must make the request for a continuance by a noticed motion or an ex parte application with 
supporting declarations. No appearances are required for an ex parte application supported by a stipulation and supporting 
declarations, unless otherwise ordered by the court. The party must make the motion or application as soon as practical once the 
necessity for the continuance is discovered. 
   c. Grounds for Continuance. 
    (1) A request for continuance made at least thirty (30) days before the trial date, may be granted only on an 
affirmative showing of good cause requiring the continuance. 
    (2) A request for a continuance made less than thirty (30) days before the trial, will not be granted except under 
extraordinary circumstance where there is no alternative means of preventing a substantial injustice to the parties. 
   d. Change of Trial Date on Court’s Motion. The court on its own initiative may, if necessary, change the trial date. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2015) 
 
RULES 9.20 FAMILY LAW FACILITATOR 
 A. Pursuant to Family Code §10000 et seq., the County of Ventura shall maintain an office of family law facilitator. 
Services provided by the family law facilitator shall include, but are not limited to, the following: 
  1. Providing educational materials to parents concerning the process of establishing parentage and establishing, modifying 
and enforcing child, spousal or partner support in the court; 
  2. Distributing necessary court forms and voluntary declarations of paternity; 
  3. Providing assistance in completing forms; 
  4. Preparing support schedules based upon statutory guidelines; 
  5. Providing referrals to the Department of Child Support Services, family court services, and other community agencies 
and resources that provide services for parents and children. 
 B. IN ADDITION, SERVICES PROVIDED BY THE FAMILY LAW FACILITATOR MAY INCLUDE, BUT 
ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE FOLLOWING: 
  1. Meeting with litigants to mediate issues of child spousal or partner support, and maintenance of health insurance; 
  2. Drafting stipulations to include all issues agreed to by the parties; 
  3. If the parties are unable to resolve the issues with the assistance of the family law facilitator, prior to or at the hearing, 
and at the request of the court, the family law facilitator shall review the paperwork, examine documents, prepare support 
schedules, and advise the judge whether or not the matter is ready to proceed; 
  4. Assisting the clerk in maintaining records; 
  5. Preparing formal orders consistent with the court’s announced order in cases where both parties are unrepresented; 
  6. Serving as special master in proceedings and making findings to the court unless he or she has served as a mediator in 
that case; 
  7. Assisting the court with research and any other responsibilities which will enable the court to be responsive to the 
litigant’s needs; 
  8. Developing programs for bar and community outreach through day and evening programs, videotapes and other 
innovative means that will assist unrepresented and financially disadvantaged litigants in gaining meaningful access to family 
court. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2012)  
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RULE 9.21 GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 
 If a party alleges that an unprofessional or inappropriate act has occurred on the part of the Family Law Facilitator during the 
course of providing assistance, he or she must first contact the Senior Family Law Facilitator to resolve any immediate 
complaints. If the party wishes to address the complaint to a Supervisor after speaking with the Senior Family Law Facilitator, 
the party may obtain a Complaint Resolution Form from the clerk in the Family Law Self-Help Center. The completed form 
should be returned to the court’s Administrative Office in Room 206 of the Superior Court. The Deputy Executive Officer in 
charge of the Family Law Facilitator’s Office shall review the form and decide the appropriate course of action to resolve the 
complaint. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2006) 
 

(RULES 9.22-9.29 – RESERVED) 
 

FAMILY LAW 

CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING COUNSELING 
 
RULE 9.30 GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 1. Mediation of disputes over custody, visitation, or both, is required by law and provided by the Ventura County Family 
Court Services section of the Superior Court pursuant to the provisions of Family Code Chapter 11, (Sections 3160 et seq.). 
Family Court Services also provides investigations pursuant to §3110 et seq. of the Family Code to help resolve disputes over 
parenting plans. Investigation is a separate function from that of mediation and may not be ordered unless an attempt is first 
made to settle a case through mediation. See Rule 9.36 and California Rules of Court, rule 5.220 for further information on child 
custody evaluations. 
 2. Additionally, the Ventura County Family Courts require parties involved in the dispute to participate in Family Court 
Orientation prior to any mediation. It is within the discretion of the court to reschedule the mediation, continue the hearing to 
which it relates, and make interim orders if either party does not participate in Orientation. There is no fee for Orientation. DO 
NOT BRING CHILDREN TO ORIENTATION. 
 3. In accordance with California Family Code §3183, where mediation has not resulted in a full agreement between the 
parties on all custody and visitation issues, the mediator may recommend the following: 
  a. A parenting plan, addressing issues of legal and physical custody, visitation or time share, and other orders related to 
the best interests of the child(ren); 
  b. More mediation time is needed (and, if agreed by the parties or ordered by the court, the mediator will make specified 
collateral contacts); 
  c. Appointment of an attorney to represent the children under Family Code §3150; 
  d. A psychological evaluation of the parties under Evidence Code §730; 
  e. An investigation or evaluation pursuant to Family Code §3110; and, 
  f. Restraining orders be issued to protect the well-being of the child(ren) involved in the controversy under Family Law 
Code §3183(c). 
 4. In accordance with the provisions of Family Code §3183, the mediation process will be referred to as ‘child custody 
recommending counseling’ (or ‘CCRC’), and the mediator engaged in that process will be referred to as the ‘child custody 
recommending counselor’ (or ‘RC’). 
 5. Absent full disclosure and written consent, a RC shall not participate in the mediation process if an attorney-client or 
psychotherapist-patient relationship or any business relationship exists or existed between the mediator and any party, counsel or 
witness. 
 6. There shall be no ex parte communication between the RC and the court without appropriate prior notice to both parties 
and/or their attorneys providing an opportunity to appear and be heard except as provided in the provisions of Family Code 
§216. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 9.31 MATTERS REQUIRING CCRC 
 Whenever a case involves a dispute over parental responsibilities or custody or visitation, the matter shall be referred to 
Family Court Services for CCRC. Except for temporary orders pending CCRC, the CCRC session must occur prior to any court 
hearing on the issues. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2012) 
  
RULE 9.32 SETTING A MATTER FOR CCRC 
 A. PROCEDURE. CCRCs shall be calendared at the time of the filing of moving papers requesting a hearing on a 
contested custody or visitation issue. At the time of filing, the requesting party will be given a CCRC/Orientation Appointment 
Sheet to be served on the responding party along with the moving papers. In addition parties shall be required to complete a 
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CCRC Intake Questionnaire. It shall be the responsibility of the requesting party to schedule the appointment, and to give notice 
to the other party or their counsel at least ten days before the appointment. The CCRC Intake Questionnaire form is available 
from the court clerk’s office. 
 B. It is within the discretion of the court to hear other issues in the same case prior to the CCRC. It is further within the 
discretion of the court to make temporary orders to insure that both parents have custodial time with the children, to address 
safety concerns, or to otherwise protect the best interest of the children pending CCRC. 
 C. If at the time of hearing a matter has not been to CCRC due to the moving party's lack of knowledge that parental 
responsibility or access was in dispute, or the parties being unfamiliar with procedure, the court may refer the matter to CCRC 
and continue the hearing in order to allow for CCRC prior to such hearing. The court shall also have the discretion to order 
CCRC the same day in an emergency or when it is deemed by the court that it would be a burden to the parties not to proceed the 
same day. 
 D. The assignment of any particular case to one of the RCs will be at the discretion of the manager or supervisor of Family 
Court Services. 
  If a party from a family whose issues have not been previously mediated objects to being assigned to a particular RC, 
the party or his or her counsel must make a request for a different RC to Family Court Services at the first possible date after 
having an opportunity to learn of the RC assignment. Such request will be honored only one time per party per family. Failure to 
make such peremptory challenge in a timely manner will constitute a waiver of that challenge. 
 E. If a party to a previously mediated matter objects to reassignment to the prior RC, that party, or his or her counsel, may 
notify Family Court Services of that objection, and request CRC, at the first possible date after having an opportunity to learn of 
the RC assignment. The CCRC will then be scheduled for co-CCRC, with the original RC and another member of the CCRC 
staff selected by the Manager or Supervisor of Family Court Services. The co-RC will observe, but not participate in, the CCRC 
for the purpose of assuring that it is conducted in a fair and appropriate manner. Failure to make such request for a co-CCRC in a 
timely manner shall constitute a waiver of that challenge. 
 F. Absent a court order to the contrary, children six (6) years of age and older who are involved in the controversy shall 
always be brought to the initial CCRC session. The court may impose sanctions for the willful failure to produce a child on the 
party who has the ability to do so. Children under the age of six (6) years of age and other minor siblings, need not be brought to 
CCRC unless Family Court Services specifically directs that they attend, or by order of the court. Children six (6) years of age 
and older shall also be brought to subsequent CCRC sessions unless otherwise determined by the court or Family Court Services. 
 G. If an interpreter is required to conduct the CCRC process, it is the responsibility of the party needing the interpreter to 
provide one. The interpreter shall be over the age of 18. A family member should not be used as the interpreter without the 
consent of the other party counsel, and the RC. The interpreter's role shall be strictly limited to that of interpreting, not offering 
opinions or suggestions. 
 H. In the discretion of (1) the court or (2) the Manager or Supervisor of Family Court Services (subject to review by the court 
prior to an evidentiary hearing), CCRC may not be required if one of the following conditions is met: 
  1. The same issue has been addressed in a CCRC session within the past six (6) months; or 
  2. There has been a previous CCRC in the case and the dispute involves only issues of logistics, procedure or if it 
otherwise appears that CCRC is unlikely to substantially assist the parties or the court. 
 I. The CCRC appointment may be advanced or continued, so long as it does not impact the date of the corresponding court 
hearing, by agreement of the parties and Family Court Services or by order of the court. 
 J. Except for good cause shown, the fact that the parties continue to reside in the same home shall not constitute a reason to 
preclude CCRC, if CCRC will assist the parties in planning for their separation. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 9.33 CCRC PROCESS 
 A. In all cases in which there is a dispute as to custody and/or visitation, the parties may stipulate to private CCRC instead 
of having the Ventura Superior Court Family Court Services Department conduct CCRC pursuant to Family Code § 3170. 
Should the parties elect to participate in private CCRC, they shall enter into a written stipulation. The form "Stipulation and 
Order for Private CCRC" shall be mandatory and may be obtained in the office of the Clerk of the Ventura Superior Court. Any 
private RC shall meet the minimum statutory requirements of a court RC. 
 B. Attorneys need not be present at the commencement of CCRC, but shall be available by telephone during CCRC and 
shall be present in the CCRC department for the last half hour of CCRC or at another time as directed by the RC. Attorneys are 
responsible for communicating with the RC at the beginning of the CCRC to determine the time when they will be required to be 
present. 
 C. In all court CCRCs, the RC shall, in conducting the CCRC, be limited to those documents timely filed with the court. 
 D. CCRC sessions are customarily conducted with only the parties and the children. The RC will interview children 
involved in the controversy when the RC considers the interview appropriate or necessary. The RC has the discretion to 
interview or include other immediate or significant family members if the RC believes that it will be helpful to resolution. The 
RC shall not contact any other source, except as permitted by California Rules of Court, rule 5.215 or to investigate concerns 
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relating to child abuse or neglect under Penal Code §11164 et seq., unless both parties and counsel, if represented, give written 
consent to the contact, or by order of the court. It is the responsibility of each party to arrange for proposed collateral contacts to 
be available by telephone during the CCRC appointment  
 E. Use of audio or visual recording devices of any type is not permitted at CCRC. 
 F. All cases involving allegations of domestic violence, shall be screened by a RC for determining the necessity for 
separate waiting areas for the parties, and separate CCRC sessions, to insure safety and facilitate the CCRC. 
 G. Support persons will be permitted to attend as provided by Family Code §6303. 
 H. The RC may meet with the parties separately or together in a joint session, in order to isolate the points of agreement 
and disagreement in an effort to settle the dispute. 
 I. Upon completion of the CCRC, the RC shall complete a Report of RC which will incorporate proposed orders for a 
parenting plan based on the parties’ agreement or the RC’s recommendation, and/or will inform the court of related information 
and/or the RC’s recommendations as to the need for orders relating to issues such as: 
  1. More CCRC time and/or collateral contacts; 
  2. A child custody investigation or evaluation of this family pursuant to Family Code §§3110 et seq.; 
  3. A psychological evaluation of the parties; 
  4. Appointment of an attorney for the child(ren); 
  5. The issuance of restraining orders to protect the well being of the child(ren). 
 J. Following the CCRC session, the RC shall meet with counsel and/or unrepresented parties. 
  1. If the parties have reached an agreement, the RC will review the terms of the proposed Order with the parties and/or 
counsel, obtain their signatures, and deliver it to the court for approval. 
  2. If no agreement has been reached, the RC will provide them with a copy and review the terms of the Report of the RC 
and proposed Order, and advise them that the RC may be called as a witness by either party, subject to the right of cross 
examination by the other. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 9.34 CCRC ORDERS 
 Stipulations and proposed orders which have been signed by both parties and their counsel shall be forwarded to the family 
law judge for issuance of the order. 
(Effective January 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 9.35 GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 
 If a party alleges that an unprofessional or inappropriate act has occurred on the part of the RC during the course of the 
CCRC, he or she should bring that to the attention of the court at the first opportunity. If time permits before a scheduled 
hearing, the party should communicate the allegations in a letter to the court with a copy served on the other party. The court, in 
assessing the complaint, may ask Family Court Services to evaluate the complaint and report back to the court. 
 The court will determine whether a new RC is to be appointed. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2012) 

 
 

COURT ORDERED CHILD CUSTODY EVALUATIONS 
 

RULE 9.36 COURT ORDERED CHILD CUSTODY EVALUATIONS 
 A. Court appointed evaluators shall abide by the requirements of Rule 5.220 Uniform Standards of Practice for Court 
Ordered Child Custody Evaluation in the California Rules of Court. 
 B. The court shall allow one peremptory challenge per party to a private, outside evaluator assigned to a case. If the parties 
are present for the appointment, a peremptory challenge shall be made at the time of the appointment. For parties not present at 
the appointment, a peremptory challenge shall be made within five (5) days after the appointment of the evaluator. Parties have 
no right to a peremptory challenge if an evaluator was previously assigned to the case. 
 C. Evaluators may petition to withdraw from a case by submitting a request in writing to the court and mailing copies to 
counsel for the parties. The request shall include the reason for the request and a status report on any action taken by the 
evaluator assigned to a case. 
 D. Grievance Procedure: If a party alleges that an unprofessional or inappropriate act has occurred on the part of the 
evaluator, he or she should bring that to the attention of the court by writing a letter to the court or through filing a motion. The 
court, in assessing the complaint, may ask Family Court Services to evaluate the complaint and report back to the court. 
Complaints regarding private child custody evaluators, who are not court employees, should also be directed to the California 
Board of Behavioral Sciences. 
 E. The evaluator may initiate an ex parte communication with the court to define the scope, process and methods of the 
evaluation only under the provisions of Family Code §216. 
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 F. All child custody and visitation evaluations shall be ordered by the court and evaluators will be appointed under 
Evidence Code §730. The court may elect not to consider evaluations which have not been approved and ordered by the court. 
 G. A copy of the appointment of the evaluator under Evidence Code §730 will be made available to the court assigned 
evaluator. A court-ordered evaluation may be limited in scope to the issues identified by the court. 
 H. The court relies on the judgment of its experts in making decisions about when, how often, and under what 
circumstances children are interviewed. The expert shall be able to justify the strategy used in any particular case. 
 I. Interviewing Siblings: The evaluator shall decide in his/her discretion whether interviews with siblings should be 
separate. 
 J. Any evaluation based on interviews with only one parent shall not include a recommendation regarding custody. 
 K. Except as otherwise ordered by the court in extraordinary circumstances, children will be informed that the information 
provided by the child will not be confidential. 
 L. Payment of the Evaluation: The court will order payment of the evaluation at the time of the appointment. 
 M. Any court ordered child custody evaluation shall be submitted to the court and counsel for the parties not less than ten 
(10) days before the hearing or trial. 
 N. "For assistance in obtaining the names of child custody evaluators in Ventura County, contact the Ventura County Bar 
Association - Family Law Section. The Ventura County Bar Association's telephone number is (805) 650-7599. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2007) 
 

(RULES 9.37 — 9.39 RESERVED) 
 

CUSTODY AND VISITATION 

PROCEEDINGS 
 
RULE 9.40 CONTESTED CASES 
 Interim Custody/Visitation Disputed Pending Completion of Mediation. 
 1. It is the policy of the court not to change the children's living situation during the pendency of custody and visitation 
disputes. Only under extraordinary circumstances will the court deny access of one parent to the children or change any child's 
principal place of residence. 
 2. Any application to change the child's living situation prior to full hearing shall include the following: 
 (a) the current court order, if any. 
 (b) the current child-sharing schedule or agreement, if any. 
 (c) any change in the child's place of residence in the past 120 days and the circumstances surrounding these changes. 
 (d) what time sharing program is proposed. 
 (e) the reasons for any proposed changes in the child's living situation. 
 (f) any other relevant information. 
(Revised effective July 1, 1999) 
 

RULE 9.41 FAMILY LAW COURT COMMUNICATION PROTOCOL 
 In hearing any case involving any issue of child custody or visitation, reasonable efforts will be made to determine the 
existence of any criminal court protective orders involving any party to the action currently before the court. 
 In any case in which the court is issuing a criminal protective orders, reasonable efforts shall be made to determine the 
existence of child custody or visitation order involving any party to the action currently before the court. 
 Upon a request to modify any custody and/or visitation provision of a criminal protective order, the criminal court shall 
consult with the issuing family law court prior to granting or denying the request. 
 

PROCEDURE FOR FAMILY LAW COURT COMMUNICATION 
 
 Requirement for issuing custody and/or visitation orders: 
 1. Upon referral to Family Court Services (FCS) for mediation and prior to issuing a report, FCS shall make a reasonable 
effort to determine if a criminal protective order exists involving one or both parents in a family law action. If a criminal 
protective order exists, that information, along with the terms of the criminal protective order, shall be conveyed to the court in 
the mediator's report. 
 2. The Juvenile Court, prior to issuing any order involving custody or visitation in a juvenile action, shall make a reasonable 
effort to determine if a criminal protective order exists for one or both parents in the juvenile action. 
 Requirement for issuing criminal protective orders: 
 1. Prior to requesting a criminal protective order involving victims and/or witnesses and defendants that have a relationship 
as defined in Family Code §6211, the District Attorney shall make a reasonable effort to determine if there exists any child 
custody or visitation order involving the parties to the action. The District Attorney shall verbally advise the criminal judicial 
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officer of the existence of any orders for custody or visitation at the time the proposed criminal protective order is submitted for 
approval and signature. 
 The criminal court may permit appropriate visitation between a criminal defendant and his/her children pursuant to civil court 
order, but at the same time provide for the safety of the victim or witness by ensuring that a criminal court protective order is not 
violated. 
(Effective July 1, 2004) 
 
RULE 9.42 SUPERVISED VISITATION MONITORS 
 As a convenience for the parties, the court will provide a list of persons or organizations that have requested inclusion and 
identified themselves as providing professional supervised visitation monitor services. 
 Any individual or officer or manager of an organization requesting to be included on the list must sign a declaration. 
(Mandatory Local Form) which certifies that: (1) they have read and understand Family Code §3200.5 and California Rules of 
Court, Standards of Judicial Administration standard 5.20; (2) the individual, or persons providing services on behalf of or by 
referral through the organization, will meet all of the qualifications and training requirements for professional supervised 
visitation monitors as stated in Family Code §3200.5 and standard 5.20; and (3) the individual, or persons providing services on 
behalf of or by referral through the organization, will comply with all of the standards, procedures, responsibilities, requirements, 
and other provisions of Family Code §3200.5 and standard 5.20. The signed declaration is to be lodged with the court by 
delivery to Family Court Services. 
 The list will notify recipients that the court does not confirm the statements in the declarations, and does not endorse, 
evaluate, or monitor the service provided. 
 Removal from the list may be made without cause, notice, or explanation. 
 The court will provide a copy of Family Code §3200.5 and standard 5.20 to parties who may be using the services of a 
supervised visitation monitor. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 9.43 PROCEDURES FOR THE REVIEW AND RESOLUTION OF COMPLAINTS BY PARTIES 
REGARDING THE PERFORMANCE OF APPOINTED COUNSEL FOR A CHILD 
 In compliance with California Rules of Court, rule 5.240(e), complaints or questions by a party about the performance of 
appointed counsel for the child in Family Law cases shall be addressed as follows: 
  1. Complaints or questions shall initially be referred to any agency or law firm appointed to represent the child. 
  2. If the issue remains unresolved, or if there is no designated agency or law firm, the party may submit the complaint, in 
writing, to the Family Law Supervising Judge. 
 The Supervising Family Law Judge may follow one of the following procedures. 
   (a) Conduct own review of the complaint or question and take appropriate action if required, or 
   (b) Refer the complaint to the State Bar. 
  3. This rule does not preclude any party from complaining directly to the State Bar of California. However, parties are 
encouraged to first seek resolution of the issue using the procedure provided above. 
(Effective July 1, 2011) 
 
(RULES 9.44-9.49 RESERVED). 
RULE 9.50 TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS IN ADOPTION PROCEEDINGS 
  1. PETITION TO DECLARE CHILD FREE FROM CUSTODY OR CONTROL/PETITION TO TERMINATE 
PARENTAL RIGHTS 
   a. A petition to declare a child free from parental custody and control and/or terminate parental rights may be, but is not 
required to be, filed in the same case as an adoption petition. 
   b. Any petition filed to declare a child free from parental custody and control and/or terminate parental rights must state 
in the caption the statutory grounds for the petition or alternatively, the petitioner may file Ventura Superior Court Local Form 
VN-239 “Statement of Legal Grounds for Petition to Terminate Parental Rights.” Failure to either state the statutory grounds in 
the caption of the petition or to file VN-239, will result in the petition being rejected for filing. 
(Effective July 1, 2011) 
 
RULE 9.51 PROCEDURE TO REQUEST WAIVER OF PERSONAL APPEARANCE AT ADOPTION HEARING 
 A. Petitioners seeking to adopt a child or an adult must be present at the time of the adoption hearing unless the court has 
previously waived the appearance. (See Family Code §§8612, 8612, 8613, 8613.5, 8718, 8823, 8913, 9007, 9324.) 
 B. Any party who seeks a waiver of personal appearance at an adoption hearing under Family Code §8613, 8613.5 or 9324 
must first obtain an order from the court waiving the appearance. If the party is seeking an order waiving personal appearance, 
no hearing on the adoption shall be set prior to obtaining a court order on the request to waive personal appearance. 
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 C. A party seeking a waiver of personal appearance shall submit to the court an ex parte application for an order waiving 
her/his personal appearance, admissible evidence to support that request, and a proposed order. 
 ... D. The court may grant or deny the application ex parte. 
(Effective January 1, 2012) 
 

CHAPTER 10 

PROBATE, - DECEDENTS’ ESTATES, CONSERVATORSHIPS, GUARDIANSHIPS  

AND TRUSTS 
 
 These rules supplement the Probate Code in a few particulars. Pro per parties and counsel are urged to consult the Probate 
Code and the California Rules of Court and to become familiar with the provisions that relate to their matters. 
 
RULE 10.00 PROBATE COURT PROCEEDINGS GENERAL RULES – DECEDENTS’ ESTATES, 
CONSERVATORSHIPS, GUARDIANSHIPS OF THE ESTATE, ONLY AND TRUSTS. 
 A. CODE CITATIONS.  Except for those filing using Judicial Council legal forms, all petitions, filed in each case shall 
cite on the first page, in brackets immediately below the caption, the code section(s) pursuant to which the pleading is brought. 

B. APPEARANCE.  
  1. TELEPHONIC AND VIDEO REMOTE APPEARANCE.  Except as required for “physical appearance” below, 
the court encourages telephonic appearances whenever feasible in matters which are uncontested; and in matters which are 
contested but not on calendar for presentation of live witness testimony.  The court further encourages the use of court-approved 
remote video appearances to augment telephonic appearances by attorneys or self-represented litigants.  
  2. NON-APPEARANCE. If a tentative ruling has been issued and no one appears in court at the time of the hearing, the 
tentative ruling shall become the minute order of the court, and the proposed order lodged at the time of filing of the petition will 
be signed to the extent consistent with the tentative ruling. There is no need to notify the court or its staff that any party 
“submits” on the tentative ruling. In the event a petitioner without prior opposition fails to appear in reliance upon a tentative 
ruling, and an unanticipated objector appears at the hearing, the matter will be continued to accommodate petitioner’s 
appearance to meet the objection(s). 
  3. PHYSICAL APPEARANCE. Absent prior approval of the court on a properly and timely noticed application, 
physical appearance in the courtroom of all counsel and all self-represented litigants is required in the following situations: 
   a. Scheduled contested evidentiary hearings; 
   b. Evidentiary hearings requested by the court, even where uncontested; 
   c. Petition to establish conservatorships or guardianships; 
   d. Petitions to terminate guardianships; 
   e. Petitions to confirm sale of real property; and 
   f. When the court expressly orders personal appearance by a party and/or counsel. 
 
 C. ORDERS.  
 1. Pre-Hearing Orders:  In all matters to be heard by the court, counsel or self-represented petitioners shall prepare, 
lodge with the court and served a proposed form of order, at the same time the petition itself is filed and served. 
 2. Post-Hearing Orders:   
  a.  There are occasions during a court hearing when the probate judge may specifically request a particular order of 
modification of an existing order and possibly additional verified documents in support of that order.  Such specifically 
requested documents will be electronically delivered in .pdf format as an attachment to electronic mail delivered to 
courtroomJ6@ventura.courts.ca.gov within 24 hours of the request by the court, unless the court has indicated otherwise.  Any 
such post-hearing electronic submission shall show upon its face an electronic copy delivered to all counsel of record and to all 
self-represented litigants who have formally appeared or requested special notice. 
  b.  The court’s electronic address is managed by the judge to accommodate the efficient ministerial e-business 
processing of court orders and is not to be used as a forum for legal argument.  Further, the court’s electronic address is not to be 
used to accept pre-hearing orders or any other document not specifically requested by the probate judge in open court at the time 
of hearing.  Documents or argument not specifically requested by the court, yet delivered to the designated electronic address, 
will be deemed a nullity and will be deleted without notice. 
 D. PETITION FOR EX PARTE ORDER. Ex parte petitions are strongly disfavored. If supported by a substantial 
showing of need in existing cases, the court may issue orders shortening time to set the matter for full hearing at the regular 
probate calendar. 
  1. The court will require the moving party to give at least twenty-four (24) hours telephone or facsimile notice or five 
(5) court days mailing notice of the nature of the petition to counsel (or in the absence thereof to the other interested parties 
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themselves) and those who request special notice, together with the proposed time and place of the hearing. No later than noon 
the preceding day before the ex parte hearing is held, moving counsel shall submit a declaration to the court setting forth the 
facts showing that notice has been given, or supporting the conclusion that notice should be waived for good cause. 
  2. The court will not receive live testimony or offers of proof from the moving party. All evidence from the moving 
party must be in writing and under penalty of perjury. 
  3. No written opposition is required. Opposition to the ex parte matter may be given by a telephone appearance.  4. 
An ex parte order will not be granted unless (1) an underlying petition has been filed or will be contemporaneously filed; and (2) 
the relief sought is supported by documentation under penalty of perjury. 
 5. As an exception to the above policies, funds may be ordered released from blocked accounts by ex parte petition without 
notice and without appearance, provided that the following information is included in the petition: 
   a. Overall size of the estate; 
   b. Amount not in a blocked account; 
   c. Amount of the bond; 
   d. Amount of the release requested; and 
   e. Itemized use of the amount to be released; 
   f. If any portion of the amount to be released is not covered by bond, the order must include a provision directing that 
the amount is to be expended only for the purposes stated. 
 E. VIDEO REMOTE TECHNOLOGY AT TRIAL. Whenever necessary to present testimony from a witness who is 
either too ill or infirm to appear in court, or who resides more than 50 miles away from the courthouse, the court encourages the 
parties to consider the use of video remote technology in order to present such testimony to the court for both direct and cross-
examination.  Objections to the use of such testimony must be constitutionally or technologically based. It is the responsibility of 
the party proposing to offer such testimony to assure sufficient bandwidth and audio-visual clarity to render the evidence the 
functional equivalent of live courtroom testimony.  No witness will testify solely by telephone. 
 
 F. PROBATE INVENTORY/APPRAISAL.   The court requires all appointed personal representatives to honor the time 
requirements of Probate Code §8800, et seq. with respect to the timely filing of an initial inventory and appraisal of estate assets.  
To accommodate this statutory time requirement, it is the personal representative’s responsibility to pre-check the “probate 
referee” box on any proposed order for probate if the probate referee will be required. 
 
 G. ANNUAL STATUS REPORTS.  The court requires all appointed personal representatives to honor the time 
requirements of Probate Code §12200 with respect to filing and hearing on any applicable one-year or 18-month status report.  
Absent a previously-adjudicated or then-pending petition for final distribution, the failure to have a status report timely filed, 
served and heard prior to the appropriate date will be ipso facto cause for the court to consider the possible application of 
Probate Code §12205 at such time as fiduciary and/or professional compensation is requested.  
 
 H. CONTINUANCES 
   a. The Legal Research section receives all of the probate files for calendared matters approximately fourteen (14) 
days preceding the hearing date. The Legal Research attorneys must be notified by telephone as soon as possible when a matter 
is to be continued or placed off calendar in order to avoid unnecessary review. Within this fourteen (14) day period, all 
continuances must be requested by a Request for Continuance (local form), a stipulation and proposed order, or a motion for 
continuance, not by an informal request to Legal Research. 
   b. All continuances or off calendar requests must be made by the moving or petitioning party, and must be with the 
agreement of the opposing party. A stipulation for continuance must be filed prior to the continued date. A "Notice of 
Continuance," not signed by both parties, has no effect. A non-stipulated continuance will be granted only on noticed motion, 
made on an order shortening time. 
   c. Once the matter has been reviewed by Legal Research, no continuances will be granted, except by order of the 
court. This applies even if a written stipulation is received prior to the original hearing date. 
   d. Once the matter has been reviewed by Legal Research, it may not be taken off calendar, except by order of the 
court, or it is otherwise certain that the matter will not be re-calendared. 
   e. When utilizing a Request for Continuance form, the moving or petitioning party must notify Legal Research of the 
requested continuance no later than when the Request for Continuance is submitted to the court. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2014) 
 
RULE 10.01 GUARDIANSHIP 
 A. GUARDIANSHIP PROCEDURES 
  1. INVESTIGATION 
 It is the policy of Ventura County to require investigation, pursuant to Probate Code §1513, of all petitioners for 
guardianship except upon judicial finding that good cause exists to waive the investigation. 
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 A copy of all filed documents shall be provided for the court investigator by presenting an extra copy of the filed documents 
to the probate clerk at the time of the filing of the petition. 
 The Investigation report regarding petition for guardianship of the person of a minor required under Probate Code §1513, for 
proposed guardians who are relatives of the minor, shall be prepared by Family Court Services and for a non-relative shall be 
prepared by the Ventura County Human Services Agency. The clerk of the court shall provide notice of the petition to the 
appropriate investigator upon the filing of all necessary documents. The completed reports shall include and discuss the 
information required under Probate Code §1513(a). 

 Upon filing of a petition to terminate the guardianship of a minor, the clerk shall set the matter for hearing. At the hearing, 

the court may grant or deny the petition or may refer the matter to the appropriate investigator for a report and recommendation 

regarding the termination of the guardianship and continue the hearing to a date when the report will be completed. When the 

guardian is a relative the matter will be referred to the Family Court Services for a report. When the guardian is a non-relative 

the matter will be referred to the Human Services Agency for report. 

