

Superior Court, County of Ventura PROCEDURE FOR EX PARTE REQUESTS – FAMILY LAW

Updated Wednesday, February 24, 2021

<u>Domestic Violence, Civil Harassment,</u>
<u>Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse, Workplace Violence</u>
<u>and Gun Violence Restraining Order ex parte</u>
requests:

COURTROOM 34

- Requests for Domestic Violence (that are assigned to Courtroom 34), Civil Harassment, Workplace Violence and Gun Violence restraining orders will be heard daily in Courtroom 34 at 1:30 pm. All requests may be decided on the papers only
- Parties/attorneys that have access to email, you may email the papers to
 EmergencyRestrainingOrdersFamilyandCivil@ventura.co
 urts.ca.gov by 10:00 am for the day the ex-parte request has been noticed. Timely notice as set forth in the California Rules of Court is required. Any papers submitted after that time will be ruled upon the next business day.

- Any party opposing a request may email the papers to <u>EmergencyRestrainingOrdersFamilyandCivil@ventura.co</u> <u>urts.ca.gov</u>, by 12:00 pm for consideration by the court
- PARTIES ARE NOT TO SUBMIT ANY NON-RESTRAINING ORDER EX PARTE REQUESTS THROUGH THE EMAIL PROXY.
- For parties/attorneys that do not have email access or the ability to complete the forms electronically, papers must be presented at the entrance of the Hall of Justice (Family Law booth) by 12:00 pm for the day the emergency ex-parte request has been noticed. Timely notice as set forth in the California Rules of Court is required.
- Hearing dates on the requests for restraining orders will be scheduled not more than 90 days out per California Rules of Court, Emergency rule 8.

COURTROOMS 31, 32, 33 & 35

Requests for Domestic Violence filed in an existing Family Law case and assigned to the listed courtrooms will be heard daily in the courtroom of the Judicial Officer assigned to hear the existing case and will be heard daily at 11:30 a.m. Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse restraining orders will be heard daily in Courtroom 32 at 11:30 a.m.

- Parties/attorneys that have access to email, may email the papers to <u>EmergencyRestrainingOrdersFamilyandCivil@ventura.co</u> <u>urts.ca.gov</u> by 9:00 am for the day the emergency exparte request has been noticed. Timely notice as set forth in the California Rules of Court is required. Any papers submitted after that time will be ruled upon the next business day.
- Any party opposing a request may email the papers to <u>EmergencyRestrainingOrdersFamilyandCivil@ventura.co</u> <u>urts.ca.gov</u>, by 10:30 am for consideration by the court
- PARTIES ARE NOT TO SUBMIT ANY NON-RESTRAINING ORDER EX PARTE REQUESTS THROUGH THE EMAIL PROXY.
- For parties/attorneys that do not have email access or the ability to complete the forms electronically, papers must be presented at the entrance of the Hall of Justice (Family Law booth) by 10:30 am for the day the emergency ex-parte request has been noticed. Timely notice as set forth in the California Rules of Court is required.
- Hearing dates on the requests for restraining orders will be scheduled not more than 90 days out per California Rules of Court, Emergency rule 8.

i

<u>Family Law Ex-Parte Requests – (non- domestic violence, non-civil harassment, etc.):</u>

For family law ex-parte requests in cases assigned to Courtrooms 31, 32, 33 and 35, A RESERVATION IS REQUIRED. Reservations must be made by contacting the judicial secretary by telephone. Courtroom 31, 32 & 35 - 805-289-8762 Courtroom 33 - 805-289-8772

- These ex-parte requests will be heard daily at 11:30 am Monday through Friday. Timely notice as set forth in the California Rules of Court is required.
- After scheduling a reservation parties/attorneys may submit their documents including a petition (new case only), fee waiver application, if applicable and a proposed order
- By email to: <u>FamilyLawNonROExParte@ventura.courts.ca.gov</u> by 9:00 am the day of the ex parte hearing. (Excluding weekends and state holidays.); or
- By in-person appointment;
- A reservation is required through Calendly at calendly.com/VCSCReservations to file the documents in the clerk's office. Documents must be filed by 10:30 am on the day the ex-parte has been noticed to be heard.

- PARTIES ARE NOT TO SUBMIT ANY NON-EXPARTE REQUESTS FOR ORDERS THROUGH THE EMAIL PROXY.
- Any party opposing a request may email the opposing papers to <u>FamilyLawNonROExParte@ventura.courts.ca.gov</u> by 10:30 am on the day of the hearing or present the opposing papers at the entrance of the Hall of Justice (Family Law booth) by 11:00 am for the day the emergency ex-parte request has been noticed. Timely notice as set forth in the California Rules of Court is required.
- If papers are not presented within the time limits set out above, the ex-parte request will not be heard that day.
- All applicable fees will be required. If an appearance is not required or a party/attorney without a fee waiver appears telephonically, the court will set an OSC re payment, which will go off calendar if the fees have been paid. If you are appearing in person, you may bring a check payable to the Ventura Superior Court. The court is unable to process cash or credit cards in the courtroom.