  2. NATURAL, CUSTODIAL PARENT 

 A proposed guardian who is also a natural, custodial parent may request a waiver by the court of the appointment of a court 

investigator, probate officer or domestic relations investigator as provided by Probate Code §1513, prior to or after the filing of 

the petition for guardianship, by either an ex parte motion or notice of motion for good cause. 

  3. QUESTIONNAIRE 

 Proposed guardians shall submit a Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA), 

pursuant to Probate Code §§1510(f), 1512, and a "Guardianship Questionnaire", pursuant to Probate Code §1513, at the time 

the petition for guardianship is filed. 

 A copy of a birth certificate, custody order or declaration of a person present at birth, shall be attached to the questionnaire. If 

such records are not readily available, date of birth shall be proved by other evidence, such as school records. 

  4. RECORDS CHECK 

 Law enforcement and Children's Protective Services record checks will be conducted on all proposed guardians. 

  5. DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

 Prior to issuance of Letters, Guardians of the person of a minor and of the Estate are required to file with the clerk an 

acknowledgment of receipt of the duties and responsibilities of their office. (Judicial Council Form GC-248.) 

  6. COORDINATION OF PENDING CUSTODY PROCEEDINGS IN SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, 

COUNTY OF VENTURA 

 Where a petition for guardianship of the person of a minor is pending, and where it appears to the court that a custody 

proceeding concerning the same minor is pending in any other department of the Ventura County Superior Court, the Probate 

Guardianship Court shall coordinate the proceedings to avoid conflicting custody orders. The Supervising Judge of the Family 

Law Department shall resolve any conflict and determine in which court the combined custody/guardianship proceedings shall be 

held. 

  7. NOTIFICATION TO OTHER COUNTIES WITH CUSTODY PROCEEDINGS RE VENTURA COUNTY 

GUARDIANSHIP ORDERS 

   a. Where it appears to the court that custody proceedings exist for the same minor child in one or more counties other 

than Ventura, the Ventura County Superior Court will notify the other county or counties of the appointment of a guardian for the 

minor. 

   b. Parties contemplating petitioning for guardianship of a minor child in Ventura County when there are already 

existing custody proceedings and orders filed in another county are strongly encouraged to file their petition for guardianship in 

the county where custody has or will be determined so as to avoid the possibility of conflicting custody orders. 

 B. GUARDIANSHIP MEDIATION 

  1. GENERAL 

 The court may order the parties in any guardianship proceeding to participate in mediation with Family Court Services for the 

purpose of attempting to resolve any disputes, including custody of and visitation with the minor. Mediation shall be conducted 

in accordance with the laws, rules, standards, and procedures specified for Family Law custody and visitation issues, including, 

but not limited to, the provision of Family Code §3160 et. seq., California Rules of Court, rule 5.210 et seq, and Ventura County 

Superior Court Local Rules 9.30 et seq. If the parties are unable to reach agreement, the mediator shall submit a recommendation 

to the court and provide a copy to all parties who participated in the mediation. 

 C. EX PARTE HEARING FOR TEMPORARY GUARDIANSHIP OF A MINOR PERSON. 

  1. Ex parte hearings for temporary guardianship are not favored. In most cases where there is an objection to the 

guardianship, the court will consider the request ex parte only if the minor has been living with the proposed guardian. If a 

person believes a child is at risk of harm and the child is not in that person’s physical custody, then she or he should contact the 
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hotline for reporting child abuse operated by the Children and Family Service division of the Ventura County Human Services 

Agency. 
  2. The petition for appointment of a temporary guardian of a minor person may be brought ex parte, provided the court 

finds a good cause exception to the notice otherwise required under Probate Code §2250(e). Any party seeking an ex parte order 

appointing a temporary guardian must comply with California Rules of Court, rule 7.1012. To comply with California Rules of 

Court, rule 7.1012 a petitioner (the party seeking the guardianship) must file a Petition for Appointment of Temporary Guardian 

of the Person (GC-110(P)) or a Petition for Appointment of a Temporary Guardian of the Person and/or Estate (GC-110) and all 

supporting documents, which are listed in subsection 5 below. 

  3. If a petitioner is requesting a good cause exception to the notice required under Probate Code §2250(e), and is filing 

GC-110(P), it is recommended that petitioner submit Local Form VN234 APPLICATION FOR EX PARTE HEARING ON 

PETITION FOR TEMPORARY GUARDIANSHIP; ORDER. Otherwise, petitioner must include the information required by 

California Rules of Court, rule 7.1012(e) in the Petition. If a petitioner is requesting a good cause exception to the notice 

requirements under Probate Code section 2250(e), and is filing form GC-110(P), it is recommended that the petitioner submit 

Local Form VN234. Otherwise, the petitioner must prepare a separate writing that includes the information required by 

California Rules of Court, rule 7.1012(e). 

  4. The party seeking an ex parte hearing should call the Judicial Secretary for Courtroom J1 to reserve the next available 

ex parte hearing date.  Unless otherwise ordered, all ex parte hearings are heard at 8:30 a.m., Tuesday-Friday. 

 If the judge assigned to hear all Guardianships of the Person cases is unavailable, disqualified, or in cases of emergency, the 

application should be presented to the Supervising Juvenile Judge, who may handle the matter or assign it to another available 

judge. 

  5. A petitioner must complete and submit the following forms to the clerk’s office when requesting an ex parte hearing: 

  a. Ex Parte Forms: 

   i. Application for Ex Parte Hearing On Petition for Temporary Guardianship; Order (VN234) (recommended as set 

out in subsection 2 above) or a separate writing that includes the reasons for the request for good cause exception. 

   ii. Declaration re Ex Parte notice (VN-028). 

   iii. Proposed Order: (Optional Form VN-235).  

  b. Temporary Guardianship Forms: 

   i. Petition for Appointment of Temporary Guardian of the Person (GC-110 (P)) or Petition for Appointment of 

Temporary Guardian of the Person and/or Estate (GC-110). 

   ii.  Order Appointing Temporary Guardian (GC-140) 

   iii. Letters of Temporary Guardianship (GC-150) 

   iv. Consent of Guardian, Nomination and Waiver of Notice (GC-211) 

   v. Notice of Hearing (on Petition for Appointment of Temporary Guardian) (GC-020) 

  c. General Guardianship Forms: 

   i.  Petition for Appointment of Guardian (GC-210 (P)) or (GC-210) 

   ii.  Child Information Attachment (GC-210 (CA)) 

   iii.  Declaration under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (FL-105/GC-120) 

   iv. Order Appointing Guardian of Minor  (GC-240) 

   v. .Letters of Guardianship (GC- 250) 

   vi. Duties of Guardian (GC-248) 

   vii. Confidential Guardian Screening Form (GC-212) 

   viii. Information Release Authorization (VN-043)      

   ix.  Guardianship Questionnaire (VN-042) 

   x.  Release of School Information (VN-133) 

   xi.  Release of Medical Information (VN-132) 

   xii. Consent of Guardian, Nomination and Waiver of Notice (GC-211) 

   xiii. Notice of Hearing (on Petition for Appointment of Guardian) (GC-020). 

  6. Absent good cause, the above forms must be provided to the court prior to the ex parte hearing to allow adequate time 

for review.  Whenever practicable, moving papers should be filed by noon the day before the ex parte. 

  7. A party appearing at the ex parte hearing must serve the ex parte application and supporting documents or any written 

opposition on all other appearing parties at the first reasonable opportunity. 

  8. The petitioner(s) shall appear at the time set for the ex parte hearing and check in with the court bailiff or clerk.  

If no person appears opposing the temporary guardianship, the court may grant or deny the request without a hearing.  

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc110p.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc110.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn234.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn234.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc110p.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn234.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn234.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn028.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn235.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc110p.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc110.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc140.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc150.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc211.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc020.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc210p.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc210.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc210.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl105.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/fl105.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc240.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc250.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc248.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc212.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn043.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn042.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn133.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn132.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc211.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc020.pdf
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  9. If the ex parte application hearing is denied, the matter will be set for hearing on the petition for appointment of a 

temporary guardianship. The petitioner must give notice of the hearing as set out in Probate Code §2250(e).  

  10. If a temporary guardianship is granted ex parte and the hearing on the general guardianship petition is not to be held 

within thirty (30) days of the granting of the temporary guardianship, the court shall set a hearing within 30 days to reconsider 

the temporary guardian ship.  The petitioner must give notice of the hearing for reconsideration as set out in Probate Code 

§2250(f). 

    

 D GUARDIANSHIP STATUS REPORT 

 If directed by the court, a guardian of the person of a minor must file a Confidential Guardianship Status Report (Judicial 

Council Form GC-251). The first report is due as directed by the court approximately one (1) year after the initial appointment. 

Thereafter, additional reports may be due annually, as directed by the court. Failure to file the report as directed, may result in 

the court ordering the guardian to make himself or herself available to the investigator for purposes of investigation of the 

guardianship, or in the court ordering the guardian to show cause why the guardian should not be removed. 

(Revised effective July 1, 2014) 

 
RULE 10.02 CONSERVATORSHIP 
 A. PETITION FOR APPOINTMENT OF PROBATE CONSERVATOR 
  1. The petitioner is not required to submit an order appointing a court investigator pursuant to Probate Code §1454. 
There is a general order appointing the Ventura County court investigator as the investigator for the court in all cases under 
Division 4 of the Probate Code requiring appointment of such investigator. 
  2. The Petition for Appointment of Conservator (Judicial Council form GC-310), page six, item 11, should include the 
telephone numbers of all relatives within the second degree of the proposed conservatee or other names listed. 
  3. Prior to Letters of Conservatorship being issued, individual conservators shall purchase the "Handbook for 
Conservators", view the video "Understanding Conservatorships", and complete and file with the clerk of the court the "Duties of 
Conservator" form (Judicial Council form GC-348) and the court’s local form Confirmation of Viewing Conservatorship Video 
(VN-182). Private professional conservators as defined in Probate Code §2341 are not required to purchase the handbook and 
view the video in every case. They are required to show proof including the dates of purchasing the handbook and viewing of the 
video. If the handbook and/or video are revised or replaced the professional conservators will be required to purchase the revised 
handbook and view the revised video. 
  
 B. NOTICE, HEARING ON PETITION FOR APPOINTMENT 
  1. Upon filing a petition for appointment of a conservator, the clerk shall set the same for hearing and issue a citation. If 
service of the citation is incomplete on the return date, it cannot be perfected by continuance and completion of service except by 
issuance of an amended citation. In such circumstances the original citation shall be filed showing no service. Service of a 
citation cannot ordinarily be waived. 
  2. In order to eliminate unnecessary delays, upon filing a petition to establish a limited conservatorship, the attorney of 
record should set the matter for hearing forty-five (45) days after the filing date. The extra time is needed for the Regional Center 
to complete its required assessment pursuant to Probate Code §1827.5. 
  3. A declaration must be given setting forth the efforts made to locate the address and telephone number of any person 
entitled to notice for whom such address information is incomplete. 
 
 C. APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEYS FOR CONSERVATEE 
  1. An attorney for a conservatee or for a spouse alleged to lack legal capacity in a petition under Probate Code § 3100 
may be appointed where appropriate by the court on its own motion, by petition, or by an unnoticed, ex parte application by any 
interested party. 
  2. Unless sooner relieved, an appointed attorney will remain of record until the hearing on the final account. 
 D. COURT INVESTIGATOR 
  1. A copy of all filed documents shall be provided for the court investigator. The original documents and one copy shall 
be presented to the probate clerk at the time of filing. A continuance may be required if any of the required forms are not 
provided to the court investigator's office. 

  2. Fees for services of the court investigator shall be paid promptly upon completion of the investigation. In the case of 

an initial investigation, the fee shall be paid within 120 days of appointment. A petition for waiver of the fee shall be served upon 

the court investigator's office, and any order thereon waiving fees shall be considered valid for the duration of the 

conservatorship, unless otherwise ordered by the court. If any change in circumstance occurs, which materially affect the 

financial circumstances of the conservatee, such change shall be reported by any party or counsel for a party with knowledge to 

the court immediately.   
 E. PRIVATE PROFESSIONAL FIDUCIARIES 
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http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc251.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc310.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc348.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn182.pdf
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  1. A professional fiduciary is defined under Probate Code §60.1 and Business & Professions Code §6501(f). Professional 
fiduciaries appointed by the court under Probate Code §2340 must comply with all of the provisions and requirements under 
Chapter 6 (commencing with §6500) of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code and California Code of Regulations 
§§4400-4580. 
  2. All Professional Fiduciaries appointed by the Court are to comply with the applicable provisions found in the 
California Rules of Court, rules 7.1050-7.1063. 
 F. PETITION TO DETERMINE CAPACITY TO GIVE INFORMED CONSENT FOR MEDICAL TREATMENT 
  1. Hearings on petitions to determine capacity to give informed consent to medical treatment shall be set no earlier than 
forty-five (45) days after the filing date to allow time for the court investigator's report. 
  2. A declaration by a licensed physician, psychologist or psychiatrist who has examined and/or observed and evaluated 
the conservatee attesting to the fact that the conservatee is no longer able to determine his or her medical care shall be filed with 
the court. The declaration as to capacity of the conservatee shall be marked “CONFIDENTIAL”, filed separately (not as an 
attachment to the petition or any other document), and placed in the case’s confidential file. This declaration is in addition to the 
medical affidavit required attesting to the conservatee’s inability to attend the court hearing. 
 G. CONTINUANCES 
 When the attorney of record obtains a continuance in a conservatorship matter where the court investigator is completing a 
report, the court investigator's office shall be notified by the party requesting the continuance. 
 H. LETTERS OF CONSERVATORSHIP 
 If the letters of conservatorship are not filed within forty-five (45) days of the order appointing conservator, unless 
application for a longer period is made and granted, the conservator's powers will automatically be suspended and no letters shall 
be issued by the clerk until a further order is executed by the court. 
 I. CONSERVATORSHIP CARE PLAN 
  1. Within sixty (60) days after appointment, the conservator shall file a Probate Code §2352.5 care plan using either 
Judicial Council form GC-355 or Ventura Superior Court Local Form VN233. For a conservatorship of the person, the 
Conservatorship Care Plan will satisfy the Conservator’s duty to submit a written determination of the appropriate level of care 
for the conservatee under Probate Code §2352.5(b). The Conservatorship Care Plan is a confidential document and shall be filed 
in the conservatee’s confidential file. 
  2. If the conservator fails to timely file the Conservatorship Care Plan, the court will set a hearing on an Order to Show 
Cause (OSC) re dismissal of the conservatorship.  
  3. The conservator must give notice of the filing of the plan pursuant to Probate Code §1460 and may only distribute the 
plan to those who are entitled to the Investigator’s Report pursuant to Probate Code§ 1851. 
 J. STATUS REPORTS 
  1. Notwithstanding the repeal of the statutory requirement to do so, all conservators must file a status report after the first 
anniversary of the establishment of the conservatorship and biennially thereafter. Status reports shall be filed as separate reports 
to be included in the conservatee’s confidential file. 
  2. A Notice of Filing of Status Report shall be served on those parties entitled to notice and filed with the court pursuant 
to the guidelines in section 10.02(I)(3), above. 
  3. If the conservator fails to timely file the one year status report or any biennial status report, the court will set either an 
“Order to Show Cause” (OSC) re non-filing of status report or an OSC re dismissal of the conservatorship, depending upon the 
conservator’s history of timeliness and compliance with statutory and local care plan and status reporting requirements.   
 
 K. ORDERS FOR SUPPORT 
  1. Court approval ordinarily is not required to expend funds up to $4,000 per month for the support of a conservatee. 
Court approval should be sought to expend funds exceeding $4,000 per month for the support of a conservatee, especially if 
there is a probability that the estate will be entirely consumed by reason of such payments. 
  2. Prior court approval is required to expend money for the support of anyone other than the conservatee, such as 
maintenance of dependents of the conservatee and the payment of surplus income to the family of a conservatee. 
  3. Notice of hearing must be given under Probate Code §1460. 
 L. FEES 
 Probate Code §§2640-2646 govern the fees of the conservator and attorney. In addition to these statutory rules, the following 
apply: 
  1. In addition to a narrative of the services performed and value to the estate, the petition for fees shall set forth the dates, 
time spent, specific description of services performed and the hourly rate of the person(s) performing the services. 
  2. The court will review requests for fees on a case by case basis, considering the experience, knowledge, expertise and 
professional status of the conservator or attorney, as well as the difficulty or complexity of the case, responsibility assumed, and 
the urgency demanded. 
   a. Principles by which the reasonableness of the requested fees will be reviewed include: 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc355.pdf
http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn233.pdf
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    (i) Whether conservators have subcontracted for services that do not require their level of skills and which can be 
billed at a lower hourly rate. These may include bookkeeping, transportation and housekeeping. The appointed conservator shall 
be responsible to ensure that the sub-contractors have social security numbers, and are licensed and insured if operating an 
automobile during the course of their duties. 
    (ii) Costs for "overhead", including mileage, phone calls and photocopy charges, will not be found to be 
reasonable absent extraordinary circumstances. 
  3. In appropriate circumstances, particularly where all or a portion of the fee exceeds the cash on hand in the estate, the 
court may issue its order imposing a lien for fees on any or all of the assets of the estate, subject to liquidation for reasons other 
than satisfaction of the unpaid fee. 
 M. APPOINTMENT OF SUCCESSOR CONSERVATOR 
  1. The conservatee’s presence at the hearing for appointment of a successor conservator will not automatically waive the 
investigation if there is any opposition or other concerns surrounding the circumstances at the time of the petition. In cases where 
an investigation is required, the petition shall be set for hearing no earlier than forty-five (45) days following the filing in order to 
provide the court investigator with sufficient time to complete the investigation. 
  2. Judicial Council form GC-310 must be used in all petitions for appointment of successor conservators. 
 N. TERMINATION 
 When the conservatorship is being terminated for reasons other than death, it is recommended that the attorney of record set a 
termination hearing at least thirty (30) days in advance in order to allow time for a court investigator report. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2014.) 
 
RULE 10.03 PROVISIONS COMMON TO GUARDIANSHIP AND CONSERVATORSHIP 
 A. TEMPORARY CONSERVATORSHIPS AND GUARDIANSHIPS 
  1. Petition for appointment of temporary conservator. The petition for appointment of a temporary conservator may 
be brought ex parte, provided that the notice provisions of Probate Code §2250(e) are satisfied, either by giving notice or by 
submission of a declaration showing facts sufficient to allow the court to determine that good cause exists to eliminate or alter 
the notice requirements and provided that the following information is submitted: 
   a. The original and copy of the petition and proposed order; 
   b. A detailed statement of facts in the petition establishing the necessity for the temporary conservatorship;  
   c. An endorsed filed copy of the petition for appointment of the permanent conservator. However, if the attorney is 
informed that the petition for appointment of a permanent conservator will be contested, all known potential objectors shall be 
notified at least 48 hours in advance of the time and place the petition for appointment of the temporary conservator will be 
presented; and 
  d. A completed Confidential Ex Parte/Temporary Conservatorship Information Summary for Court Investigator 
(VN248).  
  2. Bond requirement for temporary conservator/guardians. Absent an arrangement consistent with Probate Code 
§2328 and acceptable to the court, the court will require a bond for temporary conservators/guardians of the estate. 
  3. Letters. Letters of temporary conservatorship/ guardianship expire on the date of the hearing on the appointment of 
the permanent conservator/guardian or thirty (30) days after appointment of the temporary conservator/guardian, whichever is 
later, unless the court extends the termination date pursuant to Probate Code §2257 (2)(b). 
  4. Appointment of Attorney for Proposed Conservatee. The appointment of an attorney for the proposed 
conservatee, shall be specified on item 3(I) of the "Order Appointing Temporary Conservator". 
  
B. BOND OF CONSERVATOR/GUARDIAN 
  In setting and maintaining bond, the court strictly adheres to the requirements of Probate Code §§ 2320 and 2321 and 
California Rules of Court, rules 7.204-7.207. 
 C. VOLUNTARY AUDITOR 
  1. Petitions for approval of periodic accountings and for fees may be reviewed by a member of a Volunteer Auditor’s 
panel. The auditor may review the petition and accounting for the following: 
   a. The timelines of the accounting; 
   b. The filing of an inventory and Appraisement and Confidential Status Report; 
   c. The balance of the Summary of Account; 
   d. The rate of depletion of the estate; 
   e. The sufficiency and validity of bond; 
   f. The income of the estate, including whether all income of the estate is shown in Schedule “A” and whether all bank 
accounts are kept in California accounts; 
   g. The disbursements of the estate, including the date, purpose and amount of each expenditure, and whether they are 
reasonable in light of the benefit to the conservatee/ward and/or the estate. The schedule of disbursements shall also be reviewed 
for any payments made to the conservator/guardian or counsel for conservator/guardian; 
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   h. Whether sales of property, if any, have been made appropriately; 
  2. The fees requested by the conservator/guardian, if any, and whether such fee request is reasonable, and whether the 
statement of services provided is sufficiently detailed. 
  3. The review of the volunteer auditor may give the petition an overall rating, and if any action is called for, will 
specifically address such deficiencies to be corrected by the conservator/guardian.  The report shall be reviewed by the office of 
the court investigator upon its completion, filed and served on all the parties.  The content of the auditor report shall not be used 
as a basis for the parties to take further action unless specifically directed by order of the court. 
 D. DEATH. Upon the death of the conservatee or ward, the conservator or guardian shall file a copy of a death certificate 
with the court within thirty (30) days. 
 E. FINAL ACCOUNTINGS FOLLOWING DEATH OF CONSERVATEE OR WARD. Conservators or guardians 
shall file a death certificate within 30 days of the death of the conservatee or ward. The final accountings, as required in the 
Probate Code, shall be filed within 90 days of the death of the conservatee or ward. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2015) 
 
RULE 10.04 PROBATE PROCEEDINGS 
 A. COPY OF WILL. Each petition for probate of a will shall have attached thereto a typed copy of the will. If less than 
an entire document is offered for probate, the petition, and the proposed order shall specify the material offered for or admitted 
to probate. 
 B. PROBATE REFEREES. Requests for appointment of probate referees shall be submitted to the Executive Officer and 
Clerk, together with appropriate forms of orders. The Executive Officer and Clerk shall complete the orders, entering the names 
of referees in accordance with an approved plan of assignment. Variance from appointment in accordance with the plan shall be 
made only by a judge. 
 C. PROBATE BOND.      Absent exceptional circumstances, the court will require full statutory bond of personal 
representatives residing out of state, as set out in Probate Code §8571 and  California Rules of Court, rule 7.201(b).  
(Revised effective July 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 10.05 ORDERS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.06 EX PARTE PETITIONS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.07 COPY OF WILL 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.08 BROKERS’ COMMISSIONS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.09 PROBATE REFEREES 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.10 CAVEAT 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.11 SUBMISSION OF ORDERS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 10.12 GUARDIANSHIP PROCEDURES 
(Deleted effective July 1, 1998) 
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CHAPTER 11 

CRIMINAL AND TRAFFIC HEARING 

CALENDAR PROCEDURES 
 

RULE 11.00 APPEARANCES (INFRACTIONS/MISDEMEANORS) 
 Arresting agencies accepting bail and releasing persons arrested shall fix the date of the appearance of the person arrested in 
the proper courtroom of this court.  In felony cases, the regularly scheduled arraignment shall not be calendared more than five 
(5) days from such release for felony cases, with the exception of non-custody felony cases with only one defendant may be filed 
within ten (10) days of arrest.  In misdemeanor cases, the appearance shall be scheduled not more than sixty (60) days (using pre-
approved appearance card).  Except for good cause shown, the person arrested shall be discharged and bail exonerated if the 
complaint is not on file in said courtroom at the time of his appearance therein thus fixed. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2014) 
 
RULE 11.01 BAIL, ALL REQUESTS FOR THE INCREASE OR REDUCTION OF SET BAIL (INFRACTIONS/ 
MISDEMEANORS) 
 When the bail has been set, all requests for the increase or reduction of said bail shall be made to the judge who set such bail, 
except as follows: 
 A. Bail set ex parte by any judge of this court shall be subject to modification by the judge before whom the defendant 
appears for arraignment. 
 B. Any judge of this court having a criminal matter before him or her for action, such as for preliminary examination, trial, 
or change of plea, may, upon motion of either the defendant or the People, modify the amount of bail then set. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 11.02 TRIAL BY WRITTEN DECLARATION (INFRACTIONS/MISDEMEANORS) 
 A defendant charged with any vehicle infraction other than alcoholic beverage infractions, is authorized to have a trial by 
written declaration as provided in Vehicle Code §40902. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 11.03 GENERAL RULE FOR PRETRIAL MOTIONS IN CRIMINAL CASES 
 Unless otherwise provided for in these rules all pretrial motions in criminal cases must be noticed in writing and briefed, 
served and filed in compliance within the time limits of Rule 4.111 of the California Rules of Court. This rule applies to both 
misdemeanor and felony cases. 
 Where pertinent legal authority comes to counsel’s attention after the filing of his or her brief, a supplemental brief should be 
served and filed where time allows. Where supplemental briefing is not possible, citations should be supplied to the court and 
opposing counsel as far in advance of the hearing as possible. 
 Any statement of legal authority upon which the party is relying, without written explanation in the body of the points and 
authorities as to how the authority pertains to the specific facts of this case, is insufficient. 
 The court may consider the failure without good cause of the moving party to serve and file timely points and authorities 
which conform to these rules as an admission that the motion is without merit. 
(Effective January 1, 2002) 
 
RULE 11.04 PENAL CODE §995 MOTIONS 
 Points and authorities in support of or opposition to a motion made pursuant to Penal Code §995 shall include the following: 
 1. A summary of the relevant procedural history and/or facts of the case with page and line references to any transcript or 
other document to be relied on at the hearing, except that the People may adopt the procedural or factual history contained in the 
defendant’s moving papers. 
  
2. A discussion of the issues, specifically identifying the legal and factual basis for the party’s position. 
(Effective July 1, 1998) 
 
RULE 11.05 PENAL CODE §1538.5 MOTIONS 
  1. In addition to the requirements of Penal Code §1538.5, moving papers shall include: 
   a. A summary of the relevant facts known or believed to be true, with an explanation as to the basis for such 
knowledge or belief. 
   b. An itemized list of the specific items or other evidence sought to be suppressed or returned. 
   c. A discussion of the issues which identifies the specific legal and factual reasons why the defense believes the search 
or seizure was defective. 
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  2. Responding papers to Penal Code §1538.5 motions shall include: 
   a. A summary of the relevant facts known or believed to be true, with an explanation as to the basis for such 
knowledge or belief. 
   b. A discussion of the issues, specifically stating the theory or theories on which the People are relying in justifying 
the search or seizure. 
(Effective July 1, 1998) 

CHAPTER 12 

JUVENILE CALENDAR PROCEDURES 
 
RULE 12.00 STANDING ORDER RE RELEASE OF JUVENILE DOCUMENTS 
 A. Pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code §827, juvenile records are, with statutorily created exceptions, confidential. 
The exceptions are created to promote more effective communication among juvenile courts, law enforcement agencies and 
schools to ensure the rehabilitation of juveniles as well as to lessen the potential for delinquency. 
 Upon petition, and a showing of good cause, the court may order access to confidential records to other persons. The purpose 
of this standing order is to grant access to juvenile records to persons who have a legitimate interest in the rehabilitation of the 
minor and the promotion of public safety, without the necessity of separately petitioning the court. 
 B. Juvenile court records include: 
  1. All documents filed in a juvenile court case; 
  2. Reports to the court by probation officers, social workers of child welfare services programs, court appointed special 
advocates, and mental health providers; 
  3. Documents made available to probation officers, social workers of child welfare services programs, and court-
appointed special advocates in preparation of reports to the courts; 
  4. Documents relating to a child concerning whom a petition has been filed in juvenile court, which are maintained in 
the office files of probation officers, social workers of child welfare services program, and court-appointed special advocates; 
  5. Transcripts, records, or reports relating to matters prepared or released by the court, probation department, or child 
welfare services programs; and 
  6. Documents, video or audio tapes, photographs, and exhibits admitted into evidence at juvenile hearings. (W&I Code 
827, 828; Rule of Court 5.552); 
 C. This standing order shall apply to all personnel of the Ventura County Sheriff’s Department, all other law enforcement 
agencies within the County of Ventura, Ventura County Probation Agency, the Ventura County District Attorney’s Office, 
Ventura County Children’s Protective Services, Ventura County Superintendent of Schools and all other persons or agencies 
who, at any time, have in their possession juvenile records. 
 These persons and agencies may release information in their possession regarding minors, without further court order, to the 
following: 
  1. The minor; 
  2. The minor’s attorney; 
  3. The minor’s parents or guardians; 
  4. Ventura County District Attorney; 
  5. California Bureau of Investigation and Identification; 
  6. All law enforcement agencies that require it for investigation and reporting purposes; 
  7. The administrator of any school in which the minor is enrolled or will be enrolled; 
  8. Ventura County Probation Agency; 
  9. Children’s Protective Services of Ventura County’s Human Services Agency; 
  10. California Youth Authority; 
  11. Division of Juvenile Justice; 
  12. Any California court upon an order from that court; 
  13. Authorized court personnel; 
  14. Hospitals, schools, camps, job corps, ranches or placement agencies which require the information for the 
placement, treatment or rehabilitation of the minor; 
  15. Persons entitled thereto pursuant to Vehicle Code §§20008-20012; 
  16. The Ventura County Coroner’s officer; 
  17. Ventura County Behavioral Health; 
  18. Ventura County Public Health Services; 
  19. Referral agencies participating in the therapy, treatment or supervision of the minor pursuant to the terms of the 
minor’s dependency or wardship; 
  20. All California judicial officers having responsibility for the administration of juvenile court law with respect to the 
minor; 
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  21. All persons or agencies with whom the minor has been or may be placed for custodial care who require such 
information for the placement, care, treatment or rehabilitation of the juvenile; 
  22. Members of a multidisciplinary personnel team engaged in the duties described in W&I Code §830.1; 
  23. Court Appointed Special Advocate; 
  24. Any other person or entity if authorized by court order. 
 D. All county agencies and agencies contracting with the county for the treatment of juveniles are authorized to share 
information with each other as to such juveniles described by §§300, 601 and 602 of the W&I Code. 
 E. The information released shall be only that which is required by the recipient to perform its professional duties and 
services. However, in regard to the treatment of the minor, this shall be liberally construed. 
 F. The release of information described above shall be kept confidential and shall not be further released to any other 
person or entity unless they fall within the categories listed above. 
 G. Any requests for information to a person or entity not listed above shall be brought, before such dissemination, before 
the juvenile court for the County of Ventura and will be considered on an individual basis. 
 H. Any person or agency listed above is authorized to release information to identifiable potential victims or their parents 
or guardians that a minor constitutes a threat to their person or property. They may release the name and description of the 
minor, his or her whereabouts, and the nature of the threat toward the identifiable potential victim. 
 I. Regarding release of information to the press relating to minor offenders, all persons and agencies listed above may 
divulge: 
  1. Whether or not an arrest has been made; 
  2. The offense for which an arrest has been made; 
  3. The disposition of the minor by the law enforcement agency; 
  4. The plan to file or not file a petition and the charges alleged in the petition; 
  5. The order of the court to detain or not detain; 
  6. The date and location of the hearing; 
  7. The finding and disposition of the court. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2011) 
 

RULE 12.00.1 PROCEDURE FOR FILING PETITION FOR DISCLOSURE OF JUVENILE CASE FILE 
 A. Persons and entities not entitled to access to juvenile case files under W&I Code §827, subdivisions (a)(1) and 
California Rules of Court, Rule 5.552, subdivision (b) without a court order may request a court order by filing a petition for 
disclosure using the mandatory Judicial Council form JV-570. 
 B. To request a court order authorizing access to juvenile case files related to dependency matters, a petition for disclosure 
using form JV-570 shall be submitted to the juvenile dependency bench officer. 
 C. To request a court order authorizing access to juvenile case files related to delinquency matters, a petition for disclosure 
using JV-570 shall be submitted to the juvenile delinquency presiding judge. 
 D. If the petitioner is not aware whether the child is subject to the jurisdiction of the delinquency or dependency court, the 
petition shall be submitted to the presiding judge of the juvenile court who shall assign the matter to the appropriate bench 
officer. 
 E. Upon filing, each petition for disclosure shall be assigned a case number beginning with the letters JP and all documents 
filed in connection with the petition for disclosure shall be filed under the JP case number. Unless otherwise ordered, documents 
filed or lodged in the JP case file are protected from disclosure as a juvenile case files. 
 F. The judge presiding over juvenile dependency cases is, by standing order, authorized to rule on all JV-570 petitions for 
disclosure of dependency related juvenile case files. 
(Effective January 1, 2009) 
RULE 12.01 STANDING ORDER RE RELEASE OF INFORMATION TO ASSURE CONTINUITY OF CARE 
 Pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code §§827 and 5328 and Penal Code §§1543 and 11105, juvenile records are 
statutorily confidential. In order to assist in the rehabilitation of minors and to promote public safety, continuity of care for the 
minors is essential. To meet this goal for minors housed in institutions operated by, or under contract with, the Ventura County 
Probation Agency, or minors ordered into suitable placement, the following confidential information shall be shared, upon 
request, among the Juvenile Court, Ventura County Behavioral Health, Ventura County Public Health, the contract medical 
provider for the facilities, and the Probation Agency without further orders from the Juvenile Court: 
  1. Medication prescribed for the minor; 
  2. General initial and ongoing treatment needs; 
  3. General information pertinent to release planning. 
 This standing order shall apply to Ventura County Behavioral Health personnel assigned to juvenile justice. Ventura County 
Probation Agency personnel regularly or temporarily assigned to institutions, placement, or other juvenile assignments, medical 
personnel assigned to the facilities, and Ventura County Public Health personnel assigned to complete the health passport for 
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minors ordered into suitable placement. This standing order is in addition to any other individual or standing orders authorizing 
release of information not specifically covered by this standing order. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2002)  
 
RULE 12.02 JUVENILE DEPENDENCY 
 A. TIME-LINES AND PROCEDURES GOVERNING SETTLEMENTS, MEDIATION, AND DISCOVERY 
PROTOCOL FOR CONTESTED MATTERS. 
  1. Settlements 
 Upon the calendaring of a contested hearing, the court may, in its discretion, set each matter for a Readiness Conference as 
near the trial date as will most efficiently utilize the resources of the court. In addition, if it is the opinion of the court that a 
resolution is possible, the court shall also set the matter for a pre-trial conference. 
  2. Mediation 
 At any time prior to dismissal if there are issues of custody and/or visitation and there is no issue of risk of harm to the 
minor(s), the court may require the parties to schedule and participate in a mediation with Family Court Services. Parents and 
minor(s) six (6) years or older must, absent a court order to the contrary, attend the mediation. Mediation shall be conducted in 
accordance with the laws, rules, standards, and procedures specified for Family Law custody and visitation issues, including, but 
not limited to, the provisions of Family Code §3160 et seq. California Rules of Court, rules 5.210 et seq. and Ventura County 
Superior Court Local Rule 5.30 et seq. 
  3. Discovery Protocol See California Rules of Court, rule 5.546. 
 B. MISCELLANEOUS RULES REGARDING DEPENDENCY CASES 
  1. COURT FILES 
   a. Each minor child who is subject to a dependency petition shall be assigned a separate file number and a separate 
court file shall be maintained for each child. 
   b. Each new court file created as a result of a petition filed under Welfare and Institutions Code §300, shall consist of 
two (2) separate physical folders, the main folder and the Confidential and the Indian Child Welfare Act (“ICWA”) folder. 
   c. The confidential and ICWA folder shall be divided into two (2) separate sections, one section where confidential 
documents are to be filed, and one section where ICWA documents are to be filed. 
   d. The Confidential section shall contain documents that contain confidential information that should not be given to 
parents and/or children without a further court order, for example, proofs of service showing confidential foster care information, 
confidential caregiver information forms, and confidential de facto parent requests. The confidential section shall also contain 
any privileged information including psychological evaluation reports. The party filing a confidential document shall be 
responsible to clearly indicate it is a confidential document by stamping or writing in red ink on the front page “Confidential” 
unless otherwise required by law. No parent or dependent child, absent a court order shall have access to the confidential part of 
a dependency file. 
   e. The ICWA section shall contain all documents related to compliance with the Indian Child Welfare Act which shall 
be clearly identified by the party filing the document. 
   f. All documents not filed in the confidential and ICWA file shall be filed in the main folder of the file. 
  2. In order to protect the parties’ privacy and to prevent the inadvertent disclosure of confidential psychological 
information, psychological evaluation reports shall not be attached to a court report but shall be separately filed in the 
confidential part of the court’s file. A copy of the report shall be given to the attorneys for each party before the time of the 
hearing and the attorneys shall be responsible for the manner of disclosing the information to her or his client. 
  3. When submitting documents for filing, in cases involving multiple minors, parties shall submit one additional copy of 
the document for each additional minor named on any document submitted to the court for filing. The clerk will place the 
additional copies in each minor’s file. 
  4. If any party proposes findings and orders, the proposed findings and orders shall be submitted to the court separate 
from any attachments or cover memoranda. 
  5. If the court orders a party to prepare findings and orders, the party shall serve a copy of the proposed findings and 
orders on all other parties prior to the time they are submitted to the court. 
 C. GENERAL COMPETENCY REQUIREMENT OF COUNSEL WHO APPEAR IN JUVENILE DEPENDENCY 
PROCEEDINGS 
 All public agency and court appointed attorneys who appear in juvenile dependency proceedings, including counsel that 
represent children, must meet the minimum standards of competence set forth in the California Rules of Court. Attorneys who 
are privately retained by parents shall provide information to the court as requested regarding her/his competency to represent 
clients in dependency cases. 
 D. PROCEDURES TO SCREEN, TRAIN, AND APPOINT ATTORNEYS REPRESENTING PARTIES 
  1. All public agency and court appointed attorneys who represent parties in juvenile dependency proceedings shall meet 
the minimum standards of training and/or experience set forth in these rules. Each public agency and court appointed attorney of 
record for a party to a dependency matter pending before the court shall complete and submit to the court a Certificate of 
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Competency Form (VN012). Any public agency and court appointed attorney who appears in a dependency matter for the first 
time shall complete and submit a Certificate of Competency to the court within ten (10) days of his or her first appearance in a 
dependency matter. 
  2. Public agency and court appointed attorneys who meet the minimum standards of training and/or experience as set 
forth in these rules, as demonstrated by the information contained in the Certification of Competency submitted to the court, shall 
be deemed competent to practice before the juvenile court in dependency cases except as provided in subdivision 3 of this rule. 
  3. Upon submission of a Certification of Competency which demonstrates that the attorney has met the minimum 
standards for training and/or experience, the court may determine, based on conduct or performance of counsel before the court 
in a dependency case within the six (6) month period prior to the submission of the certification to the court, that a particular 
attorney does not meet minimum competency standards. In such cases, the court shall proceed as set forth in Rule D4 wherein an 
attorney fails to comply. 
  4. Any public agency or court appointed attorney who appears before the court in a dependency case who does not meet 
the minimum standards of training or experience shall notify the court to that effect and shall have sixty (60) days to complete 
the minimum number of hours of training required to fulfill the requirements of these rules. If the public agency or court 
appointed attorney fails to complete such training, the court shall order that certified counsel be substituted for the attorney who 
fails to complete the required training. 
  5. In the case of retained counsel, the court shall inquire at that time the attorney first appears as to her or his competency 
as defined under California Rules of Court rule 5.660(d) and this rule and whether a Certificate of Competency has been 
completed and submitted. If the retained attorney does not qualify as competent counsel, the court shall inform the client. The 
determination whether to obtain substitute private counsel shall be solely within the client’s discretion. 
  6. In the case of an attorney who maintains his or her principal office outside of this county, proof of certification by the 
juvenile court of the California county in which the attorney maintains an office shall be sufficient evidence of competence to 
appear in a juvenile proceeding in this county. 
 E. MINIMUM STANDARD OF EDUCATION AND TRAINING 
  1. An attorney who appears in a dependency matter before the juvenile court who completes a Certification of Court 
Competency must meet the following minimum training and educational requirements. 
   (a) Within the prior three years, participated in at least eight (8) hours of training or education in juvenile dependency 
law, which training or education shall have included information on the applicable case law and statutes, the rules of court, 
Judicial Council forms, motions, trial techniques and skills, writs and appeals, child development, child abuse and neglect, 
substance abuse, domestic violence, family reunification and preservation; or 
   (b) Have at least six (6) months of experience in dependency proceedings in which the attorney has demonstrated 
competence in the attorney’s representation of his or her clients in said proceedings. In the determination of whether the attorney 
has demonstrated competence, the court shall consider whether the attorney’s performance has substantially complied with the 
requirements of these rules, and the applicable rules of the California Rules of Court. 
  2. In order to retain his or her certification to practice before the juvenile court, each attorney who has been previously 
certified by the court shall submit a new Certificate of Competency to the court on or before February 28 of the third year after 
the year in which the attorney is first certified and then every third year thereafter. The attorney shall attach to the renewal 
Certification of Competency evidence that he or she has completed at least eight (8) hours of continuing training or education 
directly related to dependency proceedings since the attorney was last certified. Evidence of completion of the required number 
of hours of training or education may include a copy of a certificate of attendance issued by a California MCLE provider; a 
certificate of attendance issued by a professional organization which provides training and/or education for its members, whether 
or not it is a MCLE provider; a copy of the training or educational program schedule together with evidence of attendance at 
such program; or such other documentation as may reasonably be considered to demonstrate the attorney’s attendance at such 
program. Attendance at a court-sponsored or approved program will also fulfill this requirement. 
  3. The attorney’s continuing training or education shall be in the areas set forth in subdivision l(a) of this rule, or in other 
areas related to juvenile dependency practice including, but not limited to, special education, mental health, health care, 
immigration issues, the rules of evidence, adoption practice and parentage issues, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and 
Enforcement Act, the Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act, state and federal public assistance programs, the Indian Child 
Welfare Act, client interviewing and counseling techniques, case investigation and settlement negotiations, mediation, basic 
motion practice and the rules of civil procedure. 
  4. When a certified attorney fails to submit evidence that he or she has completed at least the minimum required training 
and education to the court by the due date, the court shall notify the attorney that he or she will be decertified. That attorney shall 
have twenty (20) days from the date of the mailing of the notice to submit evidence of his or her completion of the required 
training or education. If the attorney fails to submit the required evidence or fails to complete the required minimum hours of 
continuing training or education, the court shall order, except in cases where a party is represented by retained counsel that 
certified counsel be substituted for the attorney who fails to complete the required training. 
 
 

http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/local_forms/vn012.pdf
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 F. STANDARDS OF REPRESENTATION 
  1. Attorneys or their agents are expected to meet regularly with clients, including clients who are children, regardless of 
the age of the child or the child’s ability to communicate verbally, to contact social workers and other professionals associated 
with the client’s case, to work with other counsel and the court to resolve disputed aspects of a case without a contested hearing, 
and to adhere to the mandated timelines. 
  2. The attorney for the child must have sufficient contact with the child to establish and maintain an adequate and 
professional attorney-client relationship. 
  3. The attorney for the child is not required to assume responsibilities of a social worker and is not expected to perform 
services for the child that are unrelated to the child’s legal representation. 
 G. ATTORNEYS FOR CHILDREN 
 Appointment of counsel for a child who is the subject of a petition under §300, and is unrepresented by counsel is required, 
unless the court finds that the child would not benefit from the appointment of counsel. 
  1. In order to find that a child would not benefit from the appointment of counsel, the court must find all of the following: 
   (a) The child understands the nature of the proceedings; 
   (b) The child is able to communicate and advocate effectively with the court, other counsel, other parties, including 
social workers, and other professionals involved in the case; and 
   (c) Under the circumstances of the case, the child would not gain any benefit by being represented by counsel. 
  2. If the court finds that the child would not benefit from representation by counsel, the court must make a finding on the 
record as to each of the criteria in 1, and state the reasons for each finding. 
  3. If the court finds that the child would not benefit from representation by counsel, the court must appoint a Court 
Appointed Special Advocate for the child, to serve as guardian ad litem, as required in Welfare and Institutions Code § 
326.5. 
 H. COURT APPOINTED SPECIAL ADVOCATE AS GUARDIAN AD LITEM (WELFARE AND 
INSTITUTIONS CODE §326.5) 
 If the court makes the findings as outlined in F, and does not appoint an attorney to represent the child, the court must appoint 
a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) as guardian ad litem of the child. 
  1. The required training of CASA volunteers is set forth in California Rules of Court, rule 5.655. 
  2. The caseload of a CASA volunteer acting as a guardian ad litem must be limited to ten (10) cases. A case may include 
siblings, absent a conflict. 
  3. CASA volunteers must not assume the responsibilities of attorneys for children. 
  4. The appointment of an attorney to represent the child does not prevent the appointment of a CASA volunteer for that 
child and the courts are encouraged to appoint both an attorney and a CASA volunteer for the child in as many cases as possible. 
 I. CASELOADS FOR CHILDREN’S ATTORNEYS 
 The attorney for a child must have a caseload that allows the attorney to perform the duties required by Welfare and 
Institutions Code § 317(e) and this rule and to otherwise adequately counsel and represent the child. To enhance the quality of 
representation afforded to children, attorneys appointed under this rule must not maintain a maximum full-time case load that is 
greater than that which allows them to meet requirements set forth in D and E. 
 J. PROCEDURES FOR THE REVIEW AND RESOLUTION OF COMPLAINTS BY PARTIES REGARDING 
THE PERFORMANCE OF ATTORNEYS 
 Complaints or questions by a party regarding representation in juvenile dependency cases shall be addressed as follows: 
  1. Complaints or questions shall initially be referred to any agency or law firm appointed to represent the client. 
  2. If the issue remains unresolved, or if there is no designated agency or law firm, the party may submit the complaint to 
the Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Court in writing. The Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Court may follow one of the following 
procedures. 
   (a) Conduct its own review of the complaint or question and take appropriate action if required, or 
   (b) Refer the complaint to the State Bar. 
  3. This rule does not preclude any party from complaining directly to the State Bar of California. However, parties are 
encouraged to first seek resolution of the issue using the procedure provided above. 
  
K. PROCEDURES TO INFORM THE COURT OF INTERESTS OF THE DEPENDENT CHILD WHICH REQUIRE 
FURTHER INVESTIGATION, INTERVENTION, OR LITIGATION. 
 At any time following the filing of a petition under Welfare and Institutions Code section 300 and until juvenile court 
jurisdiction is terminated, any interested person may advise the court of information regarding an interest or right of the child to 
be protected or pursued in other judicial or administrative forums. 
  1. Judicial Council forms Juvenile Dependency Petition (JV-100), Modification Petition Attachment (JV-180), or a local 
calendaring and declaration form shall be utilized to inform the court and request direction from the court. 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jv100.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jv180.pdf


 Ventura County Superior Court Rules 

 

 

 

 45 

  2. If the attorney for the child, or a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) acting as a guardian ad litem, learns of 
any such interest or right, the attorney or CASA must notify the court immediately and seek instructions from the court as to any 
appropriate procedures to follow. 
  3. If the court determines that further action on behalf of the child is required to protect or pursue any interests or rights, 
the court must appoint an attorney for the child if the child is not already represented by counsel, and do one or all of the 
following: 
   (a) Refer the matter to the appropriate agency for further investigation, and require a report to the court and counsel 
within a reasonable time; 
   (b) Authorize and direct the child's attorney to initiate and pursue appropriate action; 
   (c) Appoint a guardian ad litem for the child, who may be the CASA already appointed as guardian ad litem, or a 
person who will act only if required to initiate and pursue appropriate action. 
   (d) Take any other action to protect the interests and rights of the child. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
 L. DE FACTO PARENT 
 The following provisions govern de facto parent request filed in dependency court proceedings, standings of de facto parents, 
and duration of status as a de facto parent. 
  1. Application for de facto parent status. 
   a. De facto parent status will be granted by the court only upon written request on the mandatory Judicial Council 
form. 
   b. Notice of the request and a copy of the request, unless confidential, will be given to all counsel of record by the 
clerk of the court. 
   c. Upon filing the request, the clerk shall forward it to the judge for consideration. 
   d. Any party may file a response to the de facto parent request. 
   e. In considering the request, the court may rely upon the contents of the dependency file, any report filed by the 
social worker or the CASA advocate for the child, and any other relevant and admissible evidence presented by the parties. The 
court may consider the declaration filed in support of or in opposition to such application. The court may summarily deny the 
request or set it for an evidentiary hearing. 
   f. An application for de facto parent status shall not, in itself, constitute good cause for continuing any other hearing in 
the dependency action. 
  2. Standing of a de facto parent 
 If the court grants the application for de facto parent status, the de facto parent shall have standing to participate as parties in 
disposition hearings and any hearing thereafter at which the status of the 
dependent child is at issue. 
  3. Representation of de facto parent. 
 A de facto parent may be represented by counsel at his or her own expense. A de facto parent shall not be entitled to 
appointed counsel unless the de facto parent makes an express request for appointed counsel and the court finds that the de facto 
parent is financially eligible for appointed counsel and that appointment of counsel would substantially benefit the resolution of 
issues before the court. No right to appointment of counsel shall exist for the purpose of making the application for de facto 
parent status. 
  4. Access to juvenile case file. 
 A de facto parent does not have automatic access to all documents in the juvenile case file or to all future reports concerning 
the dependent child, and is only entitled to obtain access to juvenile case file documents and information if expressly authorized 
by court order. A de facto parent seeking access to juvenile case file documents shall include that request in her or his de facto 
parent request when filed. 
  5. Duration of status as de facto parent. 
 De facto parent status shall continue only so long as the bases for granting the request continue to exist between the de facto 
parent and the child. De facto parent status automatically terminates upon the termination of dependency jurisdiction or upon 
order of the court. 
 
 M. DISMISSAL AND CUSTODY ORDERS – 
Subsequent Hearings 
 If a dependency case is dismissed with a custody order, at the request of any party, a hearing on an order to show cause to 
modify the custody order filed within one year of the dismissal of the dependency case may be heard by the judge who presided 
over the dismissal of the dependency case who may hear the matter as a family law case. 
 N. EX PARTE APPLICATIONS/ORDERS 
  1. An ex parte application to calendar a hearing or to obtain a court order may be made by use of the form entitled 
Calendaring Request and Notice; Supporting Declaration and Order or by an equivalent document which shall be submitted to 
the clerk. 
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  2. If the Calendaring Request is filed by a party to the case and it seeks a hearing within less than three (3) days, the 
hearing shall not be set or calendared without court order. If the Calendaring Request is filed by a party to the case and seeks a 
hearing three (3) or more days after submission, no court order is needed. If a non-party files a Calendaring Request, it shall not 
be set for hearing without a court order. 
  3. Advance notice to all other parties of the purpose for seeking an ex parte hearing shall be given and proof of such 
notice shall be filed at the time the Calendaring Request is submitted to the clerk. 
  4. The Calendaring Request and Notice; Supporting Declaration and Order form is not a substitute for a Welfare & 
Institutions Code §388 petition, a formal written motion, or supporting points and authorities. 
  5. Ex Parte Calendaring Requests may be used to request orders authorizing: 
   a. the minor’s travel, 
   b. termination of life support and do not resuscitate requests; 
   c. surgical or other medical procedures over the religious objections of the parents or in cases where the medical 
professionals refuse to perform the procedure without a court order; and 
   d. for other matters for which there is a need for immediate orders. 
  6. The following requests may be submitted without notice to other parties: 
   a. Orders for temporary removal of prisoners or wards and production as a party. 
   b. Orders for protective custody bench warrants for dependent children who have run away from the placement or 
whose whereabouts cannot be determined. 
   c. Orders to recall protective custody bench warrants. 
   d. Return on a protective custody warrant when the warrant requires the dependent child to appear in court after being 
returned to placement. 
 O. REQUEST TO CHANGE A COURT ORDER 
  1. A request to change a court order shall comply with all laws and rules. Absent a stipulation by all parties, the request 
must be submitted using form JV-180. 
  2. The request shall be submitted to the clerk of the court who shall forward it immediately to the dependency court 
judge. 
  3. The judge shall summarily deny the request, set the matter for a hearing on whether a prima facie showing has been 
made, or set the matter for an evidentiary hearing. 
  4. If the request to change a court order is set for a hearing, and if a party to the dependency case has filed the request, he 
or she shall be responsible to give notice to all other parties and to serve a copy of the JV-180 request on all parties. In all other 
cases, the clerk of the court shall give notice of the hearing and serve all parties with a copy of the JV-180 request. 
  5. The requesting party may propose a hearing date to the court at the time the request is submitted. The court shall be 
responsible to set the hearing date. 
  6. If the requesting party is seeking an immediate change in court orders pending an evidentiary hearing, that request shall 
be clearly stated in the JV-180 request. 
 P. VISITATION ORDERS 
 Unless specified otherwise by the court, the following definitions shall apply to visitation orders. 
  1. “Supervised” visits with the minor child require the supervisor to be present at all times during the visit and close 
enough to hear all discussions between the child and the visitor. 
  2. “Monitored” visits with the minor child require the monitor to check in on the visit at least every fifteen (15) minutes. 
  3. “Overnight” visits means up to two (2) consecutive overnight visits at a time. 
  4. “Weekend” visits means overnight visits on a weekend. 
  5. “Extended” visit means up to sixty (60) consecutive days and overnights, but shall not be considered placement. 
   Q. REQUESTS FOR PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATIONS ORDERS 
 The following procedures are in addition to the procedures that must be followed as provided in California Rules of Court, 
rule 5.640: 
  1. Social workers shall be responsible to submit to the court clerk completed applications using mandatory Judicial 
Council forms for psychotropic medication orders for dependent children. 
  2. The court clerk shall provide a copy to minor’s counsel who shall indicate agreement with the request by initialing the 
request. If minor’s counsel objects to the request the reason for the objection shall be discussed either with the social worker or 
the treating physician and if the issue cannot otherwise be informally resolved, minor’s counsel shall notify the court clerk, and 
the matter shall be set for hearing. 
  3. Upon submission of a medication request to the court to which minor’s counsel has agreed, the court shall rule upon 
the request, ex parte. If granted, the request and order shall be filed and a conformed copy of the order returned to the 
prescribing doctor and social worker by the clerk. 
  4. If the court grants the requested order but thereafter receives a timely filed opposition to the request, that matter shall 
be set for hearing. 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jv180.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jv180.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jv180.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jv180.pdf
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  5. If a request has been submitted to the court but not yet decided and the minor has already been prescribed the requested 
psychotropic drugs, the attending psychiatrist or physician may continue the administration of those drugs at his or her 
discretion. However, there shall be no increase in the previously authorized dosage without approval from the juvenile court. 
  6. Whenever a dependent child is moved to a new placement or to a temporary shelter and the child receiving prescribed 
medication, the medical or other supervisor at the new placement may continue to administer that medication under supervision 
of the medical staff or the child’s physician. No further order of the court is required and the child’s medication must not be 
abruptly discontinued for lack of such an order. 
  7. All orders authorizing the administration of psychotropic drugs must be submitted to the court for renewal no later than 
six (6) months from the date of initial issuance, following the ex parte procedure described in this rule. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 12.03 EMANCIPATION OF MINOR 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 12.04 COURT APPOINTED SPECIAL ADVOCATES 
  1. The court adopts the guidelines for the Court Appointed Special Advocate (“CASA”) Program as described in 
California Welfare and Institutions Code §100 et seq., and California Rules of Court, rule 5.655. 
  2. CASA of Ventura County (“CASAVC”) is the identified children’s advocate program for Ventura County. CASAVC 
and the juvenile court shall enter into a memorandum of understanding, which may be revised from time to time, to comply with 
Welfare and Institutions Code and California Rules of Court concerning the need for court approval of plans and procedures. 
  3. There is no required format for a CASA report. However, any report submitted to the court, shall identify the assigned 
volunteer (if any), the child and the case number and shall state the date the volunteer was assigned. 
  4. Only parties and their attorneys of record are entitled to receive the CASA report. 
  5. Reports are to be submitted to the court and served on the parties no later than two (2) court days prior to the hearing 
for which the report was prepared. 
  6. CASAVC shall serve the report on those entitled to receive it. 
  7. Appointment of CASA in Dependency Cases: 
   a. At any time after the filing of the petition, any party may request, or the court may make, an order appointing 
CASA in a dependency case. 
   b. A conformed copy of the order appointing CASA shall be delivered to CASAVC. 
   c. CASAVC shall be responsible to determine which CASA volunteer to assign to the case. 
   d. Upon the assignment of a CASA volunteer to a case, CASAVC shall notify all parties in writing of the name of the 
volunteer. 
  8. Order Vacating Order Appointing CASA 
   a. At any time, any party may request the court vacate the order appointing CASA. 
   b. A request to vacate the order appointing CASA shall be made on the record at a court hearing or in writing 
submitted to the court. 
   c. The court may vacate the order appointing CASA summarily without a hearing. 
   d. If not requested during a regularly scheduled review hearing, CASAVC shall be responsible to give notice of an 
order vacating appointment of CASA. 
  9. Dependent Child Who Becomes a Ward. 
   a. If a dependent child has been assigned to a CASA volunteer and that child is subsequently adjudged a ward under 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 602, the CASA volunteer may request the juvenile delinquency court to continue her/his 
appointment as the child’s CASA. 
(Effective January 1, 2013) 
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CHAPTER 13 

MENTAL HEALTH CALENDAR PROCEDURES 
 
RULE 13.00 PROCEEDINGS 
 The department designated to hear psychiatric proceedings shall conduct all proceedings in the following matters and such 
other matters as may be specially assigned to it by the Presiding Judge. 
 A. A proceeding of any kind for the evaluation or involuntary treatment of a person pursuant to Chapter 2 of Part 1 of 
Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code; 
 B. A conservatorship proceeding pursuant to Chapter 3 of Part 1 of Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code; 
 C. A proceeding arising from a petition for the commitment of an alleged narcotic drug addict pursuant to Article 2 of 
Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code; 
 D. A proceeding arising from a petition for the commitment of an alleged habit forming drug addict pursuant to Article 3 
of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code; 
 E. A proceeding of any kind for the commitment or placement of a person alleged to be mentally retarded; 
 F. A habeas corpus proceeding filed by or on behalf of any person being held by an institution, public or private, as 
defined by §7000 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, including all proceedings pursuant to Article 5 of Chapter 2 of Part 1 of 
Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 13.01 JURY TRIAL AND MATTER WHICH MAY BE TRANSFERRED 
 In a case in which the subject person is entitled to and makes timely demand for a jury trial the judge conducting the 
psychiatric proceeding may transfer the case to the Master Calendar Department. In a conservatorship matter, under section (D), 
supra, the judge conducting the psychiatric proceeding may transfer such matter to the department conducting probate 
proceedings if it appears that the matter involved does not have any aspects which make it desirable that it be heard on the 
psychiatric calendar. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 

CHAPTER 14 

APPELLATE DIVISION 
 
RULE 14.00 SESSIONS 
 Regular sessions of the Appellate Division of the Superior Court of California, County of Ventura shall be held on the second 
Friday of each month at 4:00 p.m. in Courtroom 22 at the Hall of Justice, 800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura, unless otherwise 
ordered. Special sessions shall be held at the call of the presiding judge of the Appellate Division. 
(Effective January 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 14.01 PROPOSED STATEMENT AND AMENDMENTS ON APPEAL - CRIMINAL CASES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 14.02 SETTLED STATEMENT HEARINGS - CRIMINAL CASES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 14.03 BRIEFS 
In criminal cases, no respondent's brief need be filed when appellant has filed a “no merit” brief pursuant to People v. Wende 
(1979) 25 Cal.3d 436. Upon receipt of a “no merit” brief, the clerk shall calendar the case for oral argument at the next 
scheduled session of the Appellate Division, and give notice accordingly. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 14.04 ORAL ARGUMENT 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2009) 

 

RULE 14.05 EXTENSION OF TIME - CRIMINAL CASES 
 A. Parties should consult Rule 8.810 of the California Rules of Court to determine the proper forum for an extension 
request. 
 B. Extensions will rarely be granted in the case of a pretrial appeal where the party also has a post-conviction right of 
appeal. 
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(Revised effective January 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 14.06 RELIEF FROM DISMISSAL 
 A. Requests for relief from default or to vacate a dismissal shall be accompanied by a declaration establishing good cause, 
and by a proposed order granting relief. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2009) 
 

RULE 14.07  USE OF COURT FILE INSTEAD OF CLERK’S TRANSCRIPT 
 A. Under California Rules of Court, rule 8.833 in an appeal from a civil limited case, an appellant may elect to use the 
original trial court file as the record on appeal. 
 B. An appellant in an appeal in a civil limited case, electing to use the original trial court file as set out in subsection A, 
must file and serve the notice of election within the same time limits for designation of record set out in California Rules of 
Court, rule 8.831. 
 C. Under California Rules of Court, rule 8.863 in misdemeanor appeals, the court elects to use the original trial court file 
in lieu of a Clerk’s Transcript. 
 D. Under California Rules of Court, rule 8.914 in infraction appeals, the court elects to use the original trial court file in 
lieu of a Clerk’s Transcript. 
(Effective January 1, 2009) 
 

RULE 14.08  USE OF OFFICIAL ELECTRONIC RECORDING 
 A. Under California Rules of Court, rule 8.835(c), in a civil limited appeal the parties, by a filed written stipulation or on 
order of the trial court under California Rule of Court, rule 8.837(d), may designate the original of an official electronic 
recording of the trial court proceedings, or a copy of the electronic recording made by the court, as the record of the oral 
proceedings, without being transcribed, and in lieu of a Reporter’s transcript or settled statement. 
 B. Under California Rules of Court, rule 8.868(c), in a misdemeanor appeal, the parties, by a filed written stipulation or on 
order of the trial court under California Rule of Court, rule 8.869(5), may designate the original of an official electronic 
recording of the trial court proceedings, or a copy of the electronic recording made by the court, as the record of the oral 
proceedings, without being transcribed, and in lieu of a Reporter’s transcript or settled statement. 
 C. Under California Rules of Court, rule 8.915(a)(2), in an infraction appeal, the parties by a filed written stipulation or on 
order of the trial court under California Rule of Court, rule 8.916(b), may designate the original of an official electronic 
recording of the trial court proceedings, or a copy of the electronic recording made by the court, as the record of the oral 
proceedings, without being transcribed, and in lieu of a Reporter’s transcript or settled statement. 
(Effective January 1, 2009) 

CHAPTER 15 

EX PARTE ORDER PROCEDURES - CIVIL 
 
RULE 15.00 APPLICATION FOR EX PARTE ORDER 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
 

RULE 15.00.A EX PARTES IN GENERAL - CIVIL 
 It is the policy of the Court to discourage unnecessary ex parte applications.  Except where the showing required by 
California Rules of Court, rule 3.1202(c) is made, matters should be resolved by noticed motion.  An ex parte application which 
fails to meet the requirements applicable to ex parte hearings may be summarily denied on procedural grounds or treated as an 
application for an order shortening time for a noticed motion, in the discretion of the court. 
(Effective 7/1/2013) 
 
RULE 15.01 TO WHOM PRESENTED 
 An application for an ex parte order shall be presented to the judge to whom the matter is assigned.  Counsel or a self-
represented party seeking an ex parte hearing should call the Judicial Secretary of the assigned courtroom to reserve the next 
available ex parte hearing date.  Unless otherwise ordered, all ex parte hearings are heard at 8:30 a.m. 
 If the assigned judge is unavailable or disqualified, or in cases of emergency, or if the matter has not yet been assigned, the 
application should be presented to the supervising civil judge, who may handle the matter or assign it to another available judge. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2013) 
 
RULE 15.02 NOTICE 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1998) 
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RULE 15.03 FILING AND SERVICE OF APPLICATIONS AND ORDERS 
 A. Applications for ex parte orders with a declaration in support of the motion, points and authorities and a proposed order 
shall be filed in the courthouse in which the department of the appropriate judge is located before being presented to the 
appropriate judge.  The reservation number should be included in the caption of the application.  Copies to be conformed are to 
be brought on the day of the hearing and not lodged prior to the hearing.  Absent good cause, ex parte applications must be 
served on each party and provided to the court prior to the hearing to allow adequate time for review.  Therefore, whenever 
practicable, moving papers should be served on the other parties by personal delivery, facsimile, email or overnight delivery 
prior to the hearing and preferably filed by noon the day before the hearing. 
 B. All ex parte orders in all categories of proceedings in this court shall be either approved, approved as modified or 
denied, and shall be so noted and dated by the judge to whom the petition or request is submitted. Regardless of the approval or 
denial of the petition or request for order, the order, the application or petition, and any supporting affidavits or other writings 
presented shall remain in the court's file or, where required by statute or rule, in the confidential case file related to the case. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2014) 

CHAPTER 16 

EXECUTIVE OFFICER AND JURY COMMISSIONER 
 
RULE 16.00 EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S POWERS AND DUTIES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2005) 
 
RULE 16.01 RESERVATION OF GOVERNMENT CODE 69898 POWERS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2009) 
 
RULE 16.02 TRANSFER OF FORMER COUNTY CLERK EMPLOYEES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2010) 
 
RULE 16.03 APPROVAL BY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS/TRANSFER OF REVENUES, FACILITIES, 
AND EQUIPMENT 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2010) 
 
RULE 16.04 SEVERABILITY OF RULES AND SUBPARTS 
(Deleted effective January 1, 2010) 

CHAPTER 17 

BAILIFF AND COURT SECURITY SERVICES 

 
RULE 17.00 WEAPONS PROHIBITION AND SEARCHES 
 The Sheriff through Court Services Division shall have signs posted at all public entrances to the Hall of Justice and East 
County Courthouse which state that bringing unauthorized weapons into the building is prohibited pursuant to Penal Code 
section 171b, and that persons entering the building are subject to search. The Sheriff and his deputies, as well as other peace 
officers who come to their aid, may conduct pat-down or electronic searches of persons entering or within the Hall of Justice, 
East County Courthouse and Juvenile Courthouses for weapons, and may examine for weapons the contents of any purses, 
parcels, and other items carried by such persons, as may be reasonably necessary to ensure the security of the Hall of Justice, 
East County and Juvenile Courthouses. If any person refuses to submit to a search, he or she shall have the option of leaving the 
Hall of Justice, East County or Juvenile Courthouses without a search, unless a search is otherwise permitted by law. No 
examination of any written materials in possession of any person shall be made pursuant to this provision. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2008) 
 
RULE 17.01 COURT SECURITY 
 The Sheriff of the County of Ventura is designated as the Court Security Officer to be responsible to the court for all matters 
relating to its security, including security of courtrooms, buildings and grounds. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
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RULE 17.02 RESTRICTED AREAS 
 Except by specific permission first obtained from a judge, bailiff or other designated personnel, no person shall be or remain 
in any area or any department restricted to the exclusive occupancy of court personnel that has been established by the Sheriff 
and posted by signs such as “Employees Only”, “No Admittance”, “Restricted Area”, “Authorized Personnel Only”, or by such 
other signs that may hereafter be posted. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 

CHAPTER 18 

VERBATIM COURT REPORTING SERVICES 
 
RULE 18.00 COURT REPORTERS 
 A. Official and pro tempore court reporters serving the court shall provide such service and receive such compensation, as 
provided by §§68086 et seq. of the Government Code, and by other applicable statutes, California Rules of Court, and rules of 
this court. 
 B. Court reporters shall constitute the Reporting Services section of the court's Administration division, in accordance with 
applicable statutes, under the general direction of the Court Executive Officer and Clerk. Official and pro tempore court 
reporters shall make such reports to the California Judicial Council and to the Administration Division of this court, as provided 
by statutes and by rules of court, and as otherwise directed by the Court Executive Officer and Clerk. 
 C. Court reporting services must be provided in all Superior Court felony trials and hearings, and all proceedings under the 
Lanterman-Petris-Short Act and all juvenile calendars, except for cases filed under Welfare and Institutions Code §601. 
 D. Reporting services are not available for the following proceedings: All unlimited jurisdiction Civil trials and law and 
motion except for settlements placed on the record, and hearings involving Asset Forfeiture, Harassment, Elder/Dependent Adult 
Abuse, Workplace Violence or Private Postsecondary School Violence. All Family Law matters, except settlements placed on 
the record, Orders to Show Cause or Requests for Orders, Restraining Orders, Ex Partes, and those hearings involving Domestic 
Violence, Contempt or the Department of Child Support Services. All matters set in Probate on Monday (all day), Tuesday 
(p.m.), Wednesday (p.m.), Thursday (p.m.) and Friday (all day). (Reporters will be scheduled for matters in Probate on Tuesday 
(a.m.), Wednesday (a.m.) and Thursday (a.m.), only). Notwithstanding the above, the court in its discretion may order any of the 
listed proceedings be reported by a court reporter from the Reporting Services section, if deemed appropriate. 
 In the proceedings listed above where the court will continue to provide a court reporter it is the parties’ responsibility to pay 
the reporter’s fee for attendance at the proceedings if required by law. The expense may be recoverable as part of the costs, as 
provided by law. 
 E. For those matters in subsection D in which the court does not provide a court reporter, the parties have the right to 
arrange at their own expense for the presence of an official court reporter to serve as an official pro tempore reporter for a 
hearing or trial. See Government Code §68086; California Rules of Court, rule 2.956(b)&(c) Parties may select from the 
Approved Official Reporter Pro Tempore List, which list is available on the court’s website, or arrange for their own reporter by 
filing with the court form (VN243) “Agreement and Order Re Appointment of Official Reporter Pro Tempore.” Parties must 
make arrangements for reporters in advance of the hearing to ensure the proceedings will be reported. It is the parties’ 
responsibility to pay the reporter’s fee for attendance at the proceedings, but the expense may be recoverable as part of the costs, 
as provided by law. 
 F. If it appears that a reporter will not be available for a matter in which the court still provides a court reporter as 
described in subsection D, the Court Reporter’s Office must notify the parties at least five (5) days prior to the proceeding, and 
the deposit of court reporter fees shall be refunded. The parties may make arrangements for the presence of a reporter to serve as 
an official pro tempore reporter pursuant to rule 2.956 of the California Rules of Court and subsection D above. It is the parties’ 
responsibility to pay the reporter’s fee for attendance at the proceedings, but the expense may be recoverable as part of the costs, 
as provided by law. 
 G. An official court reporter is not available but the following proceedings will be electronically recorded by the court to 
make the official verbatim record of proceedings as provided by Government Code §69957 and California Rules of Court, rules, 
2.952 and 2.956(e), unless otherwise ordered by the court: Small Claims cases, Infraction Criminal Proceedings, Misdemeanor 
Criminal Proceedings, limited jurisdiction Civil trials, limited jurisdiction Civil Appeals from Superior Court, Misdemeanor 
Appeals, and Small Claims trial de novos. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2016) 
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CHAPTER 19 

JURY SERVICES 
 
RULE 19.00 PURPOSE 
 The purpose of this rule is to supplement the applicable California statutes and State Court Rules regarding jurors and jury 
service. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 19.01 JURY COMMISSIONER 
 A. APPOINTMENT. 
 In the opinion of a majority of the judges the business of the court requires the appointment of a Jury Commissioner. Pursuant 
to section 195 of the Code of Civil Procedure the judges have appointed a Jury Commissioner for Ventura County who shall 
have the authority, duties and responsibilities and who shall perform the functions of a Jury Commissioner provided for by law 
and by these rules. 
 B. DESIGNATION AS "ATTACHÉ." 
 The Executive Officer and Clerk shall act as Jury Commissioner and is designated as the "attaché" of the court to perform the 
functions set forth in sections 196(a)(b) and (c), 197(a) and (b), 198(a)(b) and (c), and 208 of the Code of Civil Procedure. Said 
functions may be performed by such Deputy Jury Commissioner as may be designated by the Executive Officer and Clerk. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 

RULE 19.02 JUROR SELECTION PROGRAM 
 A. SOURCE LISTS. The most current Ventura County voter registration list, combined with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles list of licensed drivers and identification card holders who are 18 years of age and older, shall constitute the source 
from which prospective jurors will be selected. 
 B. RANDOM SELECTION OF PROSPECTIVE JURORS. The name of each prospective trial juror shall be taken by 
random selection from the merged source lists. The program for random selection shall be designed and maintained by the 
vendor, Jury Systems, Inc., with approval of the Jury Commissioner, to ensure the random selection of a fair cross section of the 
persons residing in Ventura County. 
 C. EXCUSE FROM JURY SERVICE. The Jury Commissioner shall determine the statutory qualifications of each 
prospective trial juror. He/she shall exclude from the certified jury lists any person he/she shall find is not statutorily competent 
to serve, and shall excuse from jury service such prospective trial juror who in his/her determination qualifies for excuse under 
§§ 204(b) and 218 of the Code of Civil Procedure, provisions of the Standards of Judicial Administration, California Rules of 
Court, and of these rules. The Jury Commissioner may, upon request, defer the service of a prospective juror for good cause, or 
may excuse a prospective juror from service altogether, for any of the following reasons: 
  1. The prospective juror qualifies for excuse from service on the basis of one of the categories set forth in Code of Civil 
Procedure §§ 203 and 204, and rule 2.1008 of the California Rules of Court. 
  2. Other circumstances constituting undue hardship within the meaning of the statutes, Standards of Judicial 
Administration, or rules of this court apply to the prospective trial juror, as determined by the Jury Commissioner and/or 
Presiding Judge of the court. 
 D. PROCEDURE FOR EXCUSE FROM JURY SERVICE. A request for excuse from jury service shall be addressed 
to and determined by the Jury Commissioner. All requests for excuse must be in writing pursuant to §218 of the California Code 
of Civil Procedure. The Jury Commissioner will grant or deny written requests for excuse pursuant to the Jury Excuse and 
Deferral Policy established by the Jury Reform Committee of the Superior Court of California, County of Ventura. The Jury 
Commissioner may refer any request to the Presiding Judge or designated representative for his/her determination. In the event 
the Jury Commissioner should deny his/her request for excuse the prospective trial juror may request and shall be entitled to 
review and reconsideration by the Presiding Judge or designated representative. The disposition of the request and the reasons 
therefor shall be noted upon appropriate records maintained by the Jury Commissioner. 
 E. ANNUAL TRIAL JURY LIST/OR MASTER JURY LIST. The Jury Commissioner shall prepare a new master jury 
list at least once during any consecutive twelve (12) months. The number of names to be placed on such master jury list shall be 
determined by the Jury Commissioner. 
 F. SUPPLEMENTAL LISTS. Should the judges of the court require supplemental lists of prospective trial jurors who 
have been qualified as provided by law and by these rules, such lists shall be prepared and submitted to the judges of the court in 
the same manner as provided in section 204(E) above. 
(Revised effective July 1, 2003) 
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RULE 19.03 JUROR PROCESSING PROGRAM 
 A. The following program is adopted by the court for the maintenance of panels of qualified prospective trial jurors from 
which jurors shall be drawn as necessary for the conduct of jury trials in all departments of the court, which program shall be 
known as the "juror processing program." 
 B. DRAWING NAMES: SUMMONS. The Jury Commissioner will generate a random draw of names from the Master 
Jury List established in Jury Systems, Inc., Next Generation software. Once drawn, the names will be transmitted electronically 
to the General Services Agency for the County of Ventura to print and mail summons for a sufficient number of prospective trial 
jurors as h/she determines to be required to provide adequate jury services to the courts for a particular time period. Each person 
will be summoned by first class mail to attend the court for service as a member of a trial jury panel, or alternatively to remain on 
telephone standby for five (5) court days. Once a juror has been selected to serve on a trial, discharge will be made by order of 
the court. Jury service is one jury trial or one day of service. 
 C. TRIAL JURY ASSIGNMENTS. Upon each appearance of a juror in either the jury assembly room or a department of 
the court, a record of attendance will be maintained by the Jury Commissioner or Judicial Assistant in attendance. Confirmation 
of appearance forms for prospective jurors attending as members of the trial jury panel will be prepared and distributed by the 
Jury Commissioner. Courtroom staff will sign the forms daily confirming appearance for each trial juror in attendance when 
ordered to return for additional days of jury selection or trial. 
 D. ASSIGNMENT AND SELECTION PROCEDURE DURING TRIAL. Following assignment of prospective jurors 
to a department of the court for impanelment and service in a particular trial, the Jury Commissioner or assigned deputy shall 
maintain communication with court attaches and shall provide supplemental jurors as may be required by the court during the 
impanelment procedure. Prior to and immediately upon impanelment of the trial jury, court attaches shall contact the Jury 
Commissioner or assigned deputy for instructions regarding reassignment of unselected jurors, before such jurors are excused 
from further service for the day. The Jury Commissioner may reassign any non-selected or otherwise unassigned trial juror to any 
other department of the court’s trial calendar for the remainder of that day. 
(Effective July 1, 2003) 
 
RULE 19.04 SPECIAL VENIRE 
 Nothing contained in the foregoing rules shall preclude the Jury Commissioner, upon order of the court, from summoning to 
the court pursuant to law, a special venire for jury service in a particular case. 
(Effective January 1, 1997)  
 
RULE 19.05 DISCHARGE OF JUROR FROM SERVICE 
 Prospective jurors may be excused from further jury service for a period of 12 months following discharge. Jurors shall be 
considered as discharged within the meaning of said section, when any one of the following has occurred: 
 A. Served on one trial until discharged. 
 B. Been assigned on one day to one or more trial departments for jury selection and served through the completion of jury 
selection or until excused by the jury commissioner. 
 C. Attended court but was not assigned to a trial department for selection of a jury before the end of that day. 
 D. Served one day on call. 
 E. Served no more than five (5) court days on telephone standby. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2001) 
 
RULE 19.06 RESERVED FOR COURT USE 
 
RULE 19.07 SELECTION OF GRAND JURORS 
 Grand jurors shall be selected in accordance with the provisions of applicable statutory authority and the following rules: 
 A. JURY COMMISSIONER TO FURNISH LIST. The Jury Commissioner shall, upon request of the Presiding Judge, 
furnish the judges of the superior court on or before June 15 of each year a list of persons qualified to serve as grand jurors 
during the ensuing fiscal year and shall perform this function pursuant to the provisions of §§903.1, 903.2, 903.3, and 903.4 of 
the Penal Code. 
 B. NOMINATION OF PERSONS BY SUPERIOR COURT JUDGES. Each judge of the superior court shall have the 
right annually and prior to a date determined annually by the Jury Commissioner to nominate in writing to the Presiding Judge 
persons deemed suitable and competent to serve as grand jurors for the ensuing fiscal year. 
 C. APPROVAL BY MAJORITY OF SUPERIOR COURT JUDGES. The judges of the superior court shall meet 
during June of each year and by majority vote, select the members of the panel from which the grand jurors to serve during the 
ensuing fiscal year shall be selected. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1998) 
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RULE 19.08 JURY FEES AND EXPENSES 
 A. IN GENERAL. At no time shall the members of the jury be informed as to which party is paying fees, mileage or other 
costs. 
 B. FEE AND MILEAGE OBLIGATION. Obligation for payment of jury fees and mileage at the rate provided by law 
for the jurors selected and sworn to try a civil case shall be paid by the party demanding the jury commencing with the day on 
which the jury selection begins, and until the jury is discharged. 
 C. PAYMENT OF FOOD AND LODGING EXPENSES. In unusual circumstances a party who demands a jury trial in 
a civil action shall, upon request of the clerk or bailiff, advance the amount determined by the trial judge to be reasonably 
necessary to pay the cost of food, lodging, and other necessities of the jurors while they are kept together during the trial and 
until they are discharged by the court. The monies shall be paid to the bailiff in charge of the jury and any amount remaining 
after payment of such expenses shall be returned with appropriate receipts to the party. Failure to advance such costs upon 
request of the court shall be deemed a waiver of trial by jury and the court may in its discretion proceed to judgment without a 
jury or, upon such terms as may be just, with a jury. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 19.09 JURY INSTRUCTIONS 
 A. PROPOSED PATTERN JURY INSTRUCTIONS. In jury trials the instruction forms contained in the most recent 
editions of "Judicial Council of California Jury Instructions" (CACI) and "Judicial Council of California Criminal Jury 
Instructions" (CALCRIM) should be used when applicable, unless the judge finds that a different instruction would more 
accurately state the law and be understood by jurors, as provided in California Rules of Court, rule 2.1050. All instructions 
should be accurate, brief, understandable, impartial, and free from argument. A proposed pattern jury instruction that has been 
modified by a party shall specify in parentheses or other appropriate manner the respect in which the instruction has been 
modified. It shall be the duty and responsibility of counsel proposing a pattern instruction to complete all blanks contained in it 
necessary for the purpose of the instruction. Failure to do so shall be deemed by the court as sufficient cause to refuse the 
proposed instruction. 
 B. ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS DRAFTED BY COUNSEL. Counsel may draft and submit additional proposed 
instructions. Each shall be numbered in consecutive order and indicate the party upon whose behalf it is requested. Failure to cite 
on any such instruction the authorities relied upon to support giving it shall be deemed by the court as sufficient cause to refuse 
the proposed instruction. 
 C. METHOD OF FILING PROPOSED INSTRUCTIONS WITH TRIAL JUDGE. In all jury trials counsel shall 
present to the courtroom judicial assistant a document setting forth in the usual manner the title of the court, title and number of 
the action, and title of the document, namely, "Instructions requested by__________." A copy of the document shall be served 
upon each of the other counsel in the case. The document shall list by number the CACI and/or CALCRIM instructions requested 
by counsel and counsel shall attach to the original list, all instructions requested. 
 D. TIME FOR DELIVERY OF PROPOSED INSTRUCTIONS TO COURT. The court shall require counsel to 
comply strictly with the provisions of §607(a) of the Code of Civil Procedure and §1093.5 of the Penal Code. 
(Revised effective January 1, 2007) 
 
RULE 19.10 RELEASE OF CONFIDENTIAL JUROR INFORMATION 
 Information contained on each juror information card (address, telephone numbers, occupation and place of employment) will 
be considered confidential information and will not be released to other than authorized court personnel. 
 Any person, other than those authorized, requesting such confidential information must make application to the court, stating 
the reasons why such information should be made available. The Jury Commissioner will make the information available only 
upon order or other direction of the judge hearing the case or the Presiding Judge. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 

 

CHAPTER 20 

COURT INTERPRETING SERVICES 

 

 

RULE 20.00 INTERPRETERS-LIST OF COURT APPROVED INTERPRETERS. 
 The Executive Officer and Clerk shall maintain for public examination a list of court approved interpreters and their particular 
languages. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
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RULE 20.01 COURT INTERPRETING SERVICES 
 Establishment of competency.  Any interpreter whose services are used in the court will be required to be certified, registered 
by the Judicial Council or provisionally qualified by the court as to his/her competency before he/she may perform such service 
unless in a particular case the court should waive this requirement.  
(Effective January 1, 2015) 

CHAPTER 21 

COUNSEL SERVICES AND FEES 
 

RULE 21.00 IN A TORT CASE INVOLVING MINOR, INSANE OR INCOMPETENT PERSON 
 Counsel fees in excess of the following schedule ordinarily will not be considered reasonable in tort actions under § 372 of 
the Code of Civil Procedure or section 1431 of the Probate Code. 
 A. SETTLEMENT MORE THAN TWO (2) WEEKS PRIOR TO TRIAL. Twenty-five percent of the net amount 
recovered. 
 B. DISPOSITION WITHIN TWO WEEKS OF, DURING OR AFTER TRIAL. Thirty-three and one-third percent of 
the net amount recovered. 
 C. SETTLEMENT AFTER THE FILING OF RESPONDENT'S BRIEF ON APPEAL OR AFTER 
AFFIRMANCE. Forty percent of the net amount recovered. 
 D. COMPUTATION OF FEES. In computing fees the court will require parents claiming reimbursement for medical 
expenses, etc., to pay their proportionate share of the counsel fees except in cases of hardship. Reasonable costs incurred or paid 
by the counsel that are itemized and accompanied by appropriate vouchers, or other supporting evidence, will be allowed 
excepting they shall not be included in the amount of the settlement or judgment on which fees are computed, i.e., legal costs are 
deducted from the gross settlement and attorney fees computed on the new amount. 
(Effective January 1, 1997) 
 
RULE 21.01 IN AN ACTION ON A PROMISSORY NOTE, CONTRACT PROVIDING FOR THE PAYMENT OF 
COUNSEL FEES AND FORECLOSURE 
 The following counsel fees shall be awarded under normal circumstances in an action on a promissory note, contract 
providing for the payment of counsel fees and foreclosure: 
 A. DEFAULT ACTION ON NOTE OR CONTRACT. Exclusive of costs: 
 

Any part of first $1,000- $250  
20 percent of next $4,000  
15 percent of next $5,000  
10 percent of next $5,000  
 5 percent of next $35,000  
 2 percent of next $50,000  
 1 percent of the amount over- $100,000. 
 Unlawful Detainer $450. 
 

 In an action upon a contract providing for counsel fees the Executive Officer and Clerk shall include in the judgment counsel 
fees in accordance with this schedule, not to exceed the amount prayed for. 
 B. FORECLOSURE OF MORTGAGE OR TRUST DEED. The same amount as computed under subdivision (A). 
 C. FORECLOSURE OF ASSESSMENT OR BOND LIEN RELATING TO A PUBLIC IMPROVEMENT. The 
same amount as computed under subdivision (A). 
(Revised effective July 1, 1999) 
 
RULE 21.02 COURT APPOINTED COUNSEL AND PUBLIC DEFENSE SERVICES 
 A. DETERMINATION OF ATTORNEY COMPENSATION AND NECESSARY EXPENSES OF DEFENSE. In 
each case in which a person has been furnished services of counsel or other defense services at public expense, upon conclusion 
of the proceedings the court shall make a determination of the county cost incurred for attorney compensation and necessary 
expenses of defense. Counsel shall be prepared at that time to submit an approved form of client financial statements and 
itemized information as to the time devoted to the case, expenses incurred and all claims made and compensation received in 
connection with the case. Expenses will not be considered reasonable unless authorized by the court before they are incurred. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 
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RULE 21.03 COURT APPOINTED INDIGENT DEFENSE COUNSEL AND COMPENSATION 

A.  Appointment of Counsel. In any case where a defendant cannot afford counsel as determined under Penal Code 

§987, counsel shall be appointed in the following order: (1) the public defender; (2) conflict defense panel; (3) private counsel. 

This order may be varied, if appropriate under existing contracts, statutes, or case law. All case appointments are subject to 

Penal Code §§987.05 and 987.3.  

 

B.  Attorney Fees & Costs Reimbursement. 

  1. Private counsel will be compensated under a set hourly rate or fixed amount, as determined by the court under Penal 

Code §987.3. The Court has adopted the Appointed Services Fee & Expense Schedule, which sets out the allowable rates and 

reporting requirements for payment and reimbursement. The Schedule is available in the Clerk’s Office, on the court website, or 

from the office of the County Executive Officer. The rates set by the court are subject to change.  

  2.  Appointment and compensation of private counsel shall be by Minute Order or written order by the Criminal 

Supervising Judge or his/her designee. Services shall end upon entry of judgment or order granting probation unless otherwise 

ordered.  

  3.  Subject to Penal Code §987.3, all compensation must be approved by the court and may be capped. If appointed, 

counsel seeks to receive compensation above and beyond the amounts allowed under the Schedule or for services or expenses 

that must be pre-approved, counsel must contact the Judicial Secretary to the Criminal Supervising Judge to schedule an in 

camera ex parte hearing.  

 

  a.  Counsel must submit to the Criminal Clerk’s Office (Room 118) under seal, an application including a declaration 

before any such services are performed  justifying that such services are “necessary” to enable counsel to render legally 

adequate defense services along  with a proposed order. The declaration must include sufficient detail to demonstrate good 

cause for the additional amounts. A boiler plate declaration will not  be considered sufficient.  

  b.  The ex parte documents are to be submitted  prior to the in camera hearing to allow adequate time for  review.  

Whenever practicable, the papers should be  submitted to the clerk’s office by noon the day before the ex parte hearing.   

Counsel is not to submit the papers to the judicial assistant in the courtroom prior to or at the  time of the hearing.  

  c. The court in its discretion may grant the request prior to the in camera hearing and order the hearing off calendar. 
 

  4.  All requests for payment and reimbursement shall comply with the terms and conditions set forth in the Schedule, 

unless otherwise approved by the court. All claims must be submitted with an itemized billing or listed on a completed County of 

Ventura Court-Appointed Claim Form, with copies of receipts for expenses attached along with a copy of any court order(s) that 

authorized such expenditures. Claims must specify the case number, an hourly rate, and time billed in increments of no greater 

than six minute (1/10th hour) intervals. Attorneys shall present the claims to the court. If approved, the court will forward to the 

County Executive Office for processing.  
(Effective July 1, 2016).  
 

RULE 21.04-  AUTHORIZATION TO USE ANCILLARY DEFENSE SERVICES 
 

A. Reasonable ancillary defense services are defined to include, but not limited to: services of investigators, experts, and 
paralegals.  Before incurring expenses for ancillary defense services, counsel or a self-represented defendant shall make 
an application and follow the procedures and guidelines set out in Local Rule 21.03 and the Appointed Services Fee & 
Expense Schedule referenced therein. 

B. Ex parte applications shall be supported by a declaration, setting forth the following facts: 
1. The reason such services are reasonably necessary in the preparation of a defense; 
2. The type of service being requested; 
3. The name of the provider being requested and a brief statement of the provider’s qualifications to provide the 

requested services; 
4. Where the provider is required by law to possess a license to provide the requested service, the application 

shall include the provider’s license number or specify any exemption to the licensing requirement applicable to 
the provider; 

5.  The requested hourly rate and a request for authorization to spend up to a specific dollar amount.  If the request is for 
an expert witness for a subject area included on the “Service Vendor Rate Schedule” referenced in Local Rule 22.00, 
the listed hourly rate shall be deemed the reasonable approved rate, absent a showing of good cause as to why a higher 
rate should be approved. 
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If the application is made by privately-retained counsel, the initial application must also include a Declaration re 
Indigence from the defendant in support thereof.  

C. After the initial approval of ancillary services by the court, counsel or a self-represented defendant may apply for 
authorization of additional expenditures, if counsel or the self-represented defendant believes there is a reasonable likelihood 
that the amount originally authorized for ancillary services will be exceeded.  An application for additional expenditures shall 
include in the declaration in support of the request, the amounts previously authorized and/or denied and the reasons a greater 
amount is being requested. A copy of any previous orders authorizing or denying expenditures shall be attached. 
 
D. Only when exigent circumstances exist may an attorney or self-represented defendant engage ancillary services without 
prior court authorization.  If an attorney or self-represented defendant does so, the attorney or self-represented defendant 
must immediately thereafter make application to the court for authorization for such services and show by declaration, 
exigent circumstances justifying the use of such services without prior court authorization.  Exigent circumstances may 
include, but are not limited to, circumstances in which there is a need to preserve or document physical evidence, which 
would dissipate before court authorization could be obtained.  
 
E. Claims for payment for ancillary services are to be submitted in the manner set out for appointed attorney services in Local 
Rule 21.03. 
 
F. The court will review all claims and the Supervising Criminal Judge will reduce or deny any amounts deemed excessive.  
(Effective July 1, 2014) 

CHAPTER 22 

COURT-APPOINTED EXPERT SERVICES AND FEES 
 
RULE 22.00 EXPERT SERVICE FEES 
 Fees and expenses of court-appointed experts for services rendered pursuant to this chapter, shall be as prescribed by written 
contract with the court, by statute or other rule of this court or, where not so prescribed, by the most recent "Service Vendor Rate 
Schedule" adopted by the judges of the court, a majority concurring. Where fees for any expert service are neither provided by 
contract, statute, court rule or the "Service Vendor Rate Schedule", they shall be prescribed by the appointing judge. Fees and 
expenses for expert services shall be paid from the budget of the court only where so specifically prescribed by statute, or where 
the court has made the appointment on its own motion or pursuant to statutory requirement. Such fees shall otherwise be paid 
from the budget of the county agency or department requesting court appointment of the expert. 
(Revised effective January 1, 1999) 

CHAPTER 23 

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT 
 
RULE 23.00 ACCESSIBILITY TO THE VENTURA COUNTY COURTS BY PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES 
(Deleted effective January 1, 1999) 

 

CHAPTER 24 

VOLUNTARY EARLY CIVIL MEDIATION 
 

RULE 24.00 VOLUNTARY EARLY CIVIL MEDIATION 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.01 DISCOVERY TIMELINES 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.02 DISCOVERY DURING MEDIATION PERIOD 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.03 SERVICE OF QUESTIONNAIRE 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
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RULE 24.04 MEET AND CONFER 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.05 MEDIATOR PANELS 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.06 REQUIRED FORM AT FIRST RESPONSIVE PLEADING OF THE LAST DEFENDANT 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.07 MEDIATOR REPORT 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.08 MEDIATION COMPLETION 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.09 FAILURE TO COMPLY 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 
 
RULE 24.10 MODIFICATION TO THE PROGRAM 
(Deleted effective July 1, 2012) 

CHAPTER 25 

TEMPORARY JUDGES 
 
RULE 25.00 TRAINING FEES 
 In accordance with California Rules of Court, rule 6.712(b)(16) the court may charge a reasonable fee of not more than the 
actual costs for court-sponsored training programs for attorneys who serve as court-appointed temporary judges, including the 
costs of materials and food provided to the participants. 
(Effective January 1, 2007)   

CHAPTER 26 

PHOTOGRAPHING, RECORDING AND BROADCASTING IN COURT 
 

RULE 26.00  USE OF CAMERAS, CAMERA PHONES, OR OTHER ELECTRONIC RECORDING DEVICES IN 

COURTHOUSE FACILITIES 
 This rule has been developed for the protection of all parties to ensure the secure and efficient handling of cases and events in 
all court facilities of the Superior Court of California, County of Ventura. 
 A. MEDIA REQUESTS 
 Media requests for any type of video, still photography or audio coverage must be made in compliance with California Rules 
of Court, rule 1.150(e). 
 All media requests must be made by using the approved Judicial Council of California form MC-500, Media Request to 
Photograph, Record or Broadcast, and form MC-510, Order on Media Request to Permit Coverage.  
 The forms are to be submitted directly to the Ventura Superior Court Administration/Public Information Officer located in 
Room 206, 800 S. Victoria Avenue, Ventura, Ca, 93009 or faxed to the Ventura Superior Court Administration/Public 
Information Officer at (805) 477-5890, at least five (5) court days before the portion of the proceedings to be covered, unless 
good cause is shown. 
 B. USE OF CELLULAR PHONES AND OTHER ELECTRONIC DEVICES 
  1. No one may use a camera, cell phone camera, video, photographic, audio or other electronic device to transmit, record, 
or take pictures in any part of the courthouse except as permitted by local rule and California Rules of Court, rule 1.150 or upon 
written approval of the Presiding Judge.  For purposes of this rule, court facilities include the full entry security screening areas, 
lobby, courtrooms, judges’ chambers, clerk’s offices, court offices and the hallways adjacent to these areas.  Court facilities do 
not include offices occupied by non-court agencies including the District Attorney’s Office and Victim Services Division, the 
Public Defender’s Office or the County Law Library. 
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  2.  The use of a camera, cell phone camera, video, photographic or other electronic device is not permitted in any jury 
assembly area, or juror deliberation room.  In addition, photographing, videotaping, filming or electronic recording of anyone 
wearing a juror badge anywhere inside of the courthouse is prohibited.  
  3.  Photographing, videotaping, filming or electronic recording of anyone involved in any case, including litigants, 
witnesses and spectators anywhere inside of the courthouse is prohibited, except as permitted by local rule and California Rules 
of Court, rule1.150 or upon written approval of the Presiding Judge.  Unless the court orders otherwise, this rule does not 
prohibit photography or recording of ceremonial events held by the court, a governmental agency or bar association, mock trial 
competitions, weddings, adoptions or a lecture or training that is held in a courtroom when court is not in session, as long as 
persons who are prohibited from being photographed in this rule are not photographed. 
  4. Prior to entering a courtroom, cellular phones, pagers, and all other electronic communication or recording devices, 
not specifically authorized by the judge presiding over the proceedings, must be silenced or in the discretion of the judge, turned 
off.  Any cellular phone, pager, or other electronic device, which disrupts the proceedings, may be subject to confiscation and/or 
search as permitted by law, by the bailiffs.  
  5.  To the extent consistent with this rule, any camera, cell phone, or other electronic device shall not be handled in any 
way as to indicate that a picture, audio or video recording is being taken. 
  6. Any electronic device used in violation of this rule may be subject to confiscation and/or search as permitted by law.  
Further, any person who violates this rule may be subject to criminal prosecution, civil sanctions and/or contempt of court under 
Penal Code §166, Penal Code §632,  Code of Civil Procedure §177.5, Code of Civil Procedure §1209 and/or California Rules 
of Court, rule 1.150(f).  
(Effective 1/1/2015) 
 

CHAPTER 27 
COURT TESTIMONY BY VIDEOCONFERENCE 

 
RULE 27.00  REQUESTS TO PRESENT TESTIMONY BY VIDEOCONFERENCE  

Any party seeking to present testimony by videoconference must file and serve an application at least ten (10) days prior to the 
date the matter is initially set for hearing or trial. Any objections to allowing the testimony by videoconference must be filed and 
served at least five (5) days after service of the application. Thereafter, the court will rule on the application or set the matter for 
hearing on the application. If the application is granted, the requesting party and counsel for the requesting party must execute a 
disclaimer and release of liability with the court, which is available on the court’s website and pay in advance for any court costs 
incurred.  
 

This rule does not apply to the Mental Health video calendars.  
(Effective January 1, 2014) 
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APPENDIX I 
 

STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

PREAMBLE 
 
This rule has been adopted to foster orderly proceedings and respect for the Constitution, state laws, and the court as an 
institution. Its provisions apply unless an individual judge orders otherwise. 
 A. OPENING OF COURT 
  1. As each morning session begins the bailiff shall require all present to rise, then say the following words in a clear and 
dignified tone: 
 
"In the presence of the flag of our country, emblem of the Constitution, and remembering the principles for which it stands, the 
Superior Court for the County of Ventura is now in session. The Honorable, judge presiding." 
 
  2. Upon opening court following a recess the bailiff shall proceed as directed by each judge. 
 B. ATTORNEYS SHOULD: 
  1. Pursuant to Business and Professions Code §6068(b), "maintain the respect due to the courts of justice and judicial 
officers". 
  2. Be familiar with these guidelines as well as other applicable statutes and rules of conduct, ethics, and professionalism. 
  3. Inform their clients and witnesses, as well as associates and family members of clients and witnesses, of all applicable 
rules and guidelines for behavior in and around the courtroom, and in relation to other parties, witnesses, and jurors. 
 C. ATTORNEYS ADDRESSING THE COURT: 
  1. Should address or refer to the court as "your honor" or "the court" rather than as "you" or "judge". 
  2. Should stand, except during an objection or other brief statement, and should speak from behind a counsel table or 
lectern. 
  3. Should not interrupt the court unless absolutely necessary to protect a client's rights. 
  4. Should accept a ruling without visible reaction, comment, or further argument unless upon request the court has 
reopened argument. 
  5. After a ruling in front of a jury, may request to approach the bench for clarification, but should not ask the court to 
explain its ruling in front of the jury. 
 D. WHEN MAKING AN OBJECTION, ATTORNEYS SHOULD: 
  1. Only state the legal ground unless further comment is allowed by the court. 
  2. Address the court, not opposing counsel or a witness. 
  3. Not interrupt a question unless necessary to protect a client's rights or the partial question is patently objectionable. 
 E. ATTORNEYS SPEAKING TO THE JURY SHOULD NOT: 
  1. Crowd the jury box or address the jury in a loud or undignified manner. 
  2. Exhibit familiarity with jurors or address them by name, except during jury selection or a mid-trial inquiry of a juror. 
 F. WITH REFERENCE TO WITNESSES, PARTIES AND OTHER ATTORNEYS, ATTORNEYS SHOULD: 
  1. Not exhibit familiarity or, except as to young children, use first names. 
  2. Question from behind counsel table or a lectern unless the court has given permission to approach a witness. 
  3. Inform their witnesses of any court ruling or order affecting the witness's testimony or conduct. 
  4. Advise their witnesses to be responsive to questions, but to refrain from answering when an objection is made. 
  5. Not admonish a testifying witness as to the manner of answering questions, but should ask the court to do so. 
  6. Not, while questioning a witness, make editorial comments of approval or disapproval. 
 G. THE FOLLOWING SHOULD NOT TAKE PLACE IN THE PRESENCE OF THE JURY: 
  1. Arguments in support of or opposition to an objection. 
  2. Offers of proof. 
  3. Offers to stipulate which have not been previously agreed upon between counsel. 
  4. Discovery requests. 
 H. PERSONS IN THE COURTROOM DURING COURT SESSIONS SHOULD NOT: 
  1. Dress in a manner that is offensive or distracting to others in attendance. 
  2. Eat, drink, chew gum, or read newspapers. 
  3. Converse in a distracting manner. 
  4. Visibly or audibly display approval or disapproval, agreement or disagreement with any testimony, ruling, or statement 
of the court, counsel, or a witness. 
  5. Traverse the area between the bench and counsel table, except with approval of the court. 
 I. EXHIBITS: 
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  1. Should be pre-marked and, if applicable, set up in advance of their use in trial whenever possible, unless expected in 
good faith to be used for impeachment. 
  2. Should be shown to the opposing party before their first use in trial. 
  3. Should be briefly identified by the proponent upon the first reference in trial, but the contents shall not be described. 
  4. Should, once marked and when not in use in trial, remain in the possession of the court clerk unless the court directs 
otherwise. 
  5. Which are in evidence and which the court has permitted to be shown to the jurors, should be handed to the jurors 
through the bailiff. 
 (Revised effective January 1, 1999) T
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APPENDIX II 
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF VENTURA 
MICHAEL D. PLANET, EXECUTIVE OFFICER AND CLERK 

 
 (The following fees are current as of our publication deadline) 

 

Effective:  July 1, 2016 

 

 

Ventura Courthouse, Second Floor, Hall of Justice, 800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura, CA. 93009 

East County Courthouse, 3855 - F. Alamo Street, Simi Valley, CA 93063-2110 

Juvenile Courthouse, 4353 Vineyard Avenue, Oxnard, CA 93036 

 
 

Ventura Courthouse, Appeals 805.289.8527 Ventura Courthouse, Civil 805.289.8525 

Ventura Courthouse, Criminal/Traffic 805.289.8545 Ventura Courthouse, Family Law 805.289.8610 

Ventura Courthouse, Records 805.289.8668 Ventura Civil FAX Filings Activation 800.322.4945 

Ventura Courthouse, Small Claims 805.289.8526 Ventura Civil FAX Filings 800.530.3202 

Juvenile Courthouse, Probate 805.289.8820 Juvenile Courthouse, Juvenile 805.289.8820 

 

 

Web Site: www.ventura.courts.ca.gov  

 

 

Superior Court of California 

Statewide Civil Fee Schedule 
Effective January 1, 2016 

   Code 

Section(s) 

Total 

Fee Due 

 

 

INITIAL FILING FEES IN CIVIL CASES 
 

 
 Unlimited Civil Cases 

1 Complaint or other first paper in unlimited civil case (amount 

over $25,000), including: 

GC 70611, 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

2 Complaint or other first paper in unlawful detainer case over 

$25,000 

3 Petition for a writ of review, mandate, or prohibition (other 

than a writ petition to the appellate division) 

4 Petition for a decree of change of name or gender 

5 Answer or other first paper filed by each party other than 

plaintiff (amount over $25,000) (including unlawful detainer) 

GC 70612, 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

6 Claim opposing forfeiture of seized property, if value of 

property is $5,000 or less
2
 

H&S 11488.5(a)(3) No fee 
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 Limited Civil Cases 

7 Complaint or other first paper (amount over $10,000 up to 

$25,000) 

GC 70613(a), 

70602.5 

$ 370* 

8 Complaint or other first paper in unlawful detainer (amount 

over $10,000 up to $25,000) 

GC 70613(a), 

70602.5, 

CCP 1161.2 

$ 385* 

9 Answer or other first paper filed by each party other than 

plaintiff (amount over $10,000 up to $25,000) (including 

unlawful detainer) 

GC 70614(a), 

70602.5 

$ 370* 

10 Complaint or other first paper (amount up to $10,000) GC 70613(b), 

70602.5 

$ 225* 

11 Complaint or other first paper in unlawful detainer (amount up 

to $10,000) 

GC 70613(b), 

70602.5, 

CCP 1161.2 

$ 240* 

12 Answer or other first paper filed by each party other than 

plaintiff (amounts up to $10,000) (including unlawful detainer) 

GC 70614(b), 

70602.5 

$ 225* 

 

 
 

1 
Fees pursuant to the Uniform Civil Fees and Standard Fee Schedule Act of 2005 (Stats. 2005, ch. 75 (AB 145)), AB 1248 

(Stats. 2007, ch. 738), SB 1407 (Stats. 2008, ch. 311), 2009 Budget Act (Stats. 2009, ch. 22, SBX4 13), SB 857 (Stats. 2010, 

ch. 720), SB 1021 (Stats. 2012, ch. 41), AB 2612 (Stats. 2012, ch. 377), SB 75 (Stats. 2013, ch. 31), AB 1293 (Stats. 2013, 

ch. 382) and other legislation. 
2 

If the value of the property is more than $5,000, the filing fee is the fee in GC 70611, 70602.5, 70602.6. 

* Fees marked with an asterisk will vary in the counties of Riverside, San Bernardino, and San Francisco because of a local 

surcharge for courthouse construction. The fees in those counties are shown in the appendix. 
 

 Limited Civil Cases 

13 Amendment of complaint or of other first paper increasing 

amount at issue from $10,000 or less to more than $10,000 (but 

not exceeding $25,000) 

GC 70613.5(a) $ 145* 

14 Cross-complaint or amendment of cross-complaint increasing 

amount at issue from $10,000 or less to more than $10,000 (but 

not exceeding $25,000) 

GC 70613.5(b) $ 145* 

15 Amended complaint, cross-complaint, or amended cross- 

complaint that reclassifies case from limited civil to unlimited 

civil (CCP 403.060) 

GC 70619 $ 140 

16 Complaint or other first paper within small claims 

jurisdictional limit filed by assignee of record (with 

declaration) 

B&P 6322.1(c)(1), 

GC 70613(b), 

CCP 116.420 

$ 181* 

17 Answer or other first paper filed by each party other than 

plaintiff (case filed by assignee within small claims 

jurisdictional limit, with declaration) 

B&P 6322.1(c)(1), 

GC 70614(b), 

CCP 116.420 

$ 181* 

18 Amendment of complaint or of other first paper filed by 

assignee of record increasing amount at issue from within small 

claims limit to more than $10,000 (but not exceeding $25,000) 

GC 70613.5(a) $ 189* 
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19 Cross-complaint or amendment of cross-complaint in case filed 

by assignee with declaration, increasing amount at issue from 

within small claims limit to more than $10,000 (but not 

exceeding $25,000) 

GC 70613.5(b) $ 189* 

 
 Other Initial Filing Fees (both Limited and Unlimited Civil Cases) 

20 Additional fee for case designated as complex (one fee for all 

plaintiffs) 

GC 70616(a) $ 1,000 

21 Additional fee for case designated as complex (for each 

defendant, up to $18,000 total for case) 

GC 70616(b) $ 1,000 

22 Supplemental fee for filing of a complaint by a “high-frequency 
litigant,” as defined in CCP § 425.55(b), in a construction- 
related accessibility case

3
 

GC 70616.5 $ 1,000 

23 Complaint, response, or other first paper filed on behalf of 

public entity (but fee is recoverable with judgment under GC 

6103.5) 

GC 6103 No fee 

24 Amended complaint or amended cross-complaint (other than 

one that changes amount at issue to reclassify case or require 

fee difference paid in limited civil case under GC 70613.5) 

CCP 472 No fee 

25 Action to compel registration of voters Elec. 2142 No fee 

26 Request for order to require counting of provisional ballots Elec. 14310 No fee 

27 Petition for forfeiture where claim has been filed with district 

attorney for impounded vehicle 

VC 14607.6(e)(4) $ 100 

28 Abstract of judgment rendered from another court (unless filed 

with an application for order of sale of a dwelling under CCP 

GC 70626(b)(2) $ 30 

 

3 
Caption must identify the action as subject to the supplemental fee. 

 

 Other Initial Filing Fees (both Limited and Unlimited Civil Cases) 
 704.750 or with an application for order of examination under 

CCP 708.160) 

  

29 Issuing commission to take deposition out of state under CCP 

2026.010 

GC 70626(b)(5) $ 30 

30 Filing and entering award under Workers’ Compensation Act GC 70626(b)(6) $ 30 

 
 Discovery in Out-of-State Case 

31 Application for subpoena for discovery in out-of-state case 

(CCP 2029.300) 

GC 70626(b)(5) $30 

32 First petition by party for relief in discovery dispute related to 

out-of-state case (CCP 2029.610(a), CCP 2029.620(c)(1)) 

GC 70611, 

70602.5, 70602.6 
$ 435* 

33 First petition by non-party for relief in discovery dispute 

related to out-of-state case (CCP 2029.610(a), CCP 

2029.620(c)(2)) 

GC 70626(c) $ 80 

34 Subsequent petition by party for relief in discovery dispute 

related to out-of-state case (where first appearance fee was 

previously paid) (CCP 2029.620(c)(1)) 

GC 70617(a) $ 60 
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35 Subsequent petition by non-party for relief in discovery dispute 

related to out-of-state case (where fee under GC 70626(c) was 

previously paid) (CCP 2029.620(c)(2)) 

GC 70617(a) $ 60 

36 Response by party to petition for relief in discovery dispute 

related to out-of-state case (where first appearance fee was not 

previously paid) (CCP 2029.610(c)) 

GC 70612, 

70602.5, 70602.6 
$ 435* 

37 Response by party to petition for relief in discovery dispute 

related to out-of-state case (where first appearance fee was 

previously paid) 

CCP 2029.620(d) No fee 

38 Response by non-party to petition for relief in discovery 

dispute related to out-of-state case 

CCP 2029.610(c), 

CCP 2029.620(d) 

No fee 

 
 Requests for Protective Orders 

39 Petition to prevent domestic violence and response FC 6222, 

GC 70617(b)(7) 

No fee 

40 Petition to prevent abuse of an elder or dependent adult and 

response 

W&I 15657.03(q), 

GC 70617(b)(10) 

No fee 

41 Petition to prevent civil harassment (involving violence, threats 

of violence, or stalking) and response 

CCP 527.6(w)–(x) No fee 

42 Petition to prevent civil harassment (other) and response GC 70611, 70612, 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

43 Petition to prevent workplace violence (involving violence, 

threats of violence, or stalking) and response 

CCP 527.8(v)–(w) No fee 

44 Petition to prevent workplace violence (other) and response GC 70611, 70612, 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

 

 
 
 
 

CIVIL MOTION AND OTHER FILING FEES 

45 Motion or other paper requiring a hearing (unless it is the 

party’s first paper and the first paper filing fee is paid), 

including the following: 

GC 70617(a) $ 60 

46 Motion listed under CCP 1005(a)(1)–(12) 

47 Motion or application to continue a trial date 

48 Discovery motion under CCP 2016.010 et seq. 

49 Motion for new trial 

50 Ex parte application requiring a party to give notice of the ex 

parte appearance to other parties 

51 Motion for summary judgment or for summary adjudication GC 70617(d) $ 500 

52 Application to appear as counsel pro hac vice GC 70617(e)(1) $ 500 

53 Renewal fee for application to appear as counsel pro hac vice 

for each year a case continues 

GC 70617(e)(2) $500 
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54 Reclassification of limited jurisdiction case to unlimited 

jurisdiction (CCP 403.060) 

GC 70619 $ 140 

55 Processing change of venue
4 

(payable to superior court from 

which the transfer was requested) (a separate check with the 

initial filing fee for the court to which the case will be 

transferred is also required) 

GC 70618 $ 50 

56 Request, application, or motion for, or notice of, continuance 

of hearing or case management conference 

GC 70617(c)(1) $ 20 

57 Stipulation and order (unless it is the party’s first paper and the 

first paper filing fee is paid) 

GC 70617(c)(2) $ 20 

58 Request for order authorizing service of summons by posting 

(CCP 415.45) or by publication (CCP 415.50) 

GC 70617(c)(3) $ 20 

59 Amended notice of motion GC 70617(b)(2) No fee 

60 Civil case management statement GC 70617(b)(3) No fee 

61 Request for trial de novo after judicial arbitration GC 70617(b)(4) No fee 

62 Stipulation that does not require an order GC 70617(b)(5) No fee 

63 A request for entry of default or default judgment GC 70617(b)(8) No fee 

 

CIVIL JURY AND TRIAL RELATED FEES 

64 Advance jury fee (nonrefundable) CCP 631(b) $ 150 
 
 
 

4 
This is a processing fee “for making up and transmitting the transcript and papers” when venue in a case is changed. The 

motion fee under GC 70617 is charged separately for a motion for change of venue. 
 

 

 

CIVIL JURY AND TRIAL RELATED FEES 

65 Daily jury deposits (amount set by court) CCP 631(e) Amount set 

by court 

66 Court reporting services in civil proceedings lasting one 

hour or less 

GC 68086(a)(1)(A) $ 30 

67 Court reporter per diem fees for civil proceedings lasting more 

than one hour (amount set by court) 

GC 68086(a)(1)(B) Amount set 

by court 

68 Extra court reporter (amount set by court) GC 69953.5 Amount set 

by court 

 

JUDGMENT RELATED FEES 

69 Confession of judgment (CCP 1134) GC 70626(b)(3) $ 30 

70 Renewal of judgment (CCP 683.150) GC 70626(b)(4) $ 30 

71 Notice of settlement (CRC 3.1385)  No fee 

72 Certified copy of order to DMV when court orders judgment 

paid in installments 

VC 16379 Amount set 

by court 
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POST JUDGMENT RELATED FEES 

73 Issuing writ of attachment, writ of mandate, writ of execution, 

writ of sale, writ of possession, writ of prohibition, writ of 

restitution, or any other writ for enforcement of an order or 

judgment 

GC 70626(a)(1) $ 25 

74 Issuing abstract of judgment GC 70626(a)(2) $ 25 

75 Issuing an order of sale GC 70626(b)(1) $ 30 

76 Application for order of sale of a dwelling (CCP 704.750) GC 70617(a)(7) $ 60 

77 Application for examination of third person controlling 

defendant’s property (CCP 491.110, 491.150) 

GC 70617(a)(3) $ 60 

78 Application for order for judgment debtor examination (CCP 

708.110, 708.160). No separate fee is charged for filing the 

abstract of judgment with the application. 

GC 70617(a)(6) $ 60 

79 Certificate of satisfaction of judgment (CCP 724.100) GC 70626(a)(3) $ 25 

80 Notice to DMV of judgment debtor’s default in making 

installment payments 

VC 16381 Amount set 

by court 

 

SMALL CLAIMS FEES 

81 Filing claim for $1,500 or less CCP 116.230(b)(1) $ 30 

82 Filing claim for more than $1,500 but less than or equal to 

$5,000 

CCP 116.230(b)(2) $ 50 

83 Filing claim for more than $5,000 but less than or equal to 

$10,000 (claim by natural persons only, with certain 

exceptions) 

CCP 116.230(b)(3), 

CCP 116.221 

$ 75 

84 Filing claim by person who has filed more than 12 small claims 

in California within the previous 12 months 

CCP 116.230(c) $ 100 

 

SMALL CLAIMS FEES 

85 Amendment raising amount of claim from $1,500 or less to 

more than $1,500 but not exceeding $5,000 

CCP 116.230(d)(1) $ 20 

86 Amendment raising amount of claim from more than $1,500 

but not exceeding $5,000 to more than $5,000 but not 

exceeding $10,000 (claim by natural persons only, with certain 

exceptions) 

CCP 116.230(d)(2), 

CCP 116.221 

$ 25 

87 Amendment raising amount of claim from $1,500 or less to 

more than $5,000 but not exceeding $10,000 (claim by natural 

persons only, with certain exceptions) 

CCP 116.230(d)(3), 

CCP 116.221 

$ 45 

88 Service of copy of a claim under CCP § 116.340, for each 

defendant to whom the clerk mails a copy of the claim 

CCP 116.232 $ 15 

89 Transfer of case out of small claims court (defendant’s claim 

exceeding jurisdictional limit) (no receiving court filing or 

transfer fee) 

CCP 116.390 No fee 

90 Request for postponement of hearing, if defendant has been 

served 

CCP 116.570 $ 10 
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91 Notice of appeal of small claims case CCP 116.760 $ 75 

92 Motion to vacate CCP 116.745 $ 20 

93 Fee for payment of judgment to court CCP 116.860 $ 20 

94 Application for order of examination of judgment debtor GC 70617(a)(6), 

CCP 116.820 

$ 60 

95 Writ of execution GC 70626(a)(1), 

CCP 116.820 

$ 25 

96 Abstract of judgment GC 70626(a)(2), 

CCP 116.820 

$ 25 

 

FAMILY LAW FEES 

97 Petition or other first paper (including a joint petition) for 

dissolution of marriage or domestic partnership, legal 

separation, or nullity 

GC 70670(b), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

98 Response or other first paper filed in response to petition for 

dissolution of marriage or domestic partnership, legal 

separation, or nullity 

GC 70670(d), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

99 First paper in family law matter other than dissolution of 

marriage or domestic partnership, legal separation, or nullity 

GC 70670(a), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

100 First paper filed in response in family law matter other than 

dissolution of marriage or domestic partnership, legal 

separation, or nullity 

GC 70670(c), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

101 A settlement agreement or stipulation for judgment that is 

signed by a defaulted respondent and included in a judgment of 

dissolution of marriage or domestic partnership; or a 

stipulation to modify such an agreement if the stipulation is 

presented by the petitioner. (Defaulted respondent is not 

charged a first paper fee under GC 70670. GC 70671(b), (e).) 

GC 70677(c) No fee 

 

FAMILY LAW FEES 

102 Appearance, stipulation, and waiver of rights in dissolution of 

marriage or domestic partnership, legal separation or nullity or 

to establish parentage, when respondent is a member of the 

armed forces 

GC 70673 No fee 

103 Petition for adoption (for each person to be adopted)
5
 H&S 103730 $ 20 

104 Filings in a proceeding to declare a minor free from parental 

custody and control 

FC 7806, 7841 No fee 

105 Domestic violence restraining orders, including a request to 

obtain, modify, or enforce an order to prevent domestic 

violence or response to that request; and any request that is 

necessary to obtain or give effect to a restraining order 

GC 70671(f), 

GC 70677(b)(5), 

FC 6222 

No fee 

106 Motion or order to show cause in family law matter (unless it is 

the party’s first paper and the first paper filing fee is paid) 

GC 70677(a) $ 60 

107 Additional charge on motion or order to show cause to modify 

or enforce custody or visitation 

GC 70678 $ 25 
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108 Stipulation and order not requiring a hearing; request or 

stipulation for continuance of hearing or case management 

conference not requiring a hearing 

GC 70677(c) $ 20 

109 Stipulation that does not require an order GC 70677(b)(7) No fee 

110 A stipulation regarding the date of termination of marital or 

domestic partnership status if the court has retained jurisdiction 

over that date 

GC 70671(c) No fee 

111 First paper or any subsequent paper filed by the Department 

of Child Support Services to establish parentage or to 

establish, modify, or collect support 

GC 6103.9, 70672 No fee 

112 Response or subsequent paper filed in an action brought by the 

Department of Child Support Services to establish parentage 

or to establish, modify, or collect support if support is the only 

issue. If a custody issue is raised, see charge for first paper 

filed in response to other family law matters. 

GC 70672 No fee 

113 Filings on issues relating to parentage or support in a pre- 

existing non-governmental case in which a Title IV-D child 

support agency has intervened and is providing services under 

FC 17400 

GC 70672 No fee 

114 Statement to register a foreign support order or other first paper 

in a UIFSA case 

GC 70677, 

FC 4927 

No fee 

115 A document relating to a stipulated postjudgment 

modification of child support 

GC 70671(d) No fee 

116 Costs for stepparent adoption, including investigation (amount 

set by court, up to $700) (FC 9001, 9002) 

FC 9002 Amount set 

by court 

117 Child custody evaluation (amount set by court) FC 3112 Amount set 

by court 
 

FAMILY LAW FEES 

118 Court-appointed counsel for child (amount set by court) 

(FC 3150 et seq.) 

FC 3153 Amount set 

by court 

119 Premarital counseling for minors FC 304 Amount set 

by court 

120 Cost for investigation re: petition to declare child free from 

parental custody and control 

FC 7851.5 Amount set 

by court 

 

PROBATE FEES 

121 First-filed petition for letters of administration or letters 

testamentary, first-filed petition for special letters of 

administration with powers of general representative under 

Prob.C 8545 

GC 70650(a), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 
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122 First objection to probate of will or codicil (Prob.C 8250); 

first petition for revocation of probate of will or codicil 

(Prob.C 8270) (if filed together with petition for appointment 

of personal representative under GC 70650(c), only the fee 

under GC 70650(c) is charged) 

GC 70650(b), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

123 Later-filed petition for letters of administration, letters 

testamentary, or special letters of administration with powers 

of general representative by a person other than the original 

petitioner 

GC 70650(c), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

124 First or subsequent petition for special letters of 

administration without powers of general personal 

representative 

GC 70657.5(a)(3) $ 200 

125 Opposition to a petition for appointment of a personal 

representative in a decedent’s estate, other than a competing 

petition for appointment or a will contest, and objection or 

other opposition to first account of testamentary trustee 

subject to court supervision 

GC 70651, 

70602.5, 70602.6 
$ 435* 

126 Petition (or opposition to petition) concerning the internal 

affairs of a trust under Prob.C 17200 et seq., or first account 

of trustee of testamentary trust subject to continuing court 

jurisdiction under Prob.C 17300 et seq. 

GC 70652, 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

127 Petition (or opposition to petition) concerning the internal 

affairs of a trust created by court order under Prob.C 2580, 

3100, or 3600 (trusts not subject to the $435 fee under GC 

70652) 

GC 70657.5(a)(1), 

70652(d) 

$ 200 

128 Petition for appointment of conservator, guardian of the estate 

or guardian of the person and estate or opposition to these 

petitions other than competing petition for appointment 

GC 70653(a), (b), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

129 Opposition to petition for appointment of conservator, 

guardian of the estate or guardian of the person and estate 

filed by or on behalf of the proposed conservatee or proposed 

ward or a parent of the proposed ward 

GC 70653(f) No fee 

 

PROBATE FEES 

130 Petition for appointment of guardian of the person only or 

opposition to petition other than competing petition for 

appointment 

GC 70654(a), (b), 

70602.5 

$ 225 

131 Opposition to petition by the proposed ward or the parent of 

the proposed ward 

GC 70654(e) No fee 

132 Petition or opposition filed after issuance of letters of 

guardianship or temporary guardianship, in guardianship of the 

person only 

GC 70657(e) No fee 

133 First or subsequent petition for temporary letters of 

conservatorship or guardianship 

GC 70657(a)(4) $ 60 

134 Petition commencing other proceedings under the Probate Code 

and objections or other opposition to such petitions, including 

the following: 

GC 70655, 

70602.5, 70602.6 
$ 435* 
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135 Petition to determine the fact of death to determine title to real 

property and objections or other opposition (Prob.C 200) 

GC 70655(c)(4), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

136 Petition for an order concerning a particular transaction and 

objections or other opposition (Prob.C 3100) 

GC 70655(c)(5), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

137 Petition for an order concerning capacity determination and 

health care decision authority for adult without conservator and 

objections or other opposition (Prob.C 3200) 

GC 70655(c)(6), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

138 Petition for compromise of the claim of a minor or disabled 

adult, no civil action pending, and objections or other 

opposition (Prob.C 3600) 

GC 70655(c)(1), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

139 Petition concerning a power of attorney and objections or other 

opposition (Prob.C 4541) 

GC 70655(c)(8), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

140 Petition concerning advance health care directive and 

objections or other opposition (Prob.C 4766) 

GC 70655(c)(7), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

141 Petition to determine succession to real property and objections 

or other opposition (Prob.C 13151) 

GC 70655(c)(2), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

142 Spousal or domestic partnership property petition and 

objections or other opposition (Prob.C 13650)
6

 

GC 70655(c)(3), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

143 Petition for approval, compromise, or settlement of claims 

against deceased settlor, or for allocation of amounts due 

between trusts, or objections or other opposition (Prob.C 

19020) 

GC 70655(c)(9), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

144 Any other petition that commences a proceeding under the 

Probate Code and objections or other opposition 

GC 70655(c)(10), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435* 

145 Petition for order setting aside estate of small value if no estate 

is pending for the decedent (Prob.C 6602) 

GC 70656(a), 

70602.5 

$ 225 

146 Opposition to petition for order setting aside estate of small 

value (Prob.C 6602) 

GC 70656(b), 

70602.5 

$ 225 

 

PROBATE FEES 

147 Petition (or opposition to petition) for an order listed below, 

filed after issuance of letters testamentary, letters of 

administration, or letters of special administration to a 

personal representative of a decedent’s estate; letters of 

guardianship or temporary guardianship to a guardian of the 

estate or person and estate; or letters of conservatorship or 

temporary conservatorship to a conservator 

GC 70658(a), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

$ 435 

 Petition for order concerning sale, lease, encumbrance, grant of 

an option, purchase, conveyance, or exchange of property 

GC 70658(a)(1), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order settling an account of a fiduciary GC 70658(a)(2), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order authorizing, instructing, or directing a 

fiduciary, or approving or confirming acts of a fiduciary 

GC 70658(a)(3), 

70602.5, 70602.6 
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 Petition for order concerning payment of compensation or 

expenses of an attorney 

GC 70658(a)(4), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order concerning payment of compensation or 

expenses of a fiduciary 

GC 70658(a)(5), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order surcharging or removing a fiduciary GC 70658(a)(6), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order transferring or authorizing transfer of 

property of an estate to a fiduciary in another jurisdiction 

GC 70658(a)(7), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order allowing a fiduciary’s request to resign GC 70658(a)(8), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order adjudicating a claim to property under 

Prob.C 850 et seq. 

GC 70658(a)(9), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order granting permission to fix the residence of a 

ward or conservatee outside of California 

GC 70658(a)(10), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order concerning payments for support, 

maintenance, or education of a ward or conservatee or a of 

person entitled to support, maintenance, or education from a 

ward or conservatee 

GC 70658(a)(11), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order concerning payment of surplus income to 

relatives of a conservatee (Prob.C 2423) or concerning 

substituted judgment (Prob.C 2580) 

GC 70658(a)(12), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order affecting legal capacity of a conservatee under 

Prob.C 1870 et seq. 

GC 70658(a)(13), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

 Petition for order adjudicating merits of a claim under 

Prob.C 2500 et seq. 

GC 70658(a)(14), 

70602.5, 70602.6 

148 Petition (or opposition to petition) filed after the issuance of 

temporary letters of guardianship or conservatorship or letters 

of guardianship or conservatorship not subject to the $435 fee 

in GC 70658(a) and not exempt under GC 70657(e) 

GC 70657(a)(3) $ 60 

149 Petition (or opposition to petition) filed after the issuance of 

letters of guardianship or temporary letters of guardianship in a 

guardianship of the person only 

GC 70657(e), 

70658(c)(1) 

No fee 

 

PROBATE FEES 

150 Disclaimer of interest in a decedent’s estate GC 70657.5(c), 

70658(c)(2) 
No fee 

151 Petition (or opposition to petition) after issuance of special 

letters of administration or letters testamentary or of 

administration in decedents’ estates that are not subject to the 

$435 fee in GC 70658(a) 

GC 70657.5(a)(2) $ 200 

152 Motion, application or other paper requiring a hearing after 

the first paper, including motion or other paper listed in GC 

70617(a) 

(motions listed in CCP 1005(a)(1)–(12), motion to continue a 

trial date, discovery motions, motion for new trial) 

GC 70657(a)(1), 

70617(a) 

$ 60 

153 Application for ex parte relief other than ex parte petition for 

discharge. 

GC 70657(a)(2) $ 60 
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154 Ex parte petition for discharge of personal representative, 

conservator, or guardian upon completion of court-ordered 

distribution or transfer 

GC 70657(a)(2) No fee 

155 Motion or other paper listed in GC 70617(b) (list of 13 items), 

including: 

GC 70657(b) No fee 

 Amended notice of motion GC 70657(b), 

70617(b)(2) 

 Civil case management statement GC 70657(b), 

70617(b)(3) 

 Request for trial de novo after judicial arbitration GC 70657(b), 

70617(b)(4) 

 Stipulation that does not require an order GC 70657(b), 

70617(b)(5) 

 A request for entry of default or default judgment GC 70657(b), 

70617(b)(8) 

 Paper requiring a hearing on a petition to approve the 

compromise of a claim of a minor or person with a 

disability under Prob.C 3600. 

GC 70657(b), 

70617(b)(13) 

156 Petition to withdraw funds from blocked account GC 70657(a) $ 60 

157 Motion for summary judgment GC 70657(c), 

70617(d) 

$ 500 

158 Deposit of estate planning documents GC 70660 $ 20 

159 Search for estate documents, for each search longer than 10 

minutes 

GC 70661 $ 15 

160 Petition to establish record of birth, death, or marriage H&S 103470, 

GC 70602.5 

$ 225 

161 Affidavit procedure for real property of small value under 

Prob.C 13201 

GC 70626(b)(9) $ 30 

162 Guardianship investigations (amount set by court) Prob.C 1513.1 Amount set 

by court 
 

PROBATE FEES 

163 Information package for conservators Prob.C 1835 $ 20 

164 Conservatorship investigator's fee (amount set by court) Prob.C 1851.5 Amount set 

by court 

165 Petition for summary probate (Public Administrator only) Prob.C 7660 $ 205 

166 Delivery of will to the court in which the estate may be 

administered (Prob.C 8200) 

GC 70626(d) $ 50 

167 Request for special notice in decedent’s estate, guardianship, 

conservatorship, and trust proceedings (Prob.C 1250, 2700, 

17204) 

GC 70662 $ 40 

168 Registering a conservatorship established outside of 

California (effective January 1, 2016) 

GC 70663 $ 30 
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APPEAL AND WRIT RELATED FEES 

 
 Appeal of Unlimited Civil Case 

169 Certificate for Court of Appeal or Supreme Court on motion 

prior to filing appeal record 

GC 70620 $ 20 

170 Appeal or cross appeal to court of appeal (payable to court of 

appeal) 

GC 68926, 

68926.1(b) 

$ 775 

171 Deposit for preparation of clerk’s transcript (payable to 

superior court) (charged when notice of appeal to court of 

appeal is filed under GC 68926) 

GC 68926.1 $ 100 

 
 Other Appeals 

172 Appeal in limited civil case (to appellate division), where 

amount demanded in case does not exceed $10,000 

GC 70621(b), 

70602.5 

$ 225 

173 Appeal in limited civil case (to appellate division), where 

amount demanded in case exceeds $10,000 (but does not 

exceed $25,000) 

GC 70621(a), 

70602.5 

$ 370 

174 Appeal in small claims case CCP 116.760 $ 75 

175 Writ petition to appellate division, where amount demanded in 

limited civil case does not exceed $10,000 

GC 70621(b), 

70602.5 

$ 225 

176 Writ petition to appellate division, where amount demanded in 

limited civil case exceeds $10,000 (but does not exceed 

$25,000) 

GC 70621(a), 

70602.5 

$ 370 

177 Appeal from Labor Commissioner’s Award (Lab.C 98.2) GC 70611, 

70602.5, 70602.6 
$ 435* 

178 Appeal of final decision on parking citation violation (VC 

40230) 

GC 70615(b) $ 25 

179 Appeal from determination of dangerous or vicious dog (F&A 

31622) 

GC 70626(b)(8) $ 30 

180 Appeal of administrative fine or penalty (GC 53069.4(b)(2)) GC 70615(a) $ 25 
 

181 Appeal of administrative penalty for fare evasion or passenger 

conduct violation (PUC 99582) 

GC 70615(c) $ 25 

 

RECORDS RELATED FEES 

182 Certifying a copy of paper, record, or proceeding on file GC 70626(a)(4) $ 25 

183 Certificate for which fee is not otherwise fixed; includes lis 

pendens 

GC 70626(a)(8) $ 25 

184 Preparing a copy of any record, proceeding or paper on file (per 

page) 

GC 70627(a) $ 0.50 

185 Comparison of a copy with an original on file (per page) GC 70627(b) $ 1 

186 Searching records or files, for each search longer than 10 minutes GC 70627(c) $ 15 

187 Exemplification of record or other paper on file GC 70628 $ 50 
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188 Document authenticated pursuant to court order (per signature) GC 70629 $ 15 

189 Certified copy of marriage or domestic partnership dissolution 

record (requested by public agency) 

GC 70674 $ 10 

190 Certified copy of marriage or domestic partnership dissolution 

record (requested by any other applicant) 

GC 70674 $ 15 

 

RETURNED CHECKS AND INSUFFICIENT PAYMENTS 

191 Administrative charge for a check that is returned without 

payment. A filing paid with such a check will be void if not 

paid, within 20 days of notification, in cash, by certified check, 

or by other means specified by the court, but not by traveler’s 

check or personal check. 

CCP 411.20(g), 

GC 71386 

$35 

192 Administrative charge for processing a partial payment. A first 

paper filing submitted with a check for an insufficient amount 

will be void if the amount due is not paid within 20 days of 

notification. 

CCP 411.21(g) $25 

 

MISCELLANEOUS FEES 

193 Administrative charge for collection of fees where fee 

waiver was previously granted 

GC 68638(a) (3) $ 25 

194 Administrative charge for recovering, as part of judgment, 

fees not paid by public entity under GC 6103 

GC 6103.5(d) Amount 

set by 

court 

195 Taking affidavit, except in criminal case or adoption 

proceedings 

GC 70626(a)(5) $ 25 

196 Acknowledgment of deed or other instrument GC 70626(a)(6) $ 25 

197 Recording or registering license or issuing certificate in 

connection with a license, required by law, for which 

charge is not otherwise prescribed 

GC 70626(a)(7) $ 25 

198 Filing affidavit of publication of notice of dissolution of 

partnership 

GC 70626(b)(7) $ 30 

 

MISCELLANEOUS FEES 

199 Filing and indexing papers for which a charge is not 

provided elsewhere 

GC 70626(b)(10) $ 30 

200 Appearance by videoconferencing GC 70630 Amount 

set by 

court 

201 Reasonable fee for service or product, not to exceed costs, 

where no fee is otherwise provided for (Rule 10.815) 

GC 70631 Amount 

set by 

court 

202 Administering funds held in trust for deposits of funds for 

reporters’ transcripts 

GC 70632 

CRC 8.130 and 

8.834 

$50 

203 Certificate of facts regarding unsatisfied judgment VC 16373 $15 
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204 Advance witness fee for court employee GC 68097.2(a,b) $ 275* 

205 Facsimile filing fee, per page in addition to any other fee 

imposed by law 

CRC 10.815(b) Amount 

set by 

court 

206 Audio tape of court proceedings, (customer provides 90 

minute tape) for each tape copied 

 $ 10* 

207 Video tape of court proceedings, (customer provides T-120 

VHS tape) for each tape copied 

 $ 10* 

208 CD of court proceedings  $ 11* 

 

*Local Court Fee 
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Appendix: First paper filing fees under the UCF in courts with local courthouse construction 

surcharges 
 
 

 Limited civil cases Unlimited civil 

cases 

(> $25,000), 

family, probate 

Limited civil 

< $10,000 

Limited civil 

> $10,000 

Amendment to 

amount over 
$10,000

7
 

Statewide uniform fee
8

 $ 225 $ 370 $ 145 $ 435 

Normal distribution to State Court 
Facilities Construction Fund

9
 

$ 20 $ 25 None $ 35 

Riverside
10

 Local courthouse 

construction surcharge 

$ 50 $ 50 None $ 50 

Distribution to SCFCF $ 0 $ 0 None $ 0 

Total fee (with local 

surcharge and offset 

from SCFCF 

distribution) 

$ 255 $ 395 $ 140 $ 450 

San 

Bernardino 
11 

Local courthouse 

construction surcharge 

$ 35 $ 35 None $ 35 

Distribution to SCFCF $ 0 $ 0 None $ 0 

Total fee (with local 

surcharge and offset 

from SCFCF 

distribution) 

$ 240 $ 380 $ 140 $ 435 

San 

Francisco
12

 

Local courthouse 

construction surcharge 

$ 10 $ 10 None $ 50 

Distribution to SCFCF $ 10 $ 15 None $ 0 

Total fee (with local 

surcharge and offset 

from SCFCF 

distribution) 

$ 225 $ 370 $ 145 $ 450 

 
 
7 

This column shows the fee under GC 70613.5 for a filing increasing the amount at issue in a limited civil case from 
$10,000 or less to more than $10,000. The fee reflects the incremental amount that the first paper fee for a case with more 
than $10,000 at issue exceeds the first paper fee for a case with $10,000 or less at issue. 

8 
These uniform filing fees apply to both first paper filings and response filings in limited, unlimited, family law and 

probate cases. 
9 

Under the Uniform Civil Fee legislation, the standard distributions to the State Court Facilities Construction Fund are 
$20, $25 and $35 depending on the level and type of filing. In Riverside, San Bernardino and San Francisco the 
distribution to the SCFCF is reduced to offset, to the extent possible, the local courthouse construction surcharge. 

10 
In Riverside the maximum surcharge allowed by statute is $50 under GC 70622. As of January 1, 2009, the surcharge is 
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$50 for all cases. 
11 

In San Bernardino the maximum surcharge allowed by statute is $35, which is applied to all first paper filings. 
(GC 70624.) 
12 

In San Francisco the maximum surcharge allowed by statute is $50. $10 is applied to limited civil cases and $50 to 
other first paper filings. (GC 70625.) 

Fees for limited civil unlawful detainer cases and cases filed by 

assignees in courts with local courthouse construction 

surcharges 

 
 Limited civil unlawful detainer 

cases
13

 

Cases filed by assignees 

Unlawful 

detainer, limited 

civil < $10,000 

Unlawful 

detainer, limited 

civil > $10,000 

Ltd civil with 

declarations 
<$5,000 

Amendment 
to amount 

over 
$10,000

14
 Statewide uniform fee $ 240 $ 385 $ 181 $ 189 

Normal distribution to State Court 
Facilities Construction Fund

15
 

$ 20 $ 25 $ 20 None 

Riverside
16

 Local courthouse 

construction surcharge 

$ 50 $ 50 $ 50 None 

Distribution to SCFCF $ 0 $ 0 $ 0 None 

Total fee (with local 

surcharge and offset 

from SCFCF 

distribution) 

$ 270 $ 410 $ 211 $ 184 

San 

Bernardino
17

 

Local courthouse 

construction surcharge 

$ 35 $ 35 $ 35 None 

Distribution to SCFCF $ 0 $ 0 $ 0 None 

Total fee (with local 

surcharge and offset 

from SCFCF 

distribution) 

$ 255 $ 395 $ 196 $ 184 

San 

Francisco
18

 

Local courthouse 

construction surcharge 

$ 10 $ 10 $ 10 None 

Distribution to SCFCF $ 10 $ 15 $ 10 None 

Total fee (with local 

surcharge and offset 

from SCFCF 

distribution) 

$ 240 $ 385 $ 181 $ 189 

 
 

 
13 

These amounts incorporate the additional $15 fee under CCP 1161.2 charged to plaintiffs in limited civil 

unlawful detainer cases. 
14 

This column shows the fee under GC 70613.5 for a filing increasing the amount at issue in a limited civil case filed by 
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an assignee (with declaration) from within the small claims jurisdictional limit to more than $10,000. The fee 
reflects the incremental amount that the first paper fee for a limited civil case with more than $10,000 at issue 
exceeds the first paper fee for a case with declarations with less than $5,000 at issue. 
15 

Under the Uniform Civil Fee legislation, the standard distributions to the State Court Facilities Construction Fund are 
$20, $25 and $35 depending on the level and type of filing. In Riverside, San Bernardino and San Francisco the 
distribution to the SCFCF is reduced to offset, to the extent possible, the local courthouse construction surcharge. 
16 

In Riverside the maximum surcharge allowed by statute is $50 under GC 70622. As of January 1, 2009, the surcharge is 
$50 for all cases. 
17 

In San Bernardino the maximum surcharge allowed by statute is $35, which is applied to all first paper 
filings. (GC 70624.) 
18 

In San Francisco the maximum surcharge allowed by statute is $50. $10 is applied to limited civil cases and 
$50 to other first paper filings. (GC 70625.) 
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APPENDIX III 

LOCAL FORMS – VENTURA SUPERIOR COURT – APPENDIX III 

ALPHABETICAL 
 

All local forms are available on the court’s website: www.ventura.courts.ca.gov 
 

 Number Document Name Date Rev. 

    

Mandatory VN202 ADOPTION AGREEMENT (ADULT) 01/09 

 VN001  AFFIDAVIT/CERTIFICATE/DECLARATION FOR SUBPENA 

DUCES TECUM 

07/03 

 VN002  AFFIDAVIT/CERTIFICATE/DECLARATION FOR SUBPENA 

DUCES TECUM RE: DEPOSITION  

07/03 

Mandatory VN243 AGREEMENT AND ORDER RE APPOINTMENT OF OFFICIAL 

REPORTER PRO TEMPORE 

07/16 

 VN242 ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION (ADR) INFORMATION 07/12 

 VN004  AMENDMENT TO COMPLAINT  07/03 

 VN107  ANSWER TO UNLAWFUL DETAINER – INSTRUCTIONS ONLY 01/10 

 VN005 APPLICATION AND DECLARATION FOR ISSUANCE OF 

WRIT OF POSSESSION 

07/03 

 VN006 APPLICATION AND ORDER TO SERVE SUMMONS BY 

POSTING – UNLAWFUL DETAINER 

07/03 

 VN007 APPLICATION FOR ISSUANCE OF WRIT OF EXECUTION   07/03 

 VN008 APPLICATION FOR ORDER OF PUBLICATION 07/11 

Mandatory  VN190 APPLICATION FOR REAL PROPERTY EQUITY BOND AND 

DECLARATION OF PROPERTY OWNER (S) 

01/08 

Mandatory VN232 ATTACHMENT 07/10 

 VN186 ATTACHMENT TO FAMILY LAW JUDGMENT (PROPERTY 

AND DEBT) 

01/06  

 

 VN237 ATTACHMENT TO FINANCIAL STATEMENT (SIMPLIFIED) 01/11 

Mandatory VN009 AWARD OF ARBITRATOR  07/12 

 VN245 CALENDARING REQUEST AND NOTICE SUPPORTING 

DECLARATION (JUVENILE DEPENDENCY) 

01/13 

Mandatory VN194 CERTIFICATE OF ACCEPTANCE 01/08 

Mandatory VN012 CERTIFICATE OF COMPETENCY TO PRACTICE IN 

JUVENILE DEPENDENCY COURT 

01/08 

 VN015 CERTIFICATE RE DISQUALIFICATION OF JUDGE (CCP 170.6) 07/03 

 VN223 CITATION REGARDING PETITION TO DECLARE CHILD FREE 

FROM PARENTAL CUSTODY AND CONTROL (FAMILY CODE  

7880, 7881) 

01/09 

 VN175 CLERK’S CERTIFICATE OF COSTS (CCP 668.090) 01/04 

 VN138 CLERK’S CERTIFICATE RE: SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT 01/06 

 VN215 CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT FOR JUDGMENT  

CREDITOR CASES – SMALL CLAIMS 

07/09 

Mandatory VN248 CONFIDENTIAL EX PARTE / TEMPORARY  

CONSERVATORSHIP INFORMATION SUMMARY 

(For Court Investigator) 

01/15 

Mandatory VN182 CONFIRMATION OF VIEWING CONSERVATORSHIP VIDEO 07/09 

Mandatory VN189 CONSENT FOR COURT ASSIGNMENT (FAMILY LAW) 07/12 

Table of 

Contents 

http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/
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Mandatory VN203 CONSENT OF SPOUSE TO ADOPTION (ADULT) 01/08 

Mandatory VN233 CONSERVATORSHIP CARE PLAN/STATUS REPORT 01/11 

 VN140 DECLARATION FOR ENTRY OF SATISFACTION OF 

JUDGMENT 

07/05 

 VN032 DECLARATION IN PROCEEDINGS AGAINST JOINT DEBTOR 07/03 

Mandatory VN033 DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF DEFICIENCY JUDGMENT ON 

SALE OF VEHICLE 

07/12 

 VN115 DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF DISSOMASTER 07/03 

 VN210 DECLARATION OF DUE DILIGENCE IN ATTEMPTS TO LOCATE 

ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT ADOPTION)  [FC 7665,7666] 

07/08 

Mandatory VN221 DECLARATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER OF  

PROFESSIONAL SUPERVISED VISITATION SERVICES 

07/13 

Mandatory VN222 DECLARATION OF ORGANIZATION PROVIDING  

PROFESSIONAL SUPERVISED VISITATION SERVICES 

07/13 

 VN034 DECLARATION RE: DEFAULT IN PAYMENTS   07/03 

 VN028 DECLARATION RE EX PARTE NOTICE 01/14 

 VN143 DISPUTE SETTLEMENT 07/13 

 VN209 EX PARTE APPLICATION FOR ORDER DISPENSING WITH 

NOTICE TO UNKNOWN FATHER OR TO ALLEGED FATHER 

WHOSE WHERABOUT REMAIN UNKNOWN AND  

TERMINATING PARENTAL RIGHTS; ORDER (STEP-PARENT  

ADOPTION)  [FC 7665, 7666] 

07/09 

 VN234 EX PARTE APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY 

GUARDIANSHIP 

07/14 

Mandatory VN130 EX PARTE PETITION TO ACCESS AN UNLAWFUL DETAINER 

ACTION (LIMITED CIVIL CASE) – CCP 1161.2  

07/03 

 VN188 EXPUNGEMENT FINANCIAL DATA SHEET RE ABILITY TO 

PAY COSTS OF SERVICES 

07/07 

Mandatory VN163 FAMILY COURT SERVICES INTAKE QUESTIONNAIRE 07/09 

 VN227 FAMILY LAW – APPLICATION AND ORDER FOR  

CONTINUANCE 

01/11 

 VN229 FAMILY LAW DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF 

CONTINUANCE 

07/09 

 VN208 FINDINGS AND ORDERS REGARDING PATERNITY AND  

TERMINATING PARENTAL RIGHTS OF ALLEGED NATURAL  

FATHER (STEP-PARENT ADOPTION)  (FC 7664) 

07/08 

 

 

 VN247 FINDINGS AND ORDERS REGARDING REQUEST TO RETURN 

TO JUVENILE COURT JURISDICTION AND FOSTER CARE  BY 

 NONMINOR 

07/13 

Mandatory VN042 GUARDIANSHIP QUESTIONNAIRE (PROBATE CODE 1513)  07/09 

 VN043 INFORMATION RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 07/03 

 VN144 INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A CLERK’S DEFAULT 

JUDGMENT (POSSESSION ONLY) UNLAWFUL DETAINER  

07/13 

Mandatory VN219 JOINT MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE  

STATEMENT 

01/11 

 VN049 JUDGMENT ON SISTER STATE JUDGMENT 07/03 

 VN236 LIST OF PROPERTY AND DEBTS 07/11 

 VN231 MAILING ADDRESS OF PARENT 07/10 

 VN185 MARITAL PARTNERSHIP SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 07/11 

 VN146 MOTION FOR ORDER CONTINUING 01/07 

 VN171 MOTION FOR ORDER FOR VISITATION (GUARDIANSHIP) 07/09 

 VN160 MOTION FOR ORDER RELEASING EVIDENCE 07/12 

 VN147 MOTION FOR ORDER SETTING ASIDE/VACATING DEFAULT/ 

STAYING EXECUTION OF JUDGMENT/EXPARTE (CIVIL) 

01/10 
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 VN153 MOTION FOR ORDER TO PAY JUDGMENT IN INSTALLMENTS 

(LIMITED CIVIL)  

07/03 

 

Mandatory VN225 NOTICE OF APPEAL – PARKING 07/09 

 VN058 NOTICE OF ARBITRATION HEARING DATE 07/12 

 VN059 NOTICE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT AND VOLUNTARY 

DISMISSAL  

07/03 

 VN060 NOTICE OF FILING OF PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF 

REHABILITATION AND PARDON 

07/12 

 VN206 NOTICE OF HEARING TO DETERMINE PATERNITY AND TO TERMINATE 

PARENTAL RIGHTS OF NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT ADOPTION)  

[FC 7664] 

07/08 

 VN197 NOTICE OF MOTION AND MOTION TO TRANSFER CASE TO 

APPROPRIATE COURT 

01/08 

 VN062  NOTICE OF PARTIAL SETTLEMENT  01/07 

 VN246 NOTICE OF POSTING ADVANCE JURY FEES 07/13 

 VN207 NOTICE TO ALLEGED FATHER OF RIGHT TO FILE ACTION 

TO DETERMINE PATERNITY [FC 7662(a)(2)] 

07/08 

 VN214 OBJECTION TO MOTION FOR VISITATION [GUARDIANSHIP] 07/08 

 VN213 OBJECTION TO PETITION FOR APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN 

[PROBATE CODE 1514, VENTURA COURT LOCAL RULE  

10.00F.4] 

07/08 

 VN162 ORDER  (GENERAL CIVIL) 07/12 

Mandatory VN192 ORDER APPROVING PROPERTY EQUITY BOND 01/08 

 VN170 ORDER CONFIRMING ARBITRATION AWARD 07/03 

 VN212 ORDER DISPENSING WITH FURTHER NOTICE TO ALLEGED  

NATURAL FATHER AND TERMINATING PARENTAL RIGHTS 

(STEP-PARENT ADOPTION) [FC 7630(c), 7664(a)] 

07/08 

 VN155 ORDER FOR CONTINUANCE (CIVIL) 07/03 

 VN154 ORDER FOR PAYMENT OF JUDGMENT IN INSTALLMENTS 

(LIMITED CIVIL)  

07/03 

 VN067 ORDER FOR PUBLICATION OF SUMMONS OR CITATION 01/05 

 VN148 ORDER GRANTING MOTION 07/10 

Mandatory VN204 ORDER OF ADOPTION (ADULT) 01/08 

 VN235 ORDER ON EX PARTE APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY 

GUARDIANSHIP 

07/14 

 VN161 ORDER RELEASING EVIDENCE 07/01 

 VN198 ORDER TRANSFERRING CASE TO APPROPRIATE COURT 01/08 

 
VN240 PARENTAGE AGREEMENT 01/12 

Mandatory 
VN201 PETITION FOR APPROVAL OF ADOPTION AGREEMENT (ADULT) 01/08 

Mandatory VN200 PETITION FOR AUTHORIZATION TO INSPECT ADOPTION AND BIRTH 

RECORD INFORMATION AND TO OBTAIN COPIES 

01/10 

 VN075 PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND  

PARDON 

07/12 

 VN241 PETITION FOR DISMISSAL OF AN INFRACTION 01/12 

 VN211 PETITION FOR ORDER DISPENSING WITH FURTHER NOTICE  

TO ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER AND TERMINATING  

ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER’S PARENTAL RIGHTS  

(STEP-PARENT ADOPTION) [FC 7630(c), 7664(a)] 

07/08 

 VN172 PETITION FOR RESTRICTED LICENSE (ADULT) 07/09 

 VN173 PETITION FOR RESTRICTED LICENSE (JUVENILE) 07/05 

 VN205 PETITION TO DETERMINE PARENTAL RIGHTS OF ALLEGED  

NATURAL FATHER AND TO TERMINATE THE PARENTAL 

07/08 
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RIGHTS OF ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT 

ADOPTION)  [FC 7630, 7660 ET SEQ] 

 VN077 PETITION TO SEAL JUVENILE RECORDS 07/09 

 VN125 PETITIONER’S/RESPONDENT’S STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT 

AND DISAGREEMENT 

07/13 

Mandatory VN191 PROMISSORY NOTE RE: PROPERTY EQUITY BOND 01/08 

 VN120 PROOF OF SERVICE  07/13 

Mandatory VN195 PROPERTY BOND INFORMATION SHEET 07/16 

 VN132 RELEASE OF MEDICAL INFORMATION  01/02 

Mandatory VN133  RELEASE OF SCHOOL INFORMATION 07/12 

 VN084 REQUEST AND ORDER APPOINTING PROBATE REFEREE  07/09 

Mandatory VN156 REQUEST AND ORDER FOR PUBLICATION OR POSTING  07/13 

 VN238 REQUEST FOR A COURT REPORTER FOR GUARDIANSHIP 

HEARING/TRIAL 

01/11 

Mandatory VN135 REQUEST FOR CONTINUANCE - PROBATE 01/13 

Mandatory VN230 REQUEST FOR CONTINUANCE 07/13 

 VN249 REQUEST FOR COPY OF JUVENILE CASE FILE/DOCUMENT 01/16 

Mandatory VN193 REQUEST FOR COPY OF NOTICE OF DEFAULT AND SALE 07/16 

 VN085 REQUEST FOR COURT APPOINTED COUNSEL AND HEARING 07/03 

 VN250 REQUEST FOR INTERPRETER 07/16 

 VN086 REQUEST/COUNTER REQUEST FOR MANDATORY 

 SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE/TRIAL SETTING (FAMILY LAW) 

01/13 

 

 VN180 REQUEST FOR RELIEF FROM DEFAULT, EXTENSION OF TIME  

TO FILE STATEMENT ON APPEAL; DECLARATION AND 

ORDER 

07/09 

 VN179 REQUEST FOR RELIEF FROM DEFAULT, EXTENSION OF TIME 

TO FILE OPENING BRIEF; DECLARATION AND ORDER 

07/09 

 VN220 REQUEST FOR REPORT FROM HUMAN SERVICES 01/11 

Mandatory VN089 SEALING YOUR JUVENILE RECORD INFORMATION SHEET 07/16 

 VN139 SMALL CLAIMS INFORMATION SHEET 07/12 

 VN187 SMALL CLAIMS ITEMIZATION OF DEBT ATTACHMENT 07/07 

 VN224 SMALL CLAIMS SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 07/09 

 VN239 STATEMENT OF LEGAL GROUNDS FOR PETITION TO  

TERMINATE PARENTAL RIGHTS 

07/11 

 VN065 STATEMENT RE: WARRANT 07/16 

 VN152 STIPULATION AND ORDER FOR PAYMENT OF JUDGMENT IN 

INSTALLMENTS (LIMITED CIVIL) 

07/03 

Mandatory VN118 STIPULATION AND ORDER FOR PRIVATE MEDIATION 07/12 

 VN103 STIPULATION AND ORDER ON ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE; 

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AT TIME OF TRIAL; 

CONTINUANCE DATES 

07/13 

 VN093 STIPULATION FOR JUDGMENT AND JUDGMENT (CIVIL)  07/03 

 VN244 STIPULATION TO APPOINTMENT OF OFFICIAL REPORTER 

PRO TEMPORE 

01/13 

 VN164 STIPULATION TO USE OF ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE 

RESOLUTION PROCESS 

01/02 

 VN165 VERIFICATION 07/03 

 VN100 VERIFICATION OF TRANSLATION  07/03 

 VN131 WAIVER OF FINAL DECLARATION OF DISCLOSURE 07/03 

 VN174 WRIT OF EXECUTION – ATTACHMENT 20 01/04 
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LOCAL FORMS – VENTURA SUPERIOR COURT 

NUMERICAL 

All local forms are available on the court’s website: www.ventura.courts.ca.gov 
  

 Number Document Name Date Rev. 

    

 VN001  AFFIDAVIT/CERTIFICATE/DECLARATION FOR SUBPENA 

DUCES TECUM 

07/03 

 VN002  AFFIDAVIT/CERTIFICATE/DECLARATION FOR SUBPENA 

DUCES TECUM RE: DEPOSITION  

07/03 

 VN004  AMENDMENT TO COMPLAINT  07/03 

 VN005 APPLICATION AND DECLARATION FOR ISSUANCE OF 

WRIT OF POSSESSION 

07/03 

 VN006 APPLICATION AND ORDER TO SERVE SUMMONS BY 

POSTING – UNLAWFUL DETAINER 

07/03 

 VN007 APPLICATION FOR ISSUANCE OF WRIT OF EXECUTION   07/03 

 VN008 APPLICATION FOR ORDER OF PUBLICATION  07/11 

Mandatory VN009 AWARD OF ARBITRATOR  07/12 

Mandatory VN012 CERTIFICATE OF COMPETENCY TO PRACTICE IN 

JUVENILE DEPENDENCY COURT 

01/08 

 VN015 CERTIFICATE RE DISQUALIFICATION OF JUDGE (CCP 170.6) 07/03 

 VN028 DECLARATION RE EX PARTE NOTICE  01/14 

 VN032 DECLARATION IN PROCEEDINGS AGAINST JOINT DEBTOR 07/03 

Mandatory VN033 DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF DEFICIENCY JUDGMENT ON 

SALE OF VEHICLE  

07/12 

 VN034 DECLARATION RE: DEFAULT IN PAYMENTS   07/03 

Mandatory VN042 GUARDIANSHIP QUESTIONNAIRE (PROBATE CODE 1513)  07/09 

 VN043 INFORMATION RELEASE AUTHORIZATION  07/03 

 VN049 JUDGMENT ON SISTER STATE JUDGMENT 07/03 

 VN058 NOTICE OF ARBITRATION HEARING DATE 07/12 

 VN059 NOTICE OF CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT AND VOLUNTARY 

DISMISSAL  

07/03 

 VN060 NOTICE OF FILING OF PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF 

REHABILITATION AND PARDON 

07/12 

 VN062  NOTICE OF PARTIAL SETTLEMENT  01/07 

 VN065 STATEMENT RE: WARRANT 07/16 

 VN067 ORDER FOR PUBLICATION OF SUMMONS OR CITATION 01/05 

 VN075 PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND  

PARDON 

07/12 

 VN077 PETITION TO SEAL JUVENILE RECORDS 07/09 

 VN084 REQUEST AND ORDER APPOINTING PROBATE REFEREE  07/09 

 VN085 REQUEST FOR COURT APPOINTED COUNSEL AND HEARING 07/03 

 VN086 REQUEST/COUNTER REQUEST FOR MANDATORY 

SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE/TRIAL SETTING (FAMILY LAW) 

01/13 

Mandatory VN089 SEALING YOUR JUVENILE RECORD INFORMATION SHEET 07/16 

 VN093 STIPULATION FOR JUDGMENT AND JUDGMENT (CIVIL)  07/03 

 VN100 VERIFICATION OF TRANSLATION  07/03 

 VN103 STIPULATION AND ORDER ON ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE; 

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AT TIME OF TRIAL; 

CONTINUANCE DATE 

07/13 

 VN107  ANSWER TO UNLAWFUL DETAINER – INSTRUCTIONS ONLY 01/10 

http://www.ventura.courts.ca.gov/
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 VN115 DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF DISSOMASTER  

CALCULATIONS  

07/03 

Mandatory VN118 STIPULATION AND ORDER FOR PRIVATE MEDIATION 07/12 

 VN120 PROOF OF SERVICE  07/13 

 VN125 PETITIONER’S/RESPONDENT’S STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT 

AND DISAGREEMENT 

07/13 

Mandatory VN130 EX PARTE PETITION TO ACCESS AN UNLAWFUL DETAINER 

ACTION (LIMITED CIVIL CASE) – CCP 1161.2  

07/03 

 VN131 WAIVER OF FINAL DECLARATION OF DISCLOSURE 07/03 

 VN132 RELEASE OF MEDICAL INFORMATION  01/02 

Mandatory VN133  RELEASE OF SCHOOL INFORMATION 07/12 

Mandatory VN135 REQUEST FOR CONTINUANCE PROBATE 01/13 

 VN138 CLERK’S CERTIFICATE RE: SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT 01/06 

 VN139 SMALL CLAIMS INFORMATION SHEET  07/12 

 VN140 DECLARATION FOR ENTRY OF SATISFACTION OF  

JUDGMENT  

07/05 

 VN143 DISPUTE SETTLEMENT LETTER 07/13 

 VN144 INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A CLERK’S DEFAULT 

JUDGMENT (POSSESSION ONLY) UNLAWFUL DETAINER  

07/13 

 VN146 MOTION FOR ORDER CONTINUING  01/07 

 VN147 MOTION FOR ORDER SETTING ASIDE/VACATING DEFAULT/ 

STAYING EXECUTION OF JUDGMENT /EXPARTE(CIVIL) 

01/10 

 VN148 ORDER GRANTING MOTION  07/10 

 VN152 STIPULATION AND ORDER FOR PAYMENT OF JUDGMENT IN 

INSTALLMENTS (LIMITED CIVIL 

07/03 

 VN153 MOTION FOR ORDER TO PAY JUDGMENT IN INSTALLMENTS 

(LIMITED CIVIL)  

07/03 

 

 VN154 ORDER FOR PAYMENT OF JUDGMENT IN INSTALLMENTS 

(LIMITED CIVIL)  

07/03 

 VN155 ORDER FOR CONTINUANCE (CIVIL) 07/03 

Mandatory VN156 REQUEST AND ORDER FOR PUBLICATION OR POSTING  07/13 

 VN160 MOTION FOR ORDER RELEASING EVIDENCE 07/12 

 VN161 ORDER RELEASING EVIDENCE 07/01 

 VN162 ORDER  (GENERAL CIVIL) 07/12 

Mandatory VN163 FAMILY COURT SERVICES INTAKE QUESTIONNAIRE 07/09 

 VN164 STIPULATION TO USE OF ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE 

RESOLUTION PROCESS 

01/02 

 VN165 VERIFICATION 07/03 

 VN170 ORDER CONFIRMING ARBITRATION AWARD 07/03 

 VN171 MOTION FOR ORDER FOR VISITATION (GUARDIANSHIP)  07/09 

 VN172 PETITION FOR RESTRICTED LICENSE ( ADULT) 07/09 

 VN173 PETITION FOR RESTRICTED LICENSE (JUVENILE) 07/05 

 VN174 WRIT OF EXECUTION – ATTACHMENT 20 01/04 

 VN175 CLERK’S CERTIFICATE OF COSTS (CCP 668.090) 01/04 

 VN179 REQUEST FOR RELIEF FROM DEFAULT, EXTENSION OF TIME TO  FILE APPELLANT’S 

OPENING BRIEF; DECLARATION AND 

ORDER 

07/09 

 VN180 REQUEST FOR RELIEF FROM DEFAULT, EXTENSION OF TIME 

TO FILE STATEMENT ON APPEAL; DECLARATION AND  

ORDER 

07/09 

Mandatory VN182 CONFIRMATION OF VIEWING CONSERVATORSHIP VIDEO 07/09 

 VN185 MARITAL PARTNERSHIP SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT  07/11  

 VN186 ATTACHMENT TO FAMILY LAW JUDGMENT (PROPERTY 

AND DEBT) 

01/06  
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 VN187 SMALL CLAIMS ITEMIZATION OF DEBT ATTACHMENT 07/07 

 VN188 EXPUNGEMENT FINANCIAL DATA SHEET RE ABILITY TO 

PAY COSTS OF SERVICES 

07/07 

Mandatory VN189 CONSENT FOR COURT ASSIGNMENT (FAMILY LAW) 07/12 

Mandatory VN190 APPLICATION FOR REAL PROPERTY EQUITY BOND AND 

DECLARATION OF PROPERTY OWNER (S) 

01/08 

Mandatory VN191 PROMISSORY NOTE RE: PROPERTY EQUITY BOND 01/08 

Mandatory VN192 ORDER APPROVING PROPERTY EQUITY BOND 01/08 

Mandatory VN193 REQUEST FOR COPY OF NOTICE OF DEFAULT AND SALE 07/16 

Mandatory VN194 CERTIFICATE OF ACCEPTANCE 01/08 

Mandatory VN195 PROPERTY BOND INFORMATION SHEET 07/16 

 VN197 NOTICE OF MOTION AND MOTION TO TRANSFER CASE TO 

APPROPRIATE COURT 

01/08 

 VN198 ORDER TRANSFERRING CASE TO APPROPRIATE COURT 01/08 

Mandatory VN200 PETITION FOR AUTHORIZATION TO INSPECT ADOPTION AND BIRTH 

RECORD INFORMATION AND TO OBTAIN COPIES 

01/10 

Mandatory VN201 PETITION FOR APPROVAL OF ADOPTION AGREEMENT (ADULT) 01/08 

Mandatory VN202 ADOPTION AGREEMENT (ADULT) 01/09 

Mandatory VN203 CONSENT OF SPOUSE TO ADOPTION (ADULT) 01/08 

Mandatory VN204 ORDER OF ADOPTION (ADULT) 01/08 

 VN205 PETITION TO DETERMINE PARENTAL RIGHTS OF ALLEGED NATURAL 

FATHER AND TO TERMINATE THE PARENTAL RIGHTS OF ALLEGED 

NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT ADOPTION) [FC 7630, 7660 ETSEQ] 

07/08 

 VN206 NOTICE OF HEARING TO DETERMINE PATERNITY AND TO TERMINATE 

PARENTAL RIGHTS OF NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT ADOPTION) 

[FAMILY CODE SECTION 7664] 

07/08 

 VN207 NOTICE TO ALLEGED FATHER OF RIGHT TO FILE ACTION TO 

DETERMINE PATERNITY [FAMILY CODE 7662(a)(2)] 

07/08 

 

 VN208 FINDINGS AND ORDERS REGARDING PATERNITY AND TERMINATING 

PARENTAL RIGHTS OF ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT 

ADOPTION) (FAMILY CODE 7664) 

07/08 

 VN209 EX PARTE APPLICATION FOR ORDER DISPENSING WITH NOTICE TO 

UNKNOWN FATHER OR TO ALLEGED FATHER WHOSE WHEREABOUTS 

REMAIN UNKNOWN AND TERMINATING PARENTAL RIGHTS; ORDER  

(STEP-PARENT ADOPTION)  [FAMILY CODE SECTIONS 7665, 7666] 

07/09 

 VN210 DECLARATION OF DUE DILIGENCE IN ATTEMPTS TO LOCATE 

ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER (STEP-PARENT ADOPTION  [FAMILY 

CODE SECTIONS 7665, 7666] 

07/08 

 VN211 PETITION FOR ORDER DISPENSING WITH FURTHER NOTICE TO 

ALLEGED NATURAL FATHER’S PARENTAL RIGHTS (STEP-PARENT 

ADOPTION)  [FAMILY CODE SECTION 7630(c), 7664(a)] 

07/08 

 VN212 ORDER DISPENSING WITH FURTHER NOTICE TO ALLEGED NATURAL 

FATHER AND TERMINATING PARENTAL RIGHTS  (STEP-PARENT 

ADOPTION) [FAMILY CODE SECTIONS 7630(c), 7664(a)] 

07/08 

 VN213 OBJECTION TO PETITION FOR APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN [PROBATE 

CODE 1514, VENTURA COURT LOCAL RULE 10.00 F.4 

07/08 

 

 VN214 OBJECTION TO MOTION FOR VISITATION [GUARDIANSHIP] 07/08 

 VN215 CONDITIONAL SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT FOR JUDGMENT 

CREDITOR CASES – SMALL CLAIMS 

07/09 

Mandatory 

 

 

VN219 

 

VN220 

JOINT MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE STATEMENT 

REQUEST FOR REPORT FROM HUMAN SERVICES 

01/11 

 

01/11 

Mandatory VN221 DECLARATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER OF PROFESSIONAL 

SUPERVISED VISITATION SERVICES 

07/13 

Mandatory VN222     DECLARATION OF ORGANIZATION PROVIDING PROFESSIONAL 07/13 
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SUPERVISED VISITATION SERVICES 

 VN223 CITATION REGARDING PETITION TO DECLARE CHILD FREE 01/09 

  FROM PARENTAL CUSTODY AND CONTROL  

 VN224 SMALL CLAIMS SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT  

Mandatory VN225 NOTICE OF APPEAL – PARKING 07/09 

 VN227 FAMILY LAW - APPLICATION AND ORDER FOR  CONTINUANCE 01/11 

 VN229 FAMILY LAW DECLARATION IN SUPPORT OF CONTINUANCE 07/09 

 

Mandatory VN230 REQUEST FOR CONTINUANCE / OFF CALENDAR 07/13 

 VN231 MAILING ADDRESS OF PARENT 07/10 

Mandatory VN232 ATTACHMENT 07/10 

Mandatory VN233 CONSERVATORSHIP CARE PLAN/STATUS REPORT 01/10 

 VN234 EX PARTE APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY 

GUARDIANSHIP 

07/14 

 VN235 ORDER ON EX PARTE APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY GUARDIANSHIP 07/14 

 VN236 LIST OF PROPERTY AND DEBTS 07/11 

 VN237 ATTACHMENT TO FINANCIAL STATEMENT (SIMPLIFIED) 01/11 

 VN238 REQUEST FOR A COURT REPORTER FOR GUARDIANSHIP 

HEARING/TRIAL 

01/11 

 VN239 STATEMENT OF LEGAL GROUNDS FOR PETITION TO TERMINATE 

PARENTAL RIGHTS 

07/11 

 VN240 PARENTAGE AGREEMENT 01/12 

 VN241 PETITION FOR DISMISSAL OF AN INFRACTION 01/12 

 

 

Mandatory 

VN242 

 

VN243 

 

VN244 

 

VN245 

 

VN246 

VN247 

ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION (ADR) INFORMATION 

AGREEMENT AND ORDER RE APPOINTMENT OF OFFICIAL REPORTER 

PRO TEMPORE 

STIPULATION TO APPOINTMENT OF OFFICIAL REPORTER PRO 

TEMPORE 

CALENDARING REQUEST AND NOTICE SUPPORTING DECLARATION 

NOTICE OF POSTING ADVANCE JURY FEES 

FINDINGS AND ORDERS REGARDING REQUEST TO RETURN TO 

JUVENILE COURT JURISDICTION AND FOSTER CARE  BY NONMINOR 

07/12 

 

07/16 

 

01/13 

 

01/13 

 

07/13 

07/13 

Mandatory VN248 CONFIDENTIAL EX PARTE / TEMPORARY CONSERVATORSHIP 

INFORMATION SUMMARY 

(For Court Investigator) 

01/15 

 VN249 REQUEST FOR COPY OF JUVENILE CASE FILE/DOCUMENT 01/16 

 VN250 REQUEST FOR INTERPRETER 07/16 
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List of Abbreviations 

 

App.  Appendix 

BPC  Business and Profession Code 

CAC  California Administrative Code 

CC   Civil Code 

CCP  Code of Civil Procedure 

CRC  California Rules of Court 

EC   Evidence Code 

Exh.  Exhibit 

FC   Family Code 

FF   Filing Fees of the Superior Court of California 

GC   Government Code 

HSC  Health and Safety Code 

JCR   Juvenile Court Rules (California Rules of Court) 

JCF   Judicial Council Forms 

LC   Labor Code 

PeC   Penal Code 

PC   Probate Code 

VC   Rules of the Superior Court of Ventura County 

VCM  Rules of the Municipal Court of Ventura County 

WIC  Welfare and Institutions Code 
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Ventura County Superior Court Indices 
 

Accountings  ............................ 10.00(D)(5), 10.03(C)(1)(c) 

Administration  ............................ 1.01-3.00, 16.01-19.07 

Adoptions  ............................ 9.50, 9.51, 12.02(E)(3) 

Alternative dispute resolution.......... 3.03.1(A) 

Appeals  ............................ 2.2.01, 12.02(E)(1)(a), 14.00-14.07, 18.00(G) 

Appearances 

 generally  ............................ 3.03.1, 3.08(B)(2), 3.17, 3.24(A), 4.02(A), 6.08(A)(C)(1)(D)(E)(3)(F), 8.00(A), 9.03.1(D), 

9.12(F)(I)(J), 9.13(A), 9.19(A)(4), 9.32(G), 9.33(B)(G), 10.00(B)(D)(5)(E), 10.01(C)(8), 10.02(F)(2), 11.00, 

11.01(A), 12.02(D)(1)(4)(5)(E)(1)(N)(6); see PC 1825(b)(c), FC 6303 

 telephone appearances .............. 7.00, 7.01, 10.00(B)(E); see CRC 3.670 

 video appearances .................... 10.00(B)(E), 27.00 

Appearance, stipulation 

 and waivers  ............................ 9.19(B)(6); see JCF FL130 

Application of rules ......................... 1.00, 1.01, 3.17, 3.18, 9.00, 19.00; see CCP 575.1 

Arbitration  ............................ 3.09(A), 3.23, 6.03, 6.04, 6.06, 6.07 

Assignment of cases ........................ 3.03.1, 3.21, 3.22, 4.02(F), 9.02, 9.32(D), 12.04(7), 13.00, 13.01, 15.01 

Attorneys 

 appointed counsel ..................... 6.08(C)(2), 9.30(A)(3)(c), 9.43, 10.02(C), 10.03(A)(4), 

12.02(C)(D)(G)(I)(J)(1)(L)(3)(Q)((2)(3), 21.02, 21.03; see FC 3150, PeC 987, 987.05, 987.3, PC 3100, WIC 

317(e) 

 competence  ............................ 12.02(C)(D), Ch. 12, App. III; see CRC 5.660 

 complaints against attorneys .... 9.43, 12.02(J); see CRC 5.240(e) 

 District Attorney....................... 9.18(A), 12.00(C); see WIC 11350, 11350.1, 11475.1, 11476.1, 11489 

 duties  ............................ App. I; see BPC 6068(b) 

 education/training ..................... 12.02(D)(E) 

 fees  ............................ 3.17, 9.02,  9.03.1(D), 9.08(A)(4), 9.15-9.18, 9.19(B)(2)(3), 10.02(I)(1)(h), 21.00-21.03, 

25.00 

 meet and confer ........................ 8.12(N), 9.08(A)(1), 9.33(H); see FC 3177 

 opposing counsel ...................... 8.12(B)(N), 9.19(C)(3), 11.03 

 paralegals  ............................ 21.04(A) 

 probate cases  ............................ 10 (Intro), 10.00(B)(C) 

 public defenders ....................... 21.03(A) 

 research attorneys ..................... 10.00(H)(1) 

 Standards of Professional  

 Conduct  ............................ App. I 

 standards of representation ....... 12.02(F) 

 substitution/withdrawal ............ 12.02(D)(4)(5)(E)(4) 

Bonds/undertakings ......................... 4.05, 10.00(D)(5)(c), 10.03(A)(2)(B)(C)(1)(e), 10.04(C);  

see CRC 7.201(b), 7.204-7.207, PC 2320, 2321, 2328, 8571 

Briefs  ............................ 8.12(B)(O)(2), 9.19(C)(3), 11.03, 14.03 

Calendaring  ............................ 3.08, 3.21(B), 6.02, 6.03(E), 6.08(E), 8.05, 9.03(A) 

Case management 

 generally  ............................ 3.00 

 conferences  ............................ 3.03.1(A)(B), 3.08(C), 6.08(A)-(D) 

 generally  ............................ 9.03 

 mediator complaint procedure .. 3.24.1, see also CRC 3.865 

Child Custody Recommending Counseling 

 (CCRC)/Mediation ................... 9.30-9.35; see CRC 5.215 

Civil actions 

 generally  ............................ 4.05 

 limited civil cases ..................... 2.2.01(B), 14.07(A)(B), 14.08(A); see CRC 8.831 

 unlimited civil cases ................. 2.2.01(A), 23.13(A) 
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Clerks/judicial secretary .................. 2.2.01(A)(B), 2.04(B)(C), 3.03.1(A), 5.05, 8.12(N), 9.03.1(C), 9.05, 9.06(A), 9.12(A)(K), 

9.13(C), 9.19(B)(1)(4), 9.20(B)(4), 9.21, 9.32(A), 9.33(A), 10.01(A)(1)(5)(C)(4)-(8), 

10.02(A)(3)(B)(1)(D)(1)(H), 10.04(B), 12.02(B)(3)(L)(1)(N)(1)(3)(O)(2)(4)(Q)(1)-(3), 14.07, 15.01, 

21.03(B), App. I(I)(4), II 

Commissioners  ............................ 5.04; see CCP 259 

Complex litigation ........................... 3.08 

Compromise of claims ..................... 21.00; see CCP 372 

Confidentiality  ............................ 3.13(B), 4.04(D), 10.01(C)(5)(b)(D), 10.02(F)(2)(I)(1)(J)(1), 10.03(C)(1)(b), 12.00(A)(F), 

12.01, 12.02(B)(1)(L), 15.03(B), 19.10; see JCF JV590, GC212, PeC 11166, 11168 

Conflict of interest ........................... 2.04; see 2 AC 18730, GC 87300 

Conservatorships  ............................ 10.00(B)(2), 10.02, 10.03(A); see JCF GC348, PC 2257(2)(b), 2341 

Construction defect cases ................ 3.08(B)(C) 

Contempt proceedings ..................... 18.00(D), 26.00(B) 

Continuances  ............................ 3.24(A)(B), 6.04, 8.04, 9.06(E)(2), 9.12(J), 9.19(B)(6), 9.30(A)(3), 10.00(H), 

10.02(B)(1)(D)(1)(G), 10.03(C)(1)(h)(3) 

Contractual claims ........................... 21.01; see JCF 982.1(20)(21) 

Coordination of cases ...................... 10.01(A)(6) 

Corporations  ............................ 9.18(A)(2)(a) 

Courts 

 Court Appointed Special 

 Advocates (CASA) ........... 12.00(B)(2)-(4)(C)(23), 12.02(G)(3)(H)(K)(2)(3)(c)(L)(1), 12.04;  

see CRC 5.655, WIC 100 et seq. 

 court employees ....................... 2.3(C)(I), 16.01-16.02 

 court investigator ...................... 10.02(A)(1)(D)(F)(1)(G)(I)(3)(N), 10.03(C)(1)(h)(2); see PC 1454, 1826, 1851, 1894, 2684 

 court reporter ............................ 2.04(C), 14.08(A), 18.00(E); see CRC 2.956(b)(c), GC 68086 

 courtroom security ................... 17.00 

 recording/photographing/broadcasting 

 in court  ............................ 26.00; see CRC 1.150(e) , JCF MC500, MC510 

Criminal cases  ............................ 2.2.01(A)(B), 10.01(C)(3), 11.00-11.05, 14.07(C)(D), 14.08(B)(C), 18.00(G), 21.02; see 

CRC 8.863, 8.868, 8.869, 8.915, 8.924, PeC 995, 1538.5 

Default proceedings......................... 3.03.1(A), 3.17, 3.29, 5.04, 9.19(B), 21.01(A); see JCF FL165, 982(a)(6), 1286, 1286.50, 

FL165 

Delay reduction program ................. 3.00 et seq., 6.08(C)(3); see JCF DR100-DR120 

Delinquency  ............................ 12.00(A), 12.00.1(C)(D) 

Demurrers  ............................ 4.02(A) 

Departmental organization .............. 2.02, 3.21 

Dependency  ............................ 10.02(K)(2), 12.00(C)(19), 12.00.1(B)(D)(F), 12.02, 12.04(7), App. II;  

see JCF JV100, JV180, IRC 83327 

Detention  ............................ 12.00(I)(5) 

Disclosure  ............................ 9.19(A)(3)(B)(2)(6)(C)(5), 9.30(A)(5), 12.00.1; see JCF FL141,  

FC 2105, 2106 

Discovery  ............................ 9.18, 9.19(C)(1)(7), 12.02, App. I(G)(4); see CRC 5.546, JCF 982(a)(21), 1292.10-1292.15, 

FI100-FI129 

Dismissal  ............................ 3.03.1(A), 3.09, 3.17, 3.23, 6.08(C)(1), 9.02, 9.03.1(A)(D)(E), 10.02(I)(2)(J)(3), 

12.02(A)(2)(M), 14.06; see JCF 982(a)(5), CCP 473(b), 583.210, 583.310, 664.6 

Disposition of cases ......................... 9.03.1(A), 9.12(F), 9.19(C)(8), 12.00(I)(3)(7) 

East county  ............................ 2.03 

Economic hardship .......................... 19.02(C), 21.00(D); see JCF 982(a)(17)-(20) 

Electronic mail  ............................ 7.01(D) 

Electronic recordings ...................... 14.08, 18.00(G); see CRC 2.952, 2.956(e), 8.835(c), 8.837(d), GC 69957 

Eminent domain proceedings .......... 4.02 

Evidence 

 declarations  ............................ 3.29, 5.05, 6.06, 6.08(D), 9.06(A)(B), 9.08(A), 9.09(A)(D), 9.12(E)(F), 9.13(C), 

9.19(B)(2)(5)-(7)(C)(5), 9.20(A)(2), 9.42, 10.00(D)(1), 10.01(A)(3)(C)(6), 10.02(B)(3)(E)(3)(F)(2), 

10.03(A)(1), 12.02(K)(1)(N)(4), 14.06(A), 15.03(A), 21.03(B), 21.04(B)-(D); see JCF 1285.40, JCF FL105, 
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GC120, MC030, MC031, CCP 585(d), 2015.5, EC 452(b), 453, 455(b), 1500.5, FC 2106, 2350.5, 3200.5, 

PeC 1203.4, 1203.4a 

 depositions  ............................ 8.12(O)(7)(9), 9.19(C)(1)(7); see CCP 2025(l)-(u) 

 documents  ............................ 2.2.01(A), 3.21(A), 8.12(O)(9), 9.14, 9.18, 9.19(A)(3)(B)(2)(5)(6)(C)(4), 9.33(C), 

10.00(C)(2), 10.01(A)(1)(3)(C)(2)(6)(7)(I)(1), 10.02(D)(1)(E)(1)(F)(2), 11.04(1), 12.00, 12.00.1(E), 

12.02(B)(1)(3)(E)(1)(b)(L)(4)(N)(1), 21.03(B); see WIC 827 

 exclusion  ............................ 8.12(E) 

 exhibits  ............................ 5.02(B), 5.04, 8.12(E)(J)(O)(5)(9), 12.00(B)(6), 14.01(B), App. I(I);  

see CRC 5.552, WIC 827, 828 

 experts  ............................ 8.12(K), 21.04(A)(B), 22.00 

 objections  ............................ 8.12(C)(2)(D)(2), 9.13(A)(B), 9.32(E), 10.00(B)(2)(E), 10.01(C)(1)(5), 10.03(A)(1)(c), 

12.02(N)(5)(Q)(2), 27.00, App. I(D)(F)(4)(G)(1) 

 offers of proof .......................... 10.00(D)(1)(2) 

 translations  ............................ 20.00 

 videoconference ....................... 27.00 

 witnesses  ............................ 8.12(C)(D)(1)(I)-(K)(O)(3), 9.19(A)(3), 9.30(A)(5), 9.33(J)(2), 9.41(1), 10.00(B)(1)(E), 

14.01(B), 20.00, 21.04(B), 26.00(B), App. I(B)(3)(D)(2)(F)(H)(4);  

see JCF DE130, DE131, FC 6211 

 see Filings, Motions, Trials 

Ex parte matters  ............................ 3.19(A), 8.04(C), 9.04(A), 9.05, 9.06(A), 9.08(A), 9.09, 9.12(F), 9.19(A)(4)(C)(8), 

9.30(A)(6), 9.33(C), 9.51(C)(D), 10.00(D), 10.01(C), 10.02(C)(1), 10.03(A)(1), 11.01(A), 12.02(N)(Q)(3), 

15.00-15.03, 18.00(D); see CRC 3.1302(c),  

PC 2250(c) 

Executive Officer  ............................ 2.00(B), 2.04(B)(C), 4.02(B)-(D), 5.01, 6.03(C), 9.21, 10.04(B),  

16.01-16.02, 18.00(B), 19.01(B), 20.00, 21.01(A), 21.03(B) 

Family court communication ........... 9.41 

Family law proceedings 

 abuse/neglect ............................ 9.33(D), 10.01(C)(1)(4), 12.02(E)(1)(a), 18.00(D); see PeC 11164 et seq. 

 child custody  ............................ 9.09(D), 9.10(C)(2)(3), 9.30(A)(1)(3), 9.31, 9.32, 9.33(A)(D)(1)(b)(I)(1), 9.40, 9.41, 

10.01(A)(2)(7)(B), 12.02(A)(2)(M); see CRC 5.210 et seq., JCF 1291.10, 1296.31A-1296.31B(3), MC150, 

CC 4600 et seq., CCP 640.1, FC 3110, 3160 et seq., 4200, WIC 281 

 child development .................... 12.02(E)(1)(a) 

 Child Protective Services ......... 10.01(A)(4)(C)(3)(4), 12.00(C) 

 child welfare services  

 programs ........................... 12.00(B)(2)-(5) 

 child's interests ......................... 12.02(K) 

 child support  ............................ 9.15-9.18, 9.19(B)(2)(3)(7)(C)(3), 9.20(A)(1)(B)(1);  

see JCF 1285.25-1285.39, 1285.80, 1296.31B(1)-(3), 1297-1297.93, FC 4055(b)(7) 

 Department of Child  

 Support Services ............... 9.20(A)(5), 18.00(D) 

 dissolution/legal separation/ 

 nullity  ............................ 9.01(A), 9.03(A), 9.03.1(A)(C), 9.19(A)(3)(5)-(7);  

see JCF FL170 

 domestic partners ..................... App. II 

 domestic relations .................... 10.01(A)(2) 

 domestic violence ..................... 9.01(J), 9.03(A), 9.05, 9.09(B)(C), 9.33(F), 12.02(E)(1)(a), 18.00(D);  

see FC 6200 et seq. 

 evaluations  ............................ 9.30(A)(1)(3)(d)(e), 9.33(I)(3)(4), 12.02(B)(1); see CRC 5.220, CC 4370, 4370.5, EC 730, 

FC 3110 et seq., WIC 281 

 ex parte applications................. 9.04(A), 9.05, 9.08(A), 15.01, 15.03 

 Family Centered Case 

 Resolution ......................... 9.03.1; see CRC 5.83 

 Family Court Services .............. 9.20(A)(5), 9.30(A)(1), 9.31, 9.32(H)(I), 9.33(A), 9.35, 9.42, 9.41(1), 10.01(A)(1)(B)(C)(4), 

12.02(A)(2) 

 family law facilitators ............... 9.03.1(C), 9.20, 9.21; see FC 10000 et seq., 10100 et seq. 
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 family reunification/ 

 preservation ....................... 12.02(E)(1)(a) 

 generally  ............................ 2.2.01(A), 4.05 

 income computations................ 9.15(A)(C), 9.16 

 investigations ........................... 9.30(A)(1)(3)(e), 9.33(I)(3), 12.02(E)(3)(K); see FC 3110 et seq.,  

WIC 281 

 marital settlement agreements .. 9.19(B)(2)(3)(6) 

 mediation  ............................ 3.07(B), 3.24, 9.10(C)(2)(3), 9.20(B)(6), 9.30, 9.41(1), 12.02;  

 see JCF ADR100, FC 3170, 3183 

 parental issues .......................... 9.03.1(A)(C), 9.20(A)(1), 9.30(A)(1)(3)(a), 9.31, 9.32, 9.33(I)(1), 9.40(1), 9.50, 

12.02(A)(2)(E)(3) 

 Parental Kidnapping Prevention  

 Act  ............................ 12.02(E)(3) 

 paternity  ............................ 9.20(A)(2) 

 public assistance benefits ......... 12.02(E)(3), 9.19(B)(7) 

 spousal/partner support ............ 9.15-9.18, 9.19(B)(2)(3), 9.20(A)(1)(B)(1), 10.02(C)(1), App. II;  

see JCF 1285.27, 1285.30A-1285.39, 1285.80, 1296.31C 

 taxes  ............................ 9.18(A)(1)(a)(b)(2)(a)(b) 

 temporary restraining orders .... 9.09(A)(C), 9.10(C), 9.33(F)(I)(5); see JCF 1285.05, 1295.90-1296.29, 1296.61, JV250, 

CCP 527.6, FC 3183(c) 

 uncontested matters .................. 9.12(I)(J); see JCF 1282.50, 1285.34, 1286.50 

 Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and 

 Enforcement Act ............... 10.01(A)(3)(C)(5), 12.02(E)(3); see JCF FL105, GC120, PC 1510(f), 1512 

 Uniform Parentage Act............. 9.19(B)(2)(5)(6); see JCF FL250 

 visitation  ............................ 9.10(C)(2)(3), 9.30(A)(1)(3), 9.31, 9.32, 9.33(A)(D)(I)(1), 9.42, 9.40, 9.41, 9.42, 10.01(B), 

12.02(A)(2)(P); see CRC 5.210 et seq., JCF 1296.31A, MC150,  

CC 4601, 4601.5, CCP 640.1, FC 3160 et seq., 3200.5 

 see Judgments, Orders, Orders to show cause 

Fees and costs  ............................ 5.05, 7.01(A), 9.02, 9.03.1(D), 9.08(A)(4), 9.12(E), 9.15-9.18, 9.19(A)46)(B)(2), 10.00(G), 

10.02(D)(2)(L), 10.03(C)(1)(h)(1), 18.00(D)(E), 21.00(D), 21.03(B), 21.04(A), 25.00, App. II; see JCF 

MC010, MC011, GC 70617(c)(1),  

PC 2640-2646 

Filings 

 access  ............................ 5.02 

 arbitration award ...................... 6.03(G), 6.04 

 copies  ............................ 3.03.1(B), 3.14, 3.19(B), 4.01, 4.02(B), 5.05, 6.08(B), 9.13(C), 9.18(A), 9.32(A), 9.42, 

10.00(C)(2), 10.01(A)(1)(3)(B), 10.02(D)(1), 10.03(A)(1)(a)(c)(D), 10.04(A), 

12.02(B)(2)(3)(5)(E)(2)(L)(1)(O)(4) (Q)(2)(3), 12.04(7), 14.03, 14.08(B)(C), 15.03(A), 21.03(B); see CRC 

3.55(2) 

 electronic filing ........................ 4.05, 10.00(C)(2); see CCP 1010.6 

 exhibits  ............................ 5.02(B), 5.04 

Filings (cont’d) 

 fax filing  ............................ 4.04, 9.12(E)(K), 9.19(A)(4), 15.03(A) 

 fees  ............................ 21.00(D), App. II; see FF, JCF 982(17)-(19) 

 financial statement.................... 9.19(B)(2) 

 form  ............................ 3.08(A), 3.15(B), 4.02(F), 4.03, 8.12(N), 12.02(L)(1), 15.03(A), 21.03(B), App. III; see JCF 

 income and expense  

 declaration ......................... 9.16, 9.17, 9.19(B)(2)(C)(4), 12.02(N)(1); see JCF 1285.50-1285.50b, 1292.15, FC 3552 

 jury instructions ........................ 8.12(L) 

 motions  ............................ 31.8(B) 

 notice of appeal ........................ 2.2.01 

 notice of settlement .................. 3.16 

 opposition papers ..................... 7.01(B), 8.12(N), 10.00(B)(2)(D)(2), 10.01(C)(7), 10.02(N)(1), 11.04, 12.02(L)(1)(Q)(4); 

see JCF 982.5(7), 1282, 1285.40, 1296.20, MC020 

 pleadings  ............................ 3.00, 3.15, 4.02 
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 proof of service ........................ 3.03.1(A), 3.08(B)(1), 3.14, 3.15, 4.03, 6.03(G), 9.19(B)(2), 9.18(A), 12.02(B)(1); see JCF 

982(a)(23), 1283.5, 1285.38, 1296.40, GC030, CCP 1290.4, FC 2106, 2330.5 

 statement of the case ................ 8.12(G)(O)(3) 

 stipulation for continuance ....... 9.12(E) 

 time requirements ..................... 3.08(B), 3.13(B), 3.15(A), 3.18, 3.24, 6.04(D), 6.08(B), 7.01(C), 9.06(A), 9.10(C), 

9.12(C)(E)(1)(F)(J), 9.13(A), 9.19(A)(3)(B)(4), 9.23(A)(1), 10.00(D)(1)(F), 10.01(C)(3)(5), 10.02(I)(2), 

10.03(C)(1)(h)(3)(D)(E), 11.00, 12.02(D)(1)(E)(4)(Q)(7), 21.03(B), 27.00 

 wills  ............................ 10.04(A) 

 see Briefs, Motions, Pleadings 

Findings  ............................ 6.08(E)(F), 12.02(B)(4)(5)(G)(2)(H) 

Forfeiture  ............................ 18.00(D) 

Foreclosure  ............................ 21.01(B)(C) 

Grand jury  ............................ 19.07 

Guardians/Guardian ad litem ........... 10.01(A)(2)(5)(C)(3), 12.00(C)(3)(23)(H), 12.02(G)(3)(H)(K)(2)(3)(c); see JCF GC212, 

GC248, WIC 326.5 

Guardianships  ............................ 3.08(F), 10.00(B)(3), 10.01, 10.03(A), 12.02(K)(3)(c);  

see CRC 3.1203(a), JCF JV325-JV355, JV825, DE110-GC250, CCP 372, PC 1513, 2250(c), 2257(2)(b), 

2590-2591 

Habeas corpus  ............................ 13.00(F); see JCF MC275, PC 1473 et seq. 

Harassment  ............................ 9.01(K), 9.09(E), 18.00(D) 

Health care issues ............................ 12.02(E)(3) 

Hearings 

 adoption hearings ..................... 9.51; FC 8612, 8613, 8613.5, 8718, 8823, 8913, 9007, 9324 

 appointment of conservator ...... 10.03(A)(3) 

 appointment of guardian........... 10.03(A)(3) 

 calendaring  ............................ 9.03.1(A), 9.06(E)(3), 9.10, 9.12, 10.00(D), 10.01(A)(1)(C)(5)-(10), 

10.02(B)(F)(1)(I)(2)(M)(1), 12.02(A)(1)(L)(1)(N)(1)(2)(O)(3)-(5)(Q)(2)(3)(5), 15.01, 21.03(B), 27.00 

 continuances  ............................ 9.10(C)(3), 9.12(E)(J), 9.30(A)(2), 9.32(C)(I), 10.01(A)(1), 10.02(B)(1)(D)(1)(G), 

10.03(C)(1)(h)(3) 

 criminal cases ........................... 11.00 

 default hearings ........................ 3.29, 9.19(B)(1)(2) 

 disposition hearings .................. 12.02(L)(1) 

 evidentiary hearings ................. 9.12(F), 9.32(H), 10.00(B)(3), 12.02(L)(1)(O)(3)(6) 

 ex parte hearings ...................... 9.05, 10.01(C), 12.02(N)(3), 15.00, 15.03(A), 21.03(B) 

 juvenile hearings ...................... 12.00(B)(6); see WIC 827, 828 

 notice  ............................ 6.08(C)(1)(E), 9.06, 9.08(A)(1), 9.09(E), 9.12(K), 10.01(C)(3)(9)(10), 10.02(B)(1)(K)(3), 

12.02(O)(4); see JCF GC020, PC 1460, 2250(c)(f) 

 oral argument ........................... 9.04(B), 14.03(D) 

 probate cases  ............................ 10.02(B)(1)(2)(F)(K)(3)(o) 

 review hearings ........................ 12.04(8) 

 traffic cases  ............................ 11.00 

 uncontested matters .................. 9.12(I)(J), 10.00(B); see JCF 1282.50, 1285.34, 1286.50 

Hearing, stipulation and orders ....... 9.14 

Human Services Agency ................. 10.01(A)(1)(C)(2)(4)(5), 12.00(C)(9) 

Immigration issues .......................... 12.02(E)(3) 

Indemnification  ............................ 3.08(B); see JCF 982.1(14) 

Indigents  ............................ 9.03.2, 21.03, 21.04(B); see CCP 413.30 

Indian Child Welfare Act IWCA) ... 10.01(C)(4), 12.02(B)(1)(E)(3); see JCF ICWA010(A) 

In forma pauperis  ............................ 9.06(B) 

Interpreters  ............................ 9.10(D), 20.00-20.01 

Inventory and appraisements ........... 10.00(F), 10.03(C)(1)(b); see PC 2328, 2610, 2613, 2628, 8800 et seq. 

Investigations  ............................ 9.30(A)(1)(3)(e), 9.35, 10.01(A)(1)(D), 10.02(A)(1)(D)(F)(2)(G)(I)(3)(M)(1)(N), 

12.00(C)(5)(6), 12.02(E)(3)(K), 21.04(A);  

see FC 3110 et seq., PC 1454, 1513, 1851 

Involuntary commitment/treatment .  13.01 
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Judges 

 absences  ............................ 15.01 

 appellate judges ........................ 15.03(A) 

 arbitration  ............................ 6.03(B) 

 assigned judges ........................ 3.08, 3.21(A), 4.02(F), 10.01(C)(4) 

 assistant presiding judge .......... 2.01 

 bench officers ........................... 12.00.1(B) 

 criminal judges ......................... 11.01(A)(B), 21.03(B) 

 disqualification ......................... 3.22, 10.01(C)(4), 15.01; see CCP 170.1-170.6 

 elections  ............................ 2.01(B) 

 family law judges ..................... 9.12(E)(H)(K), 9.19(A)(4), 9.20(B)(2), 9.34, 9.43(2) 

 generally  ............................ 8.00(C), 9.41(1), 19.09(A) 

 grand jury selection .................. 19.07 

 grievances  ............................ 9.35 

 judicial assistants ...................... 8.12(B), 19.03(C), 19.09(C) 

 judicial officers ........................ 3.03.1(A), 12.00(C)(20) 

 juvenile court judges ................ 12.02(M)(O)(2)(3) 

 law and motion ......................... 15.03(B) 

 meetings  ............................ 2.00, 2.01(B), 19.07(C) 

 peremptory challenges.............. 3.22, 9.32(E)(1)(2) 

 presiding Judge ........................ 2.00-2.02, 2.04(C), 2.06(B), 6.03(B), 12.00.1(C)(D)(F), 12.02(J)(2)(M), 13.00, 14.00, 

19.03(D), 19.07(A)(B), 19.10, 26.00(B)App. I(A) 

 probate judges .......................... 10.00(C)(2), 10.04(B) 

 signatures  ............................ 9.13(C) 

 superior court judges ................ 19.07(B)(C) 

 supervising judges .................... 2.01(A),  9.43(2), 10.01(A)(8)(C)(4), 15.01, 21.03(B), 21.04(F) 

 temporary judges ...................... 25.00 

 vacation/leaves ......................... 2.06 

Judgments  ............................ 3.29, 9.06(B), 9.13(A)(B)(D), 9.14, 9.19(B)(5)-(7), 21.00(D), 21.01(A); see JCF 1287-1290, 

1295.20, EJ100-EJ195, FL180, FL190, FL230, FL250, CCP 664,  

PC 2580 et seq. 

Juries 

 demand/request for jury trial .... 13.01, 19.08(C) 

 generally  ............................ 19.02(D), App. I(B)(3); see CCP 218 

 instructions  ............................ 8.12(G)(I)(L)(2)-(3)(O)(6), 14.01(B), 19.09, Exh. A; see CCP 607 et seq. 

 jury commissioner .................... 19.01, 19.02(B)-(E), 19.03(C)(D), 19.04, 19.05(B), 19.07(A)(B), 19.10 

 selection  ............................ 8.12(C), 14.01(B), 19.02-19.07, 19.08(B), App. I(E)(2); see CCP 200, 222.5, 225-232 

 verdicts  ............................ 8.12(L)(4) 

 voir dire  ............................ 8.12(C)(1) 

 waiver of jury trial .................... 19.08(C) 

Jurisdiction 

 generally  ............................ 3.09(B), 6.08(C)(1), 12.00.1(D), 12.02(K); see PC 1460, CCP 664.6 

 limited  ............................ 3.21(A), 18.00(G) 

 unlimited  ............................ 3.21(A), 18.00(D) 

Juvenile court cases ......................... 2.2.01(B), 5.04, 12.00, 12.00.1, 12.04(2); see JCF JV100-JV740,  

WIC 300, 601, 602, 827, 828 

Juvenile division  ............................ 2.02(C) 

Law and motion  ............................ 7.00, 8.04-8.05, 9.04(A), 9.08(A)(3), 9.12(C), 10.00(H), 18.00(D) 

Letters  ............................ 10.01(A)(5)(C)(4), 10.02(A)(3)(H), 10.03(A)(3); see JCF GC150, GC250 

Lis pendens  ............................ 4.02(B); see CCP 409 

Lodged materials  ............................ 3.13(B), 3.19(B), 8.12(O)(7)(9), 10.00(B)(C), 12.00.1(E), 15.03(A) 

Mandatory settlement conferences .. 3.13, 3.24, 9.19(A)(B)(4)(5) 

Master calendar department ............ 13.01, 18.00(D) 

Media coverage  ............................ 26.00(A); CRC 1.150(e), JCF MC500, MC510 

Mediation/Child Custody Recommending 
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 Counseling  ............................ 2.04(C), 3.07(B), 3.24, 9.10(C)(2)(3), 9.20(B)(6), 9.30, 9.41(1), 10.01(B), 12.02; see CRC 

5.210 et seq., JCF ADR100, FC 3160 et seq., 3183 

Mental health proceedings............... 2.2.01(A), 9.33(D)(2), 12.00(B)(1), 12.02(E)(3), 13.00, 13.01, 27.00 

Minors  ............................ 9.15(B), 9.32(F), 9.33(J)(1), 10.01(A)(1)(5)-(7)(B)(C),  

12.00(A)(C)(14)(19)-(21)(E)(H)(I), 12.01, 12.02(A)(2)(B)(1)(3)(N)(5)(P)(Q)(4) 

Motions 

 calendaring  ............................ 3.19(A), 8.05, 15.01 

 continuances  ............................ 8.04, 9.12(F), 9.19(C)(8) 

 criminal cases ........................... 11.04, 11.05; see PeC 995, 1538.5 

 ex parte motions ....................... 10.01(A)(2) 

 family law motions ................... 9.10-9.14 

 motions in limine ...................... 8.12(N)(O)(2) 

 notice of motion ....................... 8.05, 9.10.1, 9.12(F), 9.19(C)(8), 10.01(A)(2), 15.00; see CRC 5.119, FC 217 

 pretrial motions ........................ 8.12(N)(O)(2), 11.03 

 suppression of evidence ........... 11.05; see PeC 1538.5 

 see Calendaring, Demurrers, Filings 

Name change  ............................ 9.06(B) 

Narcotics addiction cases ................ 13.00(C)(D) 

Notice  ............................ 3.03.1, 3.17(E), 3.22, 6.08(B)(C)(1)(D)(E), 7.01(C)(D), 8.00(A)(B), 9.05, 9.06, 9.08(A)(1), 

9.10.1, 9.12(E)(K), 9.13(A), 9.19(B)(5)(6), 9.30(A)(6), 9.32(A), 9.42, 10.00(B)(3)(C)(2)(D)(1)(5), 

10.01(A)(1)(7)(C)(2)(3)(5), 10.02(B)(G)(I)(3)(J), 10.03(A)(1), 11.03, 12.02(D)(4)(E)(4)(L)(1)(N)(3)(4)(6), 

12.02(C)(4)(K)(2)(l)(1)(N)(1)(3)(4)(6)(O)(4), 14.03(D), 14.06, 14.07(B); see CRC 3.722, 3.1204, 5.167, 

7.1012, CCP 527.6, FC 6300, PC 1460, 2250(c) 

Orders 

 administrative orders ................ 2.01(D) 

 appeals  ............................ 14.00 

 appearances  ............................ 9.51(C) 

 arbitration  ............................ 3.09, 3.23 

 CASA orders ............................ 12.04(8) 

 case management orders ........... 3.08(B)(C), 6.08(C), 9.19(A)(1) 

 child custody recommending 

  counseling orders ............. 9.34 

 child's interests .........................  9.33(I)(1) 

 conservatorships ....................... 10.02(H) 

 continuances  ............................ 9.06(E)(2) 

 court investigator ...................... 10.02(A)(1); see JCF GC310, PC 1454 

 court orders  ............................ 3.13(A), 3.24(A), 5.05, 6.07, 9.06(E)(3), 9.12(F), 9.13(B)-(D), 9.19(B)(5)(C)(7), 9.32(I), 

9.33(C)(D), 9.40(2)(a), 9.51(B), 10.00(H)(4)(5), 10.01(B)(C)(5), 10.02(D)(2)(L)(3), 10.03(C)(3), 

12.00(A)(C)(12)(24)(I)(5), 12.00.1(B), 12.02(A)(2)(B)(1)(5)(D)(4)(E)(4)(L)(5)(N)(1)(2)(5)(O)(Q)(6), 

18.00(G), 21.03(B);  

see JCF JV180 

 custody/visitation orders .......... 9.09(D), 9.41, 10.01(A)(3)(6)(7), 12.02(M)(N)(6)(P) 

 dismissal  ............................ 14.06 

 ex parte orders .......................... 3.24(A), 9.04, 9.06(A), 9.08(A)(2)(4), 9.09, 10.00(D), 10.01(C)(2), 12.02(N), 15.00-15.03; 

see CRC 7.1012 

 extension of time ...................... 9.13(D), 14.05; see CRC 8.787 

 family law orders ...................... 9.20(B)(5); see FC 4200-4203 

 fees, waiver of .......................... 9.03.2 

 form  ............................ 9.14, 10.00(C) 

 guardianship orders .................. 10.01(A)(7) 

 harassment  ............................ 9.01(J) 

 information, release of ............. 12.01; see WIC 827, 5328, PeC 1543, 11105 

 interim orders ........................... 9.30(A)(2) 

 investigations ........................... 10.02(A)(1)(D)(M)(1); see PC 1454 

 lien for fees  ............................ 10.02(L)(3) 
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 local rules  ............................ 9.00 

 mediation orders ....................... 9.30(A)(1), 9.34 

 medication orders ..................... 12.02(Q); see CRC 5.640 

 minute orders............................ 5.01, 9.12(E), 9.19(B)(4), 10.00(B)(2), 21.03(B) 

 modification  ............................ 9.09(D), 10.00(C)(2), 12.02(M) 

 motions  ............................ 3.19(A), 8.04(C) 

 preparation  ............................ 8.12(N), 9.13 

 prehearing orders ..................... 10.00(C) 

 pretrial orders ........................... 3.08 

 proposed orders ........................ 3.18(A)(B), 3.19(B), 3.23, 5.05, 9.13(C), 9.34, 9.51(C), 10.00(B)(2)(5)(C)(F), 10.01(C)(5), 

10.03(A)(1)(a), 10.04, 14.06(A), 15.03(A), 21.03(B);  

see CRC 3.1201, 3.1312 

 protective orders....................... 9.18(A), 9.19(A)(2), 9.41, 12.02(N)(6); see JCF AT105, AT140-AT150 

 release of juror information ...... 19.10 

 request for orders ..................... 9.10.1; see CRC 5.119, FC 217 

 residence exclusion orders ....... 9.09(B) 

 restraining orders...................... 9.09(A)(C)(E), 9.10(C), 9.32(B), 9.30(A)(3)(f), 9.33(F)(I)(5), 18.00(D);  

see JCF 1281, 1285.05, 1295.90-1296.29, 1296.61, JV250, CCP 527.6 

 return of exhibits ...................... 5.02(B), 5.04 

 sanctions  ............................ 3.17(A) 

 shortening of time .................... 9.04(A), 9.08(A)(3), 10.00(D)(H)(3), 15.00 

 standing orders ......................... 12.00, 12.00.1(F), 12.01; see WIC 827, 828, 5328, PeC 1543, 11105, EducC 49076 

 stay away orders ....................... 9.09(C) 

 support  ............................ 9.06(B), 9.15-9.18, 10.02(K); see JCF 1285.27, 1285.32, 1296.31B, 1296.31C, 1297-

1297.20, PC 1460 

Orders to show cause ....................... 3.03.1(A), 3.09(A), 9.03, 9.03.1(D), 9.06(B), 9.09(A), 9.10-9.18, 10.01(D), 10.02(J)(3), 

12.02(M), 18.00(D); see JCF 1285, 1285.40, 1285.60, 1296.15, 1296.20, CRC 5.119, FC 217 

Parents  ............................ 9.03.1(A)(C), 9.20(A)(1)(5), 9.30(A)(1)(3)(b), 9.41(1)(2), 9.50, 10.01(A)(2), 

12.00(C)(3)(H), 12.02(A)(2)(B)(1)(C)(E)(3)(L)(N)(5), 21.00(D) 

Parties 

 defendants  ............................ 6.08(A)-(E), 9.41(1), 11.04(1), 21.04(A)(C)(D); see FC 6211 

 generally  ............................ 3.03.1(B), 3.08(B)(C), 3.13(B), 3.14, 3.19(B), 3.22, 5.05, 6.03(G), 7.01(B), 8.00(A), 

8.12(N), 9.03.1(A)(D)(E), 9.06(A), 9.08(A)(1), 9.12(F)(K), 9.13(A)(C),  

9.19(B)(3)(5)-(7)(8), 9.21, 9.30(A)(2)(6), 9.32(A)(H)(I), 9.33(D), 9.42, 9.41, 9.43, 9.51(B)(C), 10.00(E)(H), 

10.01(A)(7)(B)(C)(2)(4)(6)(7), 10.02(D)(2)(G)(J), 10.03(C)(3), 12.02(A)(2)(B)(1)-

(3)(5)(J)(L)(1)(2)(M)(N)(2)(3)(6)(O)(1)(4)(6), 12.04(4)(7), 14.01(B), 14.03(A), 14.05, 14.08(A)(C), 18.00(E), 

27.00 

 plaintiffs  ............................ 3.23, 6.08(A)-(D) 

Personnel  ............................ 2.04, 16.02 

Petitions 

 accountings  ............................ 10.03(C)(1) 

 adoptions  ............................ 9.50 

 conservatorships ....................... 10.00(B)(2), 10.02(A)(B)(M), 10.03(A)(1); see JCF GC310 

 dependency petitions ................ 12.02(B)(1)(K); see JCF JV100, JV180, WIC 300, 388 

 ex parte orders .......................... 10.00(D) 

 ex parte petitions ...................... 1.0..(D)(5), 10.03(A)(1) 

 fees  ............................ 10.02(D)(2)(L)(1), 10.03(C)(1) 

 generally  ............................ 3.03.1(B), 3.09(A), 10.00(A), 12.00(B)(4)(I)(4), 12.02(K)(1), 15.03;  

see JCF GC310, GC312, GC348, JV100, JV180, PC 1821, 1827.5, 2341 

 guardianships ........................... 10.00(B)(5), 10.01(A)(1)(6)(7)(C)(2)(4), 12.02(E)(3); see CRC 3.1203(a), JCF GC110, 

GC110(P), GC140, PC 2250(e) 

 juvenile cases ........................... 12.00.1; see CRC 5.552, JCF JV570, WIC 827 

 medical treatment ..................... 10.02(F) 

 notice  ............................ 10.03(A)(1); see PC 2250(c) 

 parental rights ........................... 9.50 
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 property, sale of ....................... 10.00(B)(4)(D)(4) 

 temporary conservatorships/ 

 guardians ........................... 10.01(C), 10.03(A)(C)(7) 

 wills  ............................ 10.04(A) 

 see Calendaring, Filings, Pleadings 

Pleadings 

 answers  ............................ 3.08(B)(2) 

 complaints  ............................ 3.03.1(A)(B), 3.14, 3.15, 9.32(A), 11.00; see CCP 387(a) 

 cross-complaints ....................... 3.03.1(B), 3.08(B), 3.14; see JCF 982.1(14) 

 filing  ............................ 3.00, 3.15, 4.02; see JCF 982.1 

 form  ............................ 10.00(A); see JCF MC020 

 property identification .............. 4.02 

 responsive pleadings ................ 3.15, 4.02(A), 9.16, 9.32(A), 11.05(2);  

see JCF 982(a)(13), 982.1(15)(35)(95), 1285.40, 1296.20 

 see Demurrers, Petitions, Summons 

Points and authorities ...................... 11.03, 11.04 

Pretrial conferences ......................... 3.08, 3.13, 3.17, 6.03(E), 12.02(A)(1) 

Prisoners  ............................ 12.02(N)(6) 

Probate cases 

 accountings  ............................ 10.02(C), 10.03(E) 

 auditors  ............................ 10.03(C) 

 conservatorships ....................... 10.00, 10.02, 10.03(A)(D)(E), 13.00(B); see JCF DE110-GC150,  

GC310-GC385, PC 1851, 1860 et seq., 1894, 2257(2)(b), 2341, 2626, 2628, 2650, 2684, WIC 7357 

 estates  ............................ 10, 10.00, 10.01(A)(5)(C)(2)(4), 10.02(L)(3); see JCF GC110 

 fiduciaries  ............................ 10.00(G), 10.02(E); see CRC 7.1050-7.1063, PC 60.1, 2340,  

BPC 6501(f), CCR 4400-4580 

 generally  ............................ 2.2.01(A), 2.04(C), 3.00, 4.05, 10; see JCF DE110-GC385,  

PC 14660, 1821, 1822, 1826, 1827.5, 2250(c), 2257(2)(b), 2328, 2590-2591, 2610, 2613, 2628 

 general plans  ............................ 10.02(I)(J)(3); see JCF GC355, PC 1460, 2352.5 

 guardianships ........................... 3.08(F), 10.00, 10.01, 10.03(A)(E), 12.02(K)(3)(c);  

see JCF JV325-JV355, JV825, DE110-GC250, CCP 372, PC 1513, 2250(c), 2257(2)(b), 2590-2591, see also 

CCR rule 7.1012 

 personal representatives ........... 10.00(F)(G), 10.01(A)(4), 10.04(C); see CRC 7.201(b), JCF DE147,  

PC 8571 

 reports  ............................ 10.00(G), 10.01(D), 10.02(I)(2)(J)(N), 10.03(C)(1)(b); see PC 1851, 12200 

 trusts  ............................ 4.05, 10.00 

 wills  ............................ 4.05, 10.04(A) 

 see Conservatorships, Guardianships 

Probation  ............................ 12.00(B)(2)-(5)(C), 12.01, 18.00(D), 21.03(B) 

Promissory notes  ............................ 21.01 

Pro per litigants  ............................ 3.03.1(B), 5.05, 9.03.1(C), 9.12(E)(H), 9.19(A)(2)(3), 9.20(B)(5)(6), 9.31, 9.32, 9.33(J), 10 

(Intro), 10.00(B)(1)(3)(C), 12.02(G), 15.01, 21.04(A)(C)(D) 

Public improvements ....................... 21.01(C) 

Publication of rules ......................... 1.01 

Readiness conferences ..................... 12.02(A)(1) 

Real property  ............................ 2.04(C), 4.02, 10.00(B)(3)(E), App. III; see JCF DE260, DE265, DE305-DE315, GC060, 

GC065 

Records  ............................ 10.01(A)(2)(3), 12.00(A)(B) 

Referees  ............................ 5.04, 10.00(F), 10.04(B) 

Reporting  ............................ 8.12(O)(4)(P), 18.00; see JCF 982(17)-(20) 

Rulings, tentative  ............................ 8.00, 10.00(B)(2) 

Sales of property  ............................ 10.00(B)(4), 10.03(C)(1)(h) 

Sanctions  ............................ 3.03.1(A), 3.17, 3.24(A), 7.01(B), 9.02, 9.08(A)(3), 9.32(G), 26.00(B); see CRC 1.150(f),  

CCP 128.5, 177.5, 575.2, 1209, PeC 632 
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Service 3.03.1(B), 3.08, 3.14, 3.15, 3.24(B)(D), 4.02(B), 6.08(B)(C)(1)(D)(E), 8.12(N), 9.03.2, 9.05(C), 9.12(J)(K), 

9.13(A)(C), 9.16-9.17, 9.18(A), 9.19(A)(3)(B)(6)(C)(4)(5)(7), 10.00(G), 10.02(B)(1)(D)(2)(J), 10.03(C)(3), 

11.03, 12.02(B)(5)(O)(4), 12.04(5), 14.07(B), 15.03, 27.00; see CRC 5.167(a), JCF FL120, FL141, FL220, 

982(a)(4), 1283.5, CCP 387(a), 413.30, 415.10 et seq., 1011(a), FC 215 

Servicemembers' Relief Act ............ 6.08; see 50 USC App. 501-591 

Settlement conferences .................... 9.19(A)(4)(B)(4) 

Settlement negotiations ................... 3.08, 3.24, 6.06, 9.19(A)(2), 12.02(E)(3) 

Settlements  ............................ 3.09(A), 3.16, 6.00, 9.19(A)(3)(B)(5)(C)(1), 9.30(A)(1), 10.00(H), 12.02, 18.00(D), 21.00 

Sheriffs Department ........................ 12.00(C) 

Small claims cases ........................... 2.03, 2.2.01(B), 4.05, 18.00(G); see JCF SC100, SC140, CCP 116.222 

Social workers  ............................ 12.00(B)(2)-(4), 12.02(F)(1)(3)(G)(1)(b)(L)(1)(Q)(1)-(3) 

Special masters  ............................ 9.20(B)(6) 

Statement of decision ...................... 9.13(A)(B) 

Status conferences ........................... 9.03.1(A) 

Status reports  ............................ 10.01(D), 10.02(J); see JCF GC251 

Stays  ............................ 6.08(C)(1)(D)-(F), 9.09(C) 

Stipulations 

 arbitration  ............................ 3.23, 6.07 

 child custody recommending 

 counseling ......................... 9.33(A)(B)(D)(I)(1), 9.34 

 complex litigation..................... 3.08(B) 

 continuances  ............................ 3.24(A), 9.12(E)(F), 9.19(A)(4)(C)(8), 10.00(H); see GC 68616(d) 

 dependency cases ..................... 12.02(O); see JCF JV180 

 electronic record....................... 14.08(A)(C) 

 extensions of time .................... 3.18 

 evidence  ............................ 8.12(E)(F) 

 form  ............................ 8.04(C) 

 issues  ............................ 9.20(B)(2), App. I(G)(2) 

 judgments  ............................ 9.19(B)(6) 

 jury instructions ........................ 8.12(L)(O)(8) 

 location of hearings .................. 3.24(e) 

 statement of the case ................ 8.12(F)(G)(O)(3) 

Summons  ............................ 3.14, 6.08(D), 9.19(B)(2); see JCF 982(a)(4)(9)-(11)(23), 1283, 1283.5, 1291.40, DE125 

Traffic cases  ............................ 5.04, 11.01, 12.00(C)(15), 14.03(A); see CCP 77(j), VC 20008-20012 

Transcripts  ............................ 11.04(1), 12.00(B)(5), 14.01(B), 14.03(C), 14.07, 14.08; see CRC 8.833 

Transfer of cases  ............................ 13.01 

Trials 

 conduct  ............................ 8.12(C)((G)-(P) 

 criminal cases ........................... 11.01(B) 

 default trials  ............................ 9.19(B) 

 family law proceedings ............ 9.19 

 preparation  ............................ 6.00, 8.12(A)-(O) 

 setting  ............................ 3.08, 3.21(B), 6.00, 6.03(E), 9.19(B)(5)(C)(7)(8), 27.00 

 short cause trials ....................... 6.07 

 trial by declaration ................... 11.02; see VC 40902 

 trial de novo  ............................ 18.00(G) 

 uncontested trials ...................... 9.19(B) 

 see Briefs, Evidence, Juries, Pretrial conferences 

Trust deeds  ............................ 21.01(B) 

Uninsured motorist cases ................. 3.09; see IC 11580.2(f) 

Unlawful detainer ............................ 7.00, 21.01(A); see JCF 982(a)(11), 982.1(90)(95), FI128, SC110 

Venue  ............................ 2.03 

Ventura division  ............................ 2.04(A) 

Videoconference  ............................ 10.00(E), 27.00 

Waiver 
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 appearances  ............................ 9.51 

 arbitration  ............................ 6.04 

 declaration of disclosure .......... 9.19(B)(2)(6)(C)(5) 

 fees  ............................ 5.05, 9.03.2, 9.06(B), 10.01(C)(4), 10.02(D)(2); see JCF GC211 

 generally  ............................ 9.13(A) 

 investigation  ............................ 10.01(A)(1)(2)(M)(1) 

 jury trial  ............................ 19.08(C) 

 mediation  ............................  9.31, 9.32(E)(1)(2) 

 notice  ............................ 9.08(A)(3), 10.00(D)(1), 10.01(C)(4)(b)(13); see JCF DE166, GC211 

 parcel numbers ......................... 4.02(E) 

 rules  ............................ 3.18 

 service  ............................ 10.02(B)(1); see FC 2100, 2105 

Wards  ............................ 10.01(C)(3), 10.03(C)(3), 12.00(C)(19), 12.02(N)(6), 12.04(9); see WIC 602 

Warrants  ............................ 12.02(N)(6) 

Web site  ............................ 1.01, 3.29, 4.04(D)(E), 4.05(B)(C), 8.00(A), 18.00(E), 21.03(B) 

Writs  ............................ 12.02(E)(1)(a) 

Youth authority  ............................ 12.00(C)(10) 
